We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Informative and !Cool”

Cape Town Diamond Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 54.59*
and up
Cape Town Flexi Attractions Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Cape Town Diamond Museum pays tribute to the world's most precious gem, the diamond. Discover a 3 billion year old story unfold from a diamond's formation to the final polished stone. The Cape Town Diamond Museum also pays homage to the most famous South African diamonds and showcases specimens of Kimberlite rock dating billions of years old. Situated in the bustling heart of the Clock Tower precinct at the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Diamond Museum is a must-see for any visitor to Cape Town. Book in advance recommended.
Reviewed 14 November 2017

My friend and I visited the Diamond museum a few days ago on our trip to Cape Town. Our guide was MARE!! She was super helpful and informative. All of the ladies were super nice, they even let me keep my bag of souvenirs at the front desk while I toured because it was getting so heavy and hand delivered it right back to me as we finished.
Mare told us stories about the largest diamond ever discovered and Erasmus; who gave up a 12 carat (I believe) diamond to a farmer for a couple of cattle and sheep (Poor guy)!

Then we learned of the different types...the My Girl was completely stunning.
I highly recommend the tour!

Also, Mare had an awesome pen with a diamond replica at the top; super cute. I never found the shop that sold it. :(

Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTDiamondMuseum, Manager at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Courtney P, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We're delighted that you found the diamond tour educational and that Mare made your experience a memorable one. It certainly was our pleasure to host you on the tour.

We hope to welcome you back to the Museum in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 9 reviews
"jewellery shop"
in 6 reviews
"clock tower"
in 12 reviews
"south africa"
in 24 reviews
"for sale"
in 9 reviews
"guided tour"
in 13 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 6 reviews
"rainy day"
in 7 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 5 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 5 reviews
"robben island"
in 6 reviews
"showroom"
in 43 reviews
"shimansky"
in 32 reviews
"mines"
in 14 reviews
"polishing"
in 21 reviews
"replica"
in 20 reviews
"history"
in 121 reviews
Filter

74 - 78 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Situated in the Clock Tower Precinct at the Victoria & Albert Waterfront, this wonderful museum offers an informative overview of the history of diamonds, along with life-size replica's of the world's most famous. There was so much to see!

When we entered, a young man told our group of 36 that we would have about 10 minutes for the tour. Alas, it was five minutes at most!

The guide appeared more interested in rushing us into the showroom as soon as he could. We definitely did not have time for more than a brief glance at the exhibits--and definitely not enough to read more than one or two descriptions. It was so very disappointing.

1  Thank CJW913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTDiamondMuseum, Manager at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear CJW913, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to continuously improve. We aspire to ensure our guests’ visit to the Cape Town Diamond Museum is an equally remarkable and memorable one, therefore, we do sincerely apologize that you did not have sufficient time available to enjoy the full diamond experience tour. Our tours are conducted on a one-on-one basis for a duration of approximately 45 minutes and we would have loved to have given you the full experience.

We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Cape Town.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

DId not know what to expect, but the Shamansky Diamond store offers this tour which is short -20 minutes- and fascinating history of the first diamond to today. Lovely personal tour guide who looked like a Brithish Airways attendant in uniform!

1  Thank betsy33936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTDiamondMuseum, Manager at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear betsy33936, thank you for your recent visit to the Cape Town Diamond Musuem. We are very pleased to hear your guide made your experience an unforgettable one and trust you gained valuable insight into the world of diamonds and learning about the history of diamonds in South Africa.

We hope to welcome you back to the Museum in the near future.

Kind regards The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We were very fortunate to get a private tour. No-one else was around. Whilw the tour doesn't last long it is steeped in the history of diamond mining in SA and also showed many of the worlds largest diamonds albeit copies. You can see how they cut, shape and set them and end up in the store itself. All in all very interesting.

1  Thank BDL999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTDiamondMuseum, Manager at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear BDL999_12, thank you for sharing your experience and for visiting the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We're thrilled that you learned so much about diamonds. It certainly was our pleasure to host you on the tour.

We hope to welcome you back to the Museum in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Learn the entire background story about diamonds and how they come to be. See gems unavailable in any other setting

1  Thank sbtbless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTDiamondMuseum, Manager at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear sbtbless, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to host you at the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We trust you gained valuable insight into the world of diamonds and learning about the history of diamonds in South Africa.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Town Diamond Museum also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Diamond Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing