We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Story behind the gems”

Cape Town Diamond Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Cape Town Diamond Museum pays tribute to the world's most precious gem, the diamond. Discover a 3 billion year old story unfold from a diamond's formation to the final polished stone. The Cape Town Diamond Museum also pays homage to the most famous South African diamonds and showcases specimens of Kimberlite rock dating billions of years old. Situated in the bustling heart of the Clock Tower precinct at the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Diamond Museum is a must-see for any visitor to Cape Town. Book in advance recommended.
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Learn the entire background story about diamonds and how they come to be. See gems unavailable in any other setting

1  Thank sbtbless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTDiamondMuseum, Manager at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear sbtbless, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to host you at the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We trust you gained valuable insight into the world of diamonds and learning about the history of diamonds in South Africa.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 9 reviews
"jewellery shop"
in 6 reviews
"clock tower"
in 12 reviews
"south africa"
in 24 reviews
"for sale"
in 9 reviews
"guided tour"
in 13 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 6 reviews
"rainy day"
in 7 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 5 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 5 reviews
"robben island"
in 6 reviews
"showroom"
in 43 reviews
"shimansky"
in 32 reviews
"mines"
in 14 reviews
"polishing"
in 21 reviews
"replica"
in 20 reviews
"history"
in 121 reviews
Filter

76 - 80 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

The tour is actually quite short, though there is good general information on some of the worlds largest diamonds. The showroom with the real gems was good with no pressure to buy. Unless your a lover of diamonds and plan on spending a few thousand then allow 45 minutes tops.

1  Thank johnshelleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTDiamondMuseum, Manager at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear johnshelleyb, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to host you at the Cape Town Diamond Museum on a Diamond Experience Tour. We trust you gained valuable insight into the world of diamonds and learning about the history of diamonds in South Africa.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Fantastic tour with Heidi and another lady really impressive showroom with no pressure to purchase though I was bought a dancing tanzanite wishbone pendant which is absolutely beautiful

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank j0yj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTDiamondMuseum, Manager at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear j0yj57, thank you for your recent visit to the Cape Town Diamond Musuem. We are very pleased to hear Heidi made your experience an unforgettable one and that they were able to assist you in finding the perfect jewellery piece.

We trust you will enjoy wearing your Tanzanite pendant for many years to come.

Kind regards The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We visited the museum during a rainy day although we had to make an appointment and call back later the staff are extremely nice and the museum is interesting seeing all about the diamonds and how they are made unfortunately due to the late hour we did not see any of the work being done. The showroom at the end is designed to try and sell you something ,which I didn't mind being an x salesman I love to do deals .We did buy a beautiful tanzanite necklace at a very good price after some stiff negotiations!! All in all a most enjoyable couple of hours would recommend to anyone visiting Cape Town

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank ianrK1230YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTDiamondMuseum, Manager at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear ianrK1230YJ, thank you for sharing your experience and for visiting the Cape Town Diamond Museum. We're delighted that you found the diamond tour informative and it certainly was our pleasure to host you on the tour. Congratulations on your tanzanite purchase, we hope it brings you many years of joy.

We hope to welcome you back to the Museum in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This is a great activity if you have a rainy day or even on a warm one! This is located right by the waterfront and can be made into a fairly quick stop. Its free to enter and from the moment you walk up, the ladies have AMAZING customer service and are so sweet. They had a small show case you can view while waiting to enter. Im not sure if it was just a quiet day or if they run tours pretty privately. It was just us as a couple walking through the exhibits. We learned so much in the 45 minutes we spent there. Everything from basic diamond facts to the specific associated with South African diamond history. The entire experience was fascinating, insightful and obviously beautiful! They have replicas of famous diamonds, and you can watch their team polishing and shaping stones. It ends in a shop where they offer you any drinks you would like and you can look at their collection. Its interesting to see the Shimansky cut and we never felt pressured to buy anything. I would recommend this as a fun activity that can be done quickly if you are on the VA Waterfront!

Thank Braden L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTDiamondMuseum, Manager at Cape Town Diamond Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Braden L, thank you for your review and for visiting The Cape Town Diamond Museum. It certainly was our pleasure to share our passion and knowledge on the world of diamonds with you and we are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the Diamond Experience.
We are very happy to hear the ladies gave you an unforgettable experience and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
The Cape Town Diamond Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Town Diamond Museum also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Diamond Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing