We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #50 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
73
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

A deceivingly large hotel for a boutique hotel, but perfectly formed. Great rooms, and on previous posts it was noted that noise was an issue if on the front, this has been rectified, in fact, we were in the noisiest room prior to the double or triple glazing, and with windows shut, and aircon on, no noise from the two bars below was heard, even on the noisier Friday and Saturday nights.
Choice of venues for breakfast, immediately below in Jerry's or equally good Knead, the bakery 150 yards away.
Great location, lots going on in the area.
Thanks.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Front Office Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your stay and experience at Hippo Boutique Hotel.

Thank you for letting us know that our efforts to reduce the noise levels are effectively working! The comfort of our guests are very important to us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the buzz of the area, the breakfast options, and the spacious rooms.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hippo in the near future!

Kind Regards
Carin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2017

Our first holiday to South Africa! Cape Town is beautiful and clean.

The hotel has an intercom buzzer system and when we arrived, the door opened and we realised that reception was upstairs. We had to carry our luggage up a flight of stairs. Is this a good welcome for customers who have paid to stay at your hotel? The receptionist could've come down (or called us from the top), to inform us of a lift or even offer to carry one of our bags. The receptionist didn't mention anything. During our stay, we saw various workers on reception and the service was average, as not one of them asked us how our holiday was going. They knew it was our first time to South Africa/Cape Town, but no mention of 'how are you finding it, do you need help with anything?'. Customer service should be exceptional, as this can make all the difference. Staff weren't interested and this is why I gave 3 stars.

Room - very nice, great shower but one thing I couldn't get my head around. The window to the bathroom opens to the corridor. So, if you stink the toilet out and open the window, the other customers staying at the hotel, have the privilege of smelling what you've done, as they walk down the corridor, to get into their room.

The breakfast vouchers worked very well and this was definitely a bonus to our stay. The vouchers allow you to eat breakfast in some of the nearby restaurants/bars. We preferred using our voucher at Jerry's (next door), as he will give you what the voucher is worth. Example - voucher is 100 rands and you may order breakfast from a menu worth 70 rands. At Jerry's, he will ask you if you want more, to add it up to the value of 100 rands.

This hotel is in a safe location and is right next to the city centre, where you'll find a street full of shops and restaurants/bars (Long St and Kloof St - which is 5mins walking distance). There are also markets near Burger King. If you need to exchange money to rands, there are plenty of banks and currency exchange services.

The best thing about the holiday was the city sightseeing bus! You can catch this on Long St. This takes you to Cape Town's top attractions and allows you to hop off at any stop and hop back on. The buses run regularly throughout the day, around every 10/15mins (from about 8.00am-7.30pm) and a day ticket allows you to use it as many times in that day. One adult ticket costs 190 rands, which is equivalent to about £12. Ticket prices depend on the bus you use, as you can choose from red/yellow/blue tours. (You have to purchase the ticket from the shop, near bus stop first). We used the red tour. Along with your ticket, you are given headphones as the bus has an audio commentary.

Excursions - You must see Table Mountain (South Afica's most famous landmark and one of the seven wonders of nature!). You'll use the cable car to get to the top and the views are amazing. Ticket costs 255 rands, equivalent to about £16. We purchased the ticket from the sight seeing shop (to avoid queues at Table Mountain) and then got onto the sight seeing bus, which takes you there.

Robben Island - a must see! Nelson Mandela was imprisoned here for 27 years. Total time is 3 hours (takes 30mins to get there on a boat) and it is very moving and interesting to hear what prisoners went through. The tour sells out in advance , so prebook before you arrive in Cape Town. The hotel checked online and informed us that tickets had all sold. We were gutted, thinking we wouldn't be able to go, so we decided to go to the main office (Nelson Mandela Gateway) on the Waterfront and luckily, they had spaces! The worker informed me that when there are limited tickets left, website will show they are full, but if you go to the main office, you can still grab some tickets.

Waterfront - very posh, shops are like the ones in England.

Security / safety in Cape Town. Just thought I'd mention this, as a lot of people ask me 'was it safe?'. We had no problems during our stay. The only thing I will say is that this hotel is near the city centre, where it gets very busy at night. Imagine if you went into town on a Saturday night, where you currently live. It'll be busy, noisy and you'll probably see some rowdy people. It's the same thing here. If you go out at night, be careful, just how you would be in your own city.
Beggers will approach you, but just ignore them.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Miss A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

On behalf of Hippo Boutique Hotel, I would like to humbly apologize for the experience Guest feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!

We try and inform as many taxi companies that we have a parking garage at the back which has a lift to the reception and the rooms, however many of them are not aware of this so they drop the guests off at the front of the hotel.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, we will follow up each one with an action plan to improve our overall impression of our hotel. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Hippo Boutique Hospitality at its best!

With best regards,
Adine Perel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed here in January for 3 nights.Hotel was very central.We had a front room with a veranda and view of the street.The room was clean,could had done with a freshen up with paint but had everything we required.For breakfast you were given 100 rand each and had a choice of three places to eat which were all within a 2 minute walk.It was impossible for us to spend 200 Rand on breakfast as eating place were very very good value for money.Well within easy walking to shops.We did a two day hop on hop off bus tour which was money well spent.We had a very good view of Table Mountain from the corn or of the street the hotel was in.Staff friends and it was everything we required.Would recommend this hotel if you were only staying a few nights.Pub below our room but it never disturbed our sleep and it wasn't load music.

Room Tip: Front room we had was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mclaren095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel! We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience with regards to our great service and amazing restaurants for breakfast.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

First of all.. the hotel is not noicy (anymore)! They have double glassed the windows and it really does the trick! Our room (lots of natural light, spacious, clean, comfy bed..) was above the restaurants and inside it was quiet and we had a very restful sleep.

The room had a small kitchenette with coffee/tea and cookie supplies, mini bar, slippers, toiletries, hair dryer and adapters.

The location is superb and secure! You can walk, uber or take the bus to waterfront, table mountain or lions head. Lots of restaurants nearby and if you take the breakfast you'll get a voucher and a selection of 3 nearby restaurants that were all amazing!

I would stay here again!



Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our spacious rooms, spoilt choices of restaurants for breakfast and excellent location.
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Regards
Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Hippo Hotel for four nights on our first trip to Cape Town. We loved the location as it was very central and there were a lot of lively restaurants and bars in the vicinity. We enjoyed the fact that breakfast was done by voucher so you could eat in a few different nearby restaurants that were quite tasty. Actually all the food we ate around the hotel was pretty good and there was a lot to choose from. There was also a grocery store (Woolworths) which was about 5 minutes away. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful which was nice.

We stayed in a self catering suite that had two floors. It was spacious with a quirky design with huge windows and lots of natural light. The mini fridge was well stocked and there was a little nespresso machine.

The less enjoyable parts of the stay were that the space was not extremely clean. I cut my finger and there was some blood on the sheets which stayed on the sheets the entire time we were there. So, while the bed got made the sheets did not get cleaned. There was also grime around the tiles in the shower and it was a bit dusty. We also had a lot of trouble with the wifi which kept dropping and there were only a limited number of TV channels but we didn't care about that as we didn't go to South Africa to watch TV!

Finally, in our room the shower was part of the bedroom. So you could watch someone shower from bed (there is no door or barrier). This was fine for us as a couple but would not be ideal for friends or family members. I don't know if all the rooms are like this but it would be worth checking in advance.

Overall it was an enjoyable stay but could do with a bit more cleanliness.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Broden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

On behalf of Hippo Boutique Hotel, I would like to humbly apologize for the experience as Guest feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!

We will definitely look at our cleaning techniques and see where we could improve on them. We have changed WI FI companies in order to rectify the problem. There are 10 channels on the television and 3 of them are movies.

Thank you for the positive experience with regards to our excellent location, friendly staff and amazing restaurants for breakfast.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, we will follow up each one with an action plan to improve our overall impression of our hotel. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Hippo Boutique Hospitality at its best!

With best regards,
Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,012 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#38 of 110 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
810 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
533 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 110 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cape Town Central

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $118 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing