We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish & chips ”

Cape Town Fish Market V&A Waterfront
Ranked #206 of 1,246 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our menu brings together the best of South African and Japanese cuisine – from fish & chips to classic sashimi. When it comes to seafood, it doesn’t get any fresher. We also cater for meat-eaters and vegetarians and offer a carefully selected range of the finest South African wines.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Visited the fish market twice during our holiday also last November on my previous visit.
Food wine and service very good, and the price is very reasonable. .

Thank mancheiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

I visited the Cape Town Fish Market this evening with my family, 9 of us in total. Interesting menu including many tapas dishes but surprisingly few different fish dishes. A few of us ordered sharing platters - ok, nothing special. Paella which was actually spicy curry with inedible squid. Service however was not bad, lovely position for the restaurant overlooking the Waterfront. We decided to go elsewhere for desert and asked if we could split the bill across 2 cards. The first one the amount was incorrect and then we noticed that they had billed the amount in Rand, but had then applied an exchange rate plus commission without our consent! I was not impressed for a meal which is priced as special, but to be fairly average and then try and con a few extra quid with a naughty truck with your card. I certainly would not recommend this place, there are many lovely restaurants in Cape Town try one of the others.

Thank Sarah20260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTFMSA, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Town Fish Market V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Sarah
We're so sorry to hear about your bad experience, please would you send a copy of this review and your contact details to complaints@ctfm.co.za so that we can be in touch.

Kind regards
The CTFM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Relaxed atmosphere in a lovely situ overlooking the harbour. I had the hake stack which was to die for, steaks were huge and delicious, prawns were positively monsterous and fantastic. Would recommend

Thank Cookiehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Loads of restaurants in the seafront. We wanted fish and the cape town fish market was the choice. They have a nice big terrace and the staff was very nice. We had the fish platter and that was very good value for money.

Thank Margonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTFMSA, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Town Fish Market V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Good service nice surroundings and even more important great fish lunch at a reasonable price. Had a fish tapas deal first which set our taste buds up, followed by a share platter .Even had free Wi-fi and assistance to log on highly recommend if you are in Cape Town

Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTFMSA, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Town Fish Market V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for the great review Nick!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Town Fish Market V&A Waterfront also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Fish Market V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing