We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be Better ”

Robben Island Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 201.80*
and up
Half-Day Robben Island Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: During the apartheid years Robben Island served as a prison for political activists.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

When visiting Cape Town the Robben Island tour was a must for us and although we were happy we got to visit the historic island we felt it could have been run alot better. The trip lasts the bones of 5 hours and our ferry was cancelled for a week due to a technical fault which seemed to be very long to us. When you come to queue up for the ferry you are given very little info re trip time, history of island etc. We were then piled onto a bus and bright on a tour by an ex inmate. His story was fascinating but we felt we could have been given more information on the basics before meeting him. Then after some delay we got a bus around the island. It defineltly could be improved on and streamlined a little bit

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank conbourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ex prisoner"
in 572 reviews
"nelson mandela"
in 747 reviews
"political prisoners"
in 344 reviews
"ferry ride"
in 257 reviews
"mandela's cell"
in 206 reviews
"maximum security prison"
in 93 reviews
"leper colony"
in 78 reviews
"lime quarry"
in 76 reviews
"spent years"
in 102 reviews
"prison life"
in 61 reviews
"long walk to freedom"
in 73 reviews
"tour guide"
in 404 reviews
"moving experience"
in 143 reviews
"humbling experience"
in 107 reviews
"first hand"
in 154 reviews
"south african history"
in 115 reviews
"walking tour"
in 128 reviews
Filter

543 - 547 of 7,538 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

If this is on your must do list when on Cape Town book online before you go. It gets booked up days in advance. We had an exhilarating boat trip, there was a whale visible in the bay. When you arrive, buses meet you to tour the island with a commentary. We saw penguins along the way & passed the village where the wardens used to live. We also saw the quarry where the prisoners were subjected to hard labour. A previous inmate showed us round the cell blocks, including Nelson Mandela’s cell. I’m glad I made the effort to go & will remember it forever.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank dottydelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Being shown around by Sparks, a former political prisoner, and hearing first hand his experiences was probably one of the most humbling things I’ve heard. I learnt so much and I thought I’d read a lot anyway. The whole tour is efficiently organised, covers more than I expected, and is a must do if you’re in Cape Town. Book well in advance, tickets were not available for a month at the time we went ( we booked 3 months ahead).

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Bonsvacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Good to experience the culture side of the island. Informative talks from the guides and really interesting to see the jail internally, especially where the late Nelson Mandela spend all those years.

The boat trip to and from the island is pretty fun, but I would avoid if you get motion sickness.
A tad boring as a whole, I don't have kids, but did notice a lot of moaning and groaning from other travellers kids due to boredom.

Take suncream and a hat, it gets very hot on the island during summer.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Carmin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We didn’t realise you had to book and by chance got 2 tickets from a tour guide who had 2 group members cancel whilst waiting in the booking office and asking everyone if they had spare tickets!!!

Tour lasted from 11am sail till returning at 3pm.

Interesting talk from a past political prisoner, a view from outside of Mandela’s cell and then a bus trip around part of the island.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Sonny_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robben Island Museum also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Robben Island Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing