We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #58 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We had a great 3 night stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel (back facing room) - excellent location (felt very safe to walk after dark to nearby restaurants/bars off Kloof Street), modern style, and daily ZAR100 vouchers to great breakfast options (Knead Bakery and Molten Toffee were both amazing; we did not try the third). Room was spacious and fairly clean, though bathroom could have used some fresh caulking and it felt a bit like we were staying in a college dorm room. Wifi was slow but doable. Definitely a great option for the value.

Room Tip: Request back facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel! We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience with regards to our excellent location and amazing restaurants for breakfast.
Fibre optics should be installed within this year so our wifi will be must faster.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights in December. Cute hipster like hotel with 2 great restaurants below. The hotel doesn't have a kitchen but they give you coupons to 3 nearby restaurants for breakfast if you opt of the breakfast option. The restaurants were all great. The room was large and clean with a little kitchenette area. The hotel is by a mall/shopping center, an easy walk to long street and overall convenient area. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nr083273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Front Office Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our spacious rooms, spoilt choices of restaurants for breakfast and excellent location. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. If you’re traveling to our area again soon, don’t hesitate to call us.

Kind Regards

Moline Rusere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We were greeted by very friendly receptionist Sharon, who told us about the hotel. Complimentary Coffee and tea availabe in the reception area. Room was big and well equipped with ground coffee and various teas plus a jar of cookies. The kitchenette area had washing up liquid and sponge. Fridge was full of drinks to purchase if you wanted. Good free wifi. Comfortable bed and settee. Bathroom had bath and separate shower. We had a room at the back. We stayed for 6 nights at the start of out holiday and returned for 2 nights at the end. Everyone friendly and helpful. Thoroughly recommend this hotel as in a convenient area to walk into the centre in the daytime. Myciti bus stopped very close.

Room Tip: Room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowWhiteOnWhiteWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Front Office Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our spacious rooms, spoilt choices of restaurants for breakfast and excellent location. We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Moline Rusere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Very clean, great location, nice modern room with kitchenette and balcony. Two restaurants below from easy dinning. The hotel gives breakfast voucher for a choice of 3 restaurants. Recommend Jerry's for diner and Knead Bakery for breakfast. Food is very cheap is Cape Town. Beer and wine incredible cheap.

Room Tip: Not directly above the bars below. Good news they seem to shut down early in CapeTown and are FUN
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kgreaves2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our exceptional staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurants for breakfast and brilliant location. We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Didn't know I missed to post my review since 2015. Loved the stay there.. Bf was awesome nice and clean rooms and friendly staff. Best location and affordable rooms. I recommend to those who are looking for budget stay with best location

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kspayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Front Office Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for still taking the time to let us know how your experience was back in 2015. It warms our hearts to know you remember us as we do our best to maintain and improve the experiences of our guests.

You must come visit us again and come see the different upgrades and changes we have made to the Hotel in the past 2 years.

Kind Regards
Carin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
233 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#49 of 112 in Cape Town Central
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
847 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,460 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $119 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing