We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at the Winchester Mansions from 12th until 19th March 2012. From the beginning (pick up from the airport) until the end of the stay at Winchester Mansions - we really enjoyed every second. The hotel is right situated opposite the beach, you can go there for a nice walk and
enjoy the nice see view.

The Winchester Mansions is a perfect hotel to stay in Capetown/Sea Point. The rooms are very clean, the personnel very friendly and the food first class. If you get a chance try to take part in the jazz brunch which will be held sundays in the garden court. I have never every seen such a variety offered on food from brunch for such a special price. Addionally the jazz band was great and it was just a perfect start for the day.

We really enjoyed our stay there and will definitely come back when our way will lead us to Capetown again...

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the sea, you will enjoy the beautifull sight of the sea, if you like it more q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    299
    76
    34
    21
See reviews for
185
525
64
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

After six months, we are still traumatized by the treatment from management. Having booked, planned, taking the trouble to visit the place before a birthday celebration for 20 people, we found the place we had arranged had been changed at their discretion to an open area, on a rainy day, without an alternative. Leaving guests to scurry with plates in hand for shelter and nowhere to go. Thank goodness for the Cape Grace,as they saved us! At Winchester they had no manager on site and the poor waitresses trying to handle chaos. The General Manager was then unable to accept the truth, was arrogant in his attitude and admitted his staff were unprepared for the event. He offered us breakfast for two... adding insult to injury. Overbooking is more common at the Winchester than it seems acceptable. Go there at your peril. (By the way, we are well travelled people, used to top places all over the world).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank who-said-what
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
It is with disappointment that I read your much delayed review on Tripadvisor. Sadly it is unfair, factually incorrect and contains an unnecessary personal attack on me. You rate our rooms and sleep quality, yet you did not stay!? I was under the impression that we dealt with the matter and moved on. I apologised as there was indeed ground for your complaint and offered you brunch for four and not breakfast for two. I do not wish to continue this spat. I repeat my invitation and hope that a repeated sincere apology is accepted six months after the event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

During a recent tour of the Western Cape we stayed for four nights at this hotel which is situated in a beautiful area of Cape Town. The food in Harvey's restaurant ( which is in house ) is excellant & the staff very courteous in every area & went out of the way to make our stay very enjoyable & therefore we hope to return in the near future. Top marks to all staff.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, but I understand talking to other guests that all area's are to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianJohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed at the Mansions for a week, and were very impressed with the building and the staff were very friendly and attentive.
We had Jazz sunday brunch in the beautiful courtyard, and on weekday evenings the front balcony of the bar gets really busy with people meeting up either on their way home or on their way out - it has a great buzz about it.
The room was large, however it was quite dark and none of them seem to have balconies.
The pool is clean and has a small deck but parts of it are always in the shade, so if you want to sunbathe you end up moving quite a lot.
The courtesy card is excellent value, and is free if you just want to go into town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyh1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel was the best hotel we have ever stayed in, the staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble for them, we are going to return to this hotel when we are back in cape town and will highly recommend it to all our family and friends

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely but we had a front sea view room and it was out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
505 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,716 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
Cascades on the Promenade
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cape Town Central

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): $177 - $606
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing