We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
741
352
87
37
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
741
352
87
37
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz brunchharvey's barsea pointcentral courtyardlovely courtyardfree shuttlesea viewbeach roadcolonial stylejunior suitecamps bayreception staffhotel shuttlehop on hop off buscharming hotelshuttle servicethe hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

My Husband and I had the extreme honor of being guests at this Hotel this month, and what an experience it was, it’s a four star hotel that is run like a five star!!

Right from the moment we arrived in the evening the service was extraordinary. The reception desk staff were friendly and efficient.

The hotel room was clean and comfortable, and the amenities in the room is what made it a five star experience, clean and cosy gowns, slippers, chocolates next to the bed, turn down service was already done.

Possibly the best part of our stay was enjoying the amazing food at Harvey’s restaurant. We were lured in by Alli, and thank goodness for that!! It was a culinary experience unlike anything we have ever had before. Our waitress was Kozama, and what service she gave us!! She made sure our order was received just perfectly and was the perfect waitress!! But she was not alone, the entire dinner team was magnificent, and it’s not often that we see a manager as hands on as Patrick was. It was refreshing and made our experience that much more pleasurable.

For starters we had the soup of the day (tomato and broccoli) and The mussels. And it was just fantastic, for main I had the grilled fish of the day and my husband had the ribeye, to be quiet honest I’m still dreaming of that fish and the lemon butter emulsion it was served with, both these dishes were life changing!! For desert we shared the malva pudding, and boy was it a strong finish to an amazing food experience. The portions were generous, and well priced for the quality we were getting.

The next day’s breakfast did not let us down either and was a perfect start to a busy work day!!

On the whole the entire hotel staff were friendly and nothing was ever too much, they were most accommodating and professional beyond words. Before staying here, we were at a large international brand five star hotel in Durban for four nights for business and this small beautiful four star hotel put it to shame!! What a magical place. We will definitely be back with the family soon!!

We took down names to individually thank however we know the team is so much more bigger than this, so we sincerely apologize if we left anyone out.

A big well done and thank you too:
Patrick
Kozama
Allie
Alex
Mandla
Kass
Pheli
Juan
Frank
Phillip
Gwen
Fatishwa
Naadia
Happiness
Tamara
Aesha
Ayanda
Gwen
Pepsi
Natalie
Swaheid
Lanthiest
Lenox
Talia
Nelisa
Ian
Kyle
Jamie
And a special thanks to the ladies at the Ginkgo Spa who looked after us and pampered us.

Also the cleaning staff!! You were magnificent and should be proud of the quality of your work and service!

We will definitely see you all soon.

Warm regards

Mr and Mrs Papadakis

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank AfricanSoilTransfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

We cannot thank you enough for this extraordinary review! Thank you for ALL the name mentions, each and every staff member will be rewarded for their excellent service. I will pass your kind words to the Ginkgo Spa staff and management. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Winchester Mansions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

My fiance and I stayed here last March at the recommendation of my aunt. We had an awesome experience. The hotel is really charming and has a great relaxed, friendly vibe. I think it would be ideal for families or couples or solo travelers. The location is perfect for going anywhere in Cape Town - the beaches, the bars and restaurants, Table Mountain, etc., and also for going out into the wine regions. Murray, the general manager, made a point to introduce himself and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. Everyone working there was friendly and accomodating. They recommended a great restaurant nearby when we just wanted a casual dinner. My fiance hung out at the bar inside the hotel when I was working and had a good time meeting the locals and other travelers. I had a couple of business meetings there also, and it was the perfect spot for that. Really can't say enough good things about this hotel and what a good value it is.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexaK190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

WOW! What a wonderful review! We cannot thank you enough for your kind words. We also need to thank your aunt for the recommendation, we really appreciate it. Thank you for mentioning our staff, they are the heart beat of this hotel. I hope to welcome you back to the Winchester Mansions in the very near future, we all enjoyed having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We were unsure when we arrived here as no one was there to greet us or help us with our luggage as we had in other hotels in South Africa.
We were checked in early as it is normally two o clock but when we arrived at the room there was someone still cleaning it and our "view" was a brick wall! As we were hanging around wondering what to do and probably going back to the reception to request a different room, a hotel guy came in and said we weren't supposed to be in that room. He gave us a much better room with a side sea view which was lovely.
The hotel and rooms are boutique style and very elegant. The bed was super comfy and we were very happy in this room.
The breakfast buffet was very good and the service from staff was efficient and friendly. It also looked as if some none guests came for breakfast on some days which is a good sign.
The room had a litle fridge stocked with some complimentary soft drinks and snacks and they were lovely. If you need a refill you pay for that but we just used it to stock our own supplies.
There is a hotel shuttle to the V&A which is like a taxi and you can book a time. That was really useful and you avoid the usual scrum for the free shuttle as we have had in other hotels. Once when the shuttle was held up the hotel gave us a complimentary taxil.
If you go up the road to the back of the hotel there are lots of restaurants and shops.
Also the red hop on and hop off bus stops right outside the hotel so that's great.
All in all we loved our stay here and if it weren't for the intital greeting which wasn't that friendly ( the receptionists later on were lovely and all remembered our names ) we would have given this an excellent. We would definatly stay again.

Room Tip: If you don't like where you are put ask to change
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and for your valuable feedback. Please accept my apologies for the lack of service you received on arrival. I can assure you its not our usual standard of service as I am sure you may noticed during your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and do hope to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

we stayed 2 nights at the Winchester Mansions and had a wonderfull time. The rooms were very nice and the food excellent. Also the location of the hotel is perfect: right at the promenade and opposite of the RedBus Station! :-)
We will recommend to all friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mlemcke2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

We are indeed situated at the best spot in Cape Town, our location is superb. I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Winchester Mansions and we appreciate your recommendation. Thank you for your kind rating. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We want to acknowledge with special cudos Philip and Thalia at the front desk, Ayanda our server at breakfast and Shaheed our driver. They all provided above and beyond service with grace and a smile. The weekly Jazz brunch was a special treat and fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keithwllsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for your sweet words about our staff and thank you for mentioning their names, they should be very proud of the service they provided. I am delighted to hear that you got to experience our legendary Sunday Jazz Brunch during our stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews