We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,807)
Filter reviews
1,807 results
Traveller rating
1,492
231
61
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,492
231
61
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladyfamous afternoon teachef's tabletennis courtscolonial hotelfinger sandwichesgrand dametable mountaingrand old ladymain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensthis wonderful hoteloysters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,807 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Starts at 1pm and ends at 3, the amount of food you can eat in that time - if you want - if huge.

Sandwiches, savoury pastries, scone and endless cakes with 3 pots of tea..... and you can order more sandwiches and pastries if you want!

Lovely building and grounds.

A good experience worthy of the cost

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Sonny1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you very much for your glowing review of your Afternoon Tea experience and we are also delighted that you enjoyed the gardens and the hotel setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

My first ever High Tea and I believe I started with the best! We got dressed for the occasion, it’s a beautiful place and we wanted to feel special. Excellent service, excellent choice of delicious savory and sweet treats! My guests stuck to the tea and I had a delicious glass of red wine. No complaints or feeling of disappointment. Will definitely go again and highly recommend it!!! Oh....and the scones

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank CABMtius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review and yes it is indeed very important that you loved the scones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I have never experienced a high tea, nor would I have, if it wasn't for my close friend. The hotel is super lavish and you feel like royalty when you sit down in their ornate dining area. There is a huge selection of teas and the way they are described and brought to you makes you feel like you are at a tasting. The most exciting part of the tea was the enormous array of miniature desserts. I mean milk tart! Hell yeah!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gazelle8SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Afternoon Tea, with MelkTert, yes : )
We are also delighted that you enjoyed the vast array of teas that are on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Lucky enough to have spent 7 nights in the hotel. Loved it. Great staff and lovely feel about the place.

Had a lovely room with quality bed linen and comfy pillows. Good coffee machine and a view from every window.

Nicely decorated and a lovely smell in the lobby where the afternoon tea is served. Go to the Nelson for afternoon tea it’s incredible.

Pool area and outside spaces are good and the breakfast selection is vast. What you expect from this standard of hotel. Egg stations, pancakes etc.

I will return to Cape Town and I will return to this hotel. See you again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank DaveyB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

And we look forward to your return. Thank you so much for your many compliments on our staff, your room and the quality of the linen and pillows, the gorgeous smell in the lobby - which is our own unique signature fragrance from Charlotte Rhys called Timeless which can be purchased in the Signature Boutique - and the fabulous breakfast selection. We are delighted that you enjoyed your seven day stay with us so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Not having been in South Africa for some years we had forgotten how wonderful Cape Town can be in the sun during December. We had never stayed at the Mount Nelson and being regular clients of the Belmond Group decided it was an omission. We were not disapointed inn any way. On arrival we were greeted by Rene at the reception desk and he gave us caring attention throughout our five day stay which was in mid December.
The hotel is well run and cared for with every facility. Its mid town position is convenient for shopping and the shuttle which goes to the Waterfront is also very handy. I have many friends who return annually and we would be delighted to return next year. The cost of staying at this hotel is greater than some other hotels in the area however, it is "Belmond" and provides a higher quality in everything it does.
Amusingly, a lady manager hustled out of our room unwilling to acknowledge our late check out.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Terumah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your compliments on our service, our perfect location and for such a glowing review of your stay with us in December. We do hope we might see you again this December. We love being called One of the Great Hotels of South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews