We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable accommodation in a good location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious second bedroom Spacios second bedroom with a little corner to sit and read a book
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Spacious second bedroom
Spacios second bedroom with a little corner to sit and read a book
Second bedroom with a view of the garden
Spacious bathroom with shower over bath
Main bedroom with view of garden
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Living area with access to the garden
Living area with satellite tv and the view to the garden
Living area
Living area
Garden with garden furniture
Garden
Garden
Spacious Kitchen
Kitchen
Second bedroom
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cape Town Central, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
BruceJenn...
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Comfortable accommodation in a good location”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

All the good reviews have said it all. Close to shops and eateries, easy access to the city and the attractions beyond.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just about everything
Liked least: No off-road parking.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deshrink
Creston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for a better apartment and location.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Thank you for such a great stay in a world class city. Down the Lane was in a great location for restaurants and only a few minutes from the harbor area as well as Table Mountain. We had a comfortable sleep and it was all just great! Good memories...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTucso...
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Down the Lane is a Perfect Spot in Cape Town”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I found Down the Lane by accident on the web, when I started to look a year ago for our trip to Cape Town. I looked no farther, after checking with a couple of folks on line and the price of $52 a night in US dollars was fantastic. I started corresponding with Renier over the year and he always answered my question (s) right away. It is in a charming and safe neighborhood of Tamborerskloof and completely safe, although we never walked it at night. There are many nice eating places near by within walking distance, and even shorter if you have a car. We didn't drive as we had a driver pick us up each morning, but parking is available on the street. It is a self catering so if you wish to cook the kitchen is large and very nice. We didn't use it for I don't like to cook!
The two bedrooms are spacious and look just like they do in the photos. Every thing looks the same and it is delightful spot. The front room is a nice area to watch TV or to read.
The plants and flowers outside added so much to the entrance. It was the beginning of winter so we didn't spend much time out on the patio.
There are a series of small steps throughout the apartment so you need to watch/mind your step. Elderly folks would have a hard time with the steps as they are hard to see. I am not sure about a family with young children but older children should be fine.
Renier and Alec are so warm and gracious and make you feel so comfortable if you have time to sit down and visit.. We have found two new friends through them.
Believe me, you can't go wrong by staying here and we would go back in a heart beat!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was private yet Renier and Alec were available when needed. We had our own space.
Liked least: If i have to be picky, ther ewasn't a clock in the bedroom but it was no big deal as we always carry a travel alarm with us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Mar 2014
Dear Daniel and Carla

Thank you for the wonderfull review. It was great having you at Down The Lane for 15 days and meeting Brazilians from Sao Paulo. You were wonderfull guests.

Kind regards

Renier
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing