We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A show and dinner experience not to be missed!”

The Rockwell Dinner Theatre
Ranked #70 of 1,298 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 30 - USD 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Enveloped in the quaint decor of the Cape, international and local guests of all ages, whilst enjoying a scrumptious buffet and Cape wines, will be transported into the world of entertainment featuring our production "Kaapse Stories from the Mother City", written and directed by award winning Basil Appollis, we meet a Cape family in a show filled with the humor, intoxicating rhythm and soulful songs unique to Cape Town. Forged from the hardships and misfortunes of the past, emerges a triumphant community - the original 'Rainbow Nation'.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

As a tour guide you are always looking for great places to take your groups to and this is a must on any itinerary!

I have been taking groups to see Kaapse Stories for the last 3 years (when they were still at Richard's Supper Club) and every time the experience was awesome!!!

To have a night out in Cape Town, experiencing the culture, music and food of the Cape is uplifting and fun!

The story told is one of sadness on all levels, but put together in such humorous way which captures the attention of every guest in the audience. The quality of the artist performances, the music selection and the interaction with guests is an absolute winner!!!! The food in between puts the cherry on top!!!!

I know the story off by heart already after being there so many times, you feel like part of the family, but while singing along, find myself in see if the production every time! These people are true professionals!

This is truly a dining and cultural experience not to be missed! Go to The Rockwell for Kaapse Stories to have the time of your life in true Cape hospitality style!!!!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank reinettehattingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh-Ellingson, Director of Sales at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Reinettehattingh,

Thank you very much for your amazing review, we couldn't have said it better ourselves.

We hold our local tour guides' opinions in a very high regard and therefore reading this review from you is such a delight.

The Kaapse Stories show is agreeably one of the best ways to learn about Cape Town's rich history in a fun and entertaining experience and Yes the food is delicious and a definite must when anyone visits Cape Town.


Thank you for your continuing support and we look forward to singing along with you upon your return.


Kind regards
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

What can I say, this was a surprise booking for us and knew nothing about the venue, so it was all a complete mystery. The entertainment was first class and some of the voices worthy of the West End or Broadway. It started by telling the history of District 6 and its mixed cultural background in music, but a variety of music was performed. The meal was buffet and plentiful, plus delicious. No complaints at all, apart from a French group who were very rude and selfish and disturbed the acts with their load talking.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sonyafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh-Ellingson, Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Sonya,

Thank you very much for your Wonderful review.

What a lovely description of your experience of the show.
We are delighted that you had a lovely time with us and hope you come back in the future.


Kind regards
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

I loved the show, the singing was great, greeted with a champagne, didn't think the food was great, but certainly glad I saw it.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh-Ellingson, Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Lorraine,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the show.
Please let us know what you didn't like about the food so we can improve this in future.


Kind regards
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We went with friends from the USA who were visiting Cape Town with us. They had never been to South Africa and we wanted them to experience something that is typically Cape Town. Kaapse Stories really did the trick. The show is wonderfully put together with great music, fun humor and excellent dialogue. It is a real infusion of typical Cape culture for those who do not know it. Our friends loved the show and also enjoyed the food We were visiting from overseas and for us the show was a nice reminder of what we remembered from our young days in Cape Town. Price is really reasonable considering what one gets. Highly recommended for tourists and former Cape Town residents on a return visit

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh-Ellingson, Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Bern999,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are delighted that we could make your friend's visit that much more special.
The Kaapse Stories agreeably one of the best ways to learn about Cape Town's rich history in a fun and entertaining experience.
A must when anyone visits Cape Town.


Kind regards
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

It was a busy night in the Rockwell Hotel when we arrived for the dinner theatre show. More than 30 of us from a tour group attended - and we were not disappointed!
The food was good - starter of a large samosa (cold by the time it arrived unfortunately but still tasty and the kitchen was dealing with large numbers) served with a small spoonful of smoked trout salad and fresh bread. Mains were buffet style and there was plenty of choice; strips of fillet steak, chicken and prawn curry (amazing!!), or lamb, service with your choice of pilaf/basmati rice, carrots, beans, roasted tomatoes, dauphinoise potatoes, cauliflower/broccoli and cheese sauce - something for everyone. Shame the bowl of salad on our table wasn't touched and was wasted. I don't think it was actually required, as there was plenty of food.
Pudding was served already plated - trio of small desserts; a sponge, a slice of vanilla tart and a very syrupy yum yum, and a kebab of fresh fruit.
The main course was the best, but the food paled when the entertainment arrived. I won't spoil the show, but it was interesting, funny and the singing was amazing, particularly the 'Princess' and the man who same Nessun Dorma.
A great night which finished off our two weeks in South Africa on a high.
Don't miss it!!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank TartanDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germandt G, Public Relations Manager at The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear TartanDeb,

Thank you for this mail- and for explaining in detail what you enjoyed so much about the evening.
We agree - the food is delicious, but the show is the real show-stealer (no pun intended).

By the way, the "syrupy yum yum" is called a koeksister (a traditional Afrikaans delicacy dessert), best enjoyed with coffee/tea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rockwell Dinner Theatre also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Rockwell Dinner Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing