We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in a great city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
essex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in a great city”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed for 6 nights from 26 Feb 2012 to 3 March 2012 in a loft room and were really impressed. Check in was quick and reception staff were friendly offering us a free cool pineapple drink which was lovely and refreshing after a long journey. The loft room was great - simply decorated in a modern functional style it offered lots of space. A large comfortable bedroom and a fabulous shower room on the mezzanine level and a lounge, dining area, small kitchen (with coffee maker!)and bathroom downstairs. We had a corner room so the double height windows gave us great views -in one direction the stadium and in the other Table Mountain. We found all of the staff at the hotel to be attentive and helpful. We had some problems opening our safe one morning and security came up straight away to help us. The buffet breakfast offered a wide choice of hot and cold food and the staff were friendly quickly offering coffee and tea. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food on offer. Again the restaurant staff were friendly and attentive. The hotel is in a great location - it took us 10 minutes to walk to the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront and it only took 5 minutes max back in a taxi at night. There is a great restaurant Beluga literally two minutes away if you don't want to walk far. Overall a great place to stay for our first time in Cape Town and we would heartily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine3227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Sunshine 3227,

THANK YOU sooo much for taking the time to write such a wonderfully detailed review about the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction and for recommending us to other users. We really are immensely grateful for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time in our beautiful city and our beautiful hotel and personally we cannot wait to welcome you back to either!
Sincere regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    295
    99
    23
    14
See reviews for
55
266
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Traveling often to Cape Town and trying to get a room in this hotel since over one year without success. 
I understood the reason when I finally got there. Great location, very new and tasteful decorated rooms. The service was surprisingly good and very polite stuff. 
Breakfast buffet very good with everything for every diet. 
BUT you pay for a lot for what you get.
Overall, I'll definitely set this hotel as my default hotel in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbaleiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Timbaleiro,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to review the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction here on Tripadvisor.com. Thank you for your wonderful positive feedback and for complementing our STAFF and service. We loved having your stay with us and certainly would be honoured to be your new HOME when traveling to Cape Town for business or pleasure! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Pieter Buitendag
General Manager
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Protea Victoria Junction. It is very good value for money in the area of the Waterfront. Despite what a previous reviewer says, it isn't necessary to get a cab to the Waterfront as it is only about 15 minutes walk away, cutting through by the Cape Grace Hotel. We preferred to get a take a cab back after dark, however, and we found it was better to get a rate for the journey before climbing in the cab - 30 rand was the best we managed although they try to charge up to 50 rand.

Our loft-style room was excellent but if we stay again we will do our best to get one at the back of the hotel as the road outside can be quite noisy, even in the middle of the night sometimes. If you don't mind using aircon and close the windows, this is obviously not a problem. Having a little kitchen was very useful and we took some lunch back to the room a couple of times and were able to sit comfortably at our own dining table!

The breakfast was great with a very good choice and the staff were friendly. The reception staff were also quite helpful but not very confident so sometimes seemed a bit uncertain of what they were supposed to be doing. We arrived from a very early flight and were able to take our room a bit before the 2pm check-in.

We enjoyed the proximity to the Waterfront as there are plenty of restaurants to choose from and a wide choice of shops. The views of Table Mountain are superb from the Waterfront, too. It's also very easy to walk to the City Centre from the hotel with its museums and attractive gardens and an easy taxi ride to Table Mountain.

Room Tip: The loft rooms are excellent - side rooms have good views of Green Point and Waterfront in the dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TillyT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear KeenTraveller556,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your feedback so much! Thank you for being so positive about the Hotel. We have noted your comment about the sometimes hesitant front office STAFF and will ensure through our in-house training programs that this is addressed!
We thank you for choosing to stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction and we certainly hope that we'll be able to welcome you back soon!
Sincere regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed at Victoria Junction at the end of our two week trip to South Africa and Victoria Falls.. The hotel met our expectations, clean, outstanding breakfast buffet and conveniently located.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 553georgeatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear 553Georgeatl,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction on Tripadvisor! We aprpeciate your comments and positive feedback. We certainly hope to see you back in Cape Town again soon and we certainly hope you will again choose the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction for your stay!
Sincere regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I suspect I will return to capetown in my life, and I will likely look for a hotel right on the water. My only issue with this hotel was that you had to take a cab to the waterfront. However, once I traveled by car down the coast, I realized that the commercial waterfront area that is about 2 miles away is not all that- it doesn't really capture the amazing beauty of the cape- you need to get about a half hour out of the main city area to get that. So in all honesty, I would say that if you want to be in the city proper, you may at well stay at the protea. Super cool rooms with modern but unique decor, very cool lobby, and good food! Stay a few days, and then grab your bags and move yourself out of the city to bask on the amazing beaches.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
339 reviews
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#80 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
338 reviews
0.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#86 of 109 in Cape Town Central
204 reviews
0.8 km away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cape Town Central

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Address: corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): $142 - $323
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town's trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction's location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience - breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon's Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing