We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Lion's Head
from USD 70.24
More Info
from USD 20.00
More Info
from USD 46.80
More Info
from USD 98.62
More Info
Reviews (4,298)
Filter reviews
4,298 results
Traveller rating
3,288
881
118
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,288
881
118
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full moon great hike table mountain easy hike rock climbing worth the climb worth the effort hiking shoes bring water short hike afraid of heights camps bay lots of water views of cape town sunrise hike coming down watch the sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
934 - 939 of 4,298 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Due to maintanance and windyness we have never - of our four! visits to Cape Town - been able to get up the Table Mountain. The Lion's Head however is a very beautiful alternative. The walk is great, a little climbing is necessary, and the view is drop dead gorgeous. Especially when those clouds wander over the mountains with some sunshine in between. A friend went up both and definitely prefers the Lion's Head.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank StephHgndrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

My wife and I did Lion's Head in the late afternoon so that we could be at the top for sunset. The hike is glorious! The path circles the mountain that is Lion's Head so you get a fantastic view of the city of Cape Town as well as the ocean. Note that there are staples and ladders that need to be used in some parts. The sunset at the top was beautiful. The only mistake that we made was we did not bring beer/wine/champagne with us. Many others we saw at the top were better prepared. I would also recommend headlamps for the way down.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank keoleoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

After a 50 minutes hike we arrived at the summit and enjoyed a wonderful panoramic view over the city and table moutain. Plan good walking shoes for the trail which is easy for the first 30 minutes but is rocky afterwards.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank DavidL1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Easy, relaxing scenic drive. Beautiful views and great for watching several interesting activities. Fantastic for night time viewing over Cape Town and surrounds

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Rita & Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The going up is a bit of a challenge but its so worth it when you get up and you will see a 360 degree of how lovely Cape Town is

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank DeanS2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews