We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Very Best Place to stay in Cape Town!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Pembroke 403

Overlooking the Marina with Luxury Yachts, Seals & Seabirds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overlooking the Marina with Luxury Yachts, Seals & Seabirds
Lounge Area Beautiful Horses lead to TV Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Overlooking the Marina with Luxury Yachts, Seals & Seabirds
Lounge Area
Beautiful Horses lead to TV Room
Corner of calm opulence in Marina Bedroom
Robin Manns Tulips
A Corner to Relax
Relax with a glass of bubbles while you plan dinner
Wonderful space to cook
TV room converts to twin bedroom
Luxury for the night in Marina Bedroom Suite
Bee-Eaters fly from Wall to Dining Table
Elephants & Orchid
Bang & Olufsen in Lounge
Evening Light
Reflections on Table Mountain Bedroom
No penance to sleep here either
Marina Bedroom exudes Space, Style & Luxury
Lovely Little Details
Designer Kenneth Cobonpue Dragnet Chair is so comfy & looks amazing
Marina & Harbour View from Balcony at Dusk
And Table Mountain balcony for evening sun
Wow! How's that for a balcony?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cape Town Central, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
holidaygi...
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The Very Best Place to stay in Cape Town!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Pembroke 403 and it really is the very best place to stay, for many reasons. The location is just perfect. The apartment is right beside the One and Only Hotel and looks across at the Cape Grace. Yet it has better views than either hotel, as it has two large balconies, one facing the waterfront and the other Table Mountain. Sun all day if you want it, or shade too if that’s what you prefer. Both balconies have tables for 6 and sun loungers for lazy afternoons. It’s five to seven minutes walk from the centre of the Waterfront and about three minutes walk from the new Water Shed which showcases some of the best art and design of South Africa. The Quarter Deck Gym and pool is about 100 metres from the apartment. It has state of the art equipment. Where else could you exercise while looking out at such beautiful views ? It has underground car parking and is extremely safe. Without doubt, this is the very best location!

The apartment is very spacious. The lovely photographs on the website don’t show how large this apartment is. It is also very luxurious with beautiful art and the very best of furnishings, Linens from Italy, lots of white fluffy towels, the most comfortable beds and two large baths, 3 Bang and Olufsen televisions! The kitchen is amazing. Every utensil you could possibly imagine is available, from the Nespresso machine to juicers, four slice toasters, beautiful glassware…… I could go on and on…. Fibee takes care of the apartment and she is just wonderful. She is so proud of her work and everything in the apartment is maintained to the highest standard. The apartment was absolutely spotless. Other services such as in house catering etc. are all available at the end of the phone, or can be organised in advance. Ozzie who manages the apartment now was always at the end of the phone and he could not have been more helpful.

Eilis and Seamus, the apartment owners are just so helpful. They take real interest in your visit and your needs. They have guided us towards the best places to eat, visit and are experts in the wine lands and indeed in the very best wines ( which are available in the apartment too ).

Staying in Pembroke 403 made our visit to Cape Town relaxing, rewarding and very special. We can’t wait to go back. Many thanks to Eilis, Seamus, Fibee, Ozzie and all of the team.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment was beautifully maintained
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you so much Colette for such a wonderful and carefully written review.

It was a real pleasure to have you and Pat back to Pembroke 403 and you clearly enjoyed it very much.

You really seem to have captured all of the elements that we so love ourselves and that give us great pleasure to share with our discerning guests.

We are very proud of our team on the ground here and are delighted that Fibby, trained so well by Mirriam, now looks after Pembroke 403 on a fully exclusive basis with the ever smiling Ozzie heading up our guest relations team.

You put a lot of hard work into planning your trip and it really paid off for you.

What more can I say - you have said it all and were our dream guests.

We will be delighted to welcome you back to Pembroke in the not too distant future.

With warm regards

Eilis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamly
Berrynarbor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great apartment in stunning location, sadly let down by management company.”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We are genuinely sorry to have to spoil the run of 5 stars you have had, but on this occasion we feel you have been badly let down by your management company in CT. The flat ticked all the boxes for us, the location, the B&O sound systems, the general attention to detail (although sadly the lighting system was a little beyond our comprehension!)
We rented via Capsol and the check in procedure was fine, as the location was so special the next thing we wanted to do was have a drink overlooking the marina, the balconies were the primary reason we booked it. Unfortunately the next thing I had to do was clean it all down as the chairs were really dirty as was the table. Throughout the rest of the day we found problems such as the balcony lights were not working, the muslin curtains pulley system in the main bedroom was broken and the furniture on the back balcony was also very dirty. We phoned the management company the next day, the contact we had been given was off sick (it happens) , we were promised someone would phone us back. We are still waiting, we emailed too. Although we left a note for the maids, the back balcony was never cleaned.
There were many good things about the apartment, the beds were so comfortable, plenty of towels etc.No bathrobes were to be found though as mentioned in your description, but that was not really an issue.
We would not rule out a return visit, but we do expect things to have been done a little better. We were unlucky on this occasion.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2015
Greetings Jeremy

Thank you for your comments and for drawing my attention to problems during your stay at Pembroke 403. I am upset and absolutely appalled by what you have said about the balcony furniture not being clean and fully fit for purpose. I am also not at all happy that your complaints were not addressed immediately and, it seems, not at all. I will be taking this up with our agents in the morning.

I do not know why you didn't have bathrobes as there is a supply there.

As it happens, starting tomorrow, we have ourselves taken on a full time maid whose only responsibility will be Pembroke 403.

I am glad that you enjoyed other aspects of Pembroke 403 - the location speaks for itself and we have worked hard to create and maintain a very high standard in every respect - hence our huge disappointment right now.

I would really like to follow up further with you on this. I do not have your contact details as the booking came through an agency but I will try to get them tomorrow. Alternatively, you might like to email your details to info@pembroke403.com or sms to +353 87 2586016.

We would very much like to be able to welcome you back to Pembroke 403.

Meanwhile, Séamus & I really appreciate that you have brought these matters to our attention as otherwise, we have no way of knowing about problems like this from where we live in Ireland.

Enjoy the rest of your holiday if you are not flying home directly. If you are, safe travel.

Kind regards

Éilís
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJ-NM
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous condo! Great location.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Three of us stayed here for 4 nights; it was one of the best rental finds ever! Large, beautiful, convenient location, great applicances; two balconies with very nice views. Two suites so nice for two couples. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very nice amenities and great location
Liked least: would stay longer next time!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thank you Sheri for your great review.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and all that Pembroke 403 offered to you.

We constantly strive for ultimate perfection & it is so nice to get such positive feedback.

Hopefully we might even see you again on another trip.

Eilis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeJacko
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Pembroke for 3 nights in April. Eilis went out of her way to help us organise our trip from making the bookings for airport transfers and day trips to general advice about our itinerary; all from Ireland.

The apartment itself is superb, spacious, luxurious, with great views and such a handy location walking distance to all the eateries and entertainment at the V&A Waterfront. It was so handy that we didn't even use the impressive kitchen in the unit.

At the end of our trip, my wife and the kids headed back to Aus while I moved to the Westin for a conference. As good as the Westin is, I was wishing I'd stayed at Pembroke and walked to the conference each day.

In a lovely city like Cape Town there are some spectacular sights and great accommodation options, but I doubt we could have been happier than we were at Pembroke 403.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2014
Hi Michael

Thank you for your lovely comments.
Im so glad you all enjoyed everything at Pembroke 403. Even for ourselves when we get a chance to be there, it is a really special place in such a prefect location.
You were a pleasure to deal with from the outset and it was a privilege to be able to help you have a great trip to Cape Town.

Hopefully, you will manage to get back to Cape Town in the not too distant future as your time there as a family was quite short and there is just so much to see and do. Or maybe ye might even get to Ireland sometime where there is also so much to see and do!

With warm wishes

Eilis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jan 2014
Thank you Sthombe for your kind remarks and so glad you all enjoyed your stay.

I'm glad you mentioned the books. We, especially my husband Séamus, are great book collectors of all sorts and we like to have these available for our guests. It's nice when on holiday to have some special interest books on the area to peruse. We also like the idea of having novels that can be swapped - easier than bringing a full bag of books too and fro by air.

Also nice that you found the range of TVs to be useful and it means children can watch what they want either on TV or DVD while leaving the adults in peace to watch something else. Or maybe one wants to watch sport and another a movie...

We ourselves love to sit on the Marina balcony and watch those slothful seals lazing about below while the young ones can be very playful in the water.

There is just so much to see and do from just doing nothing and relaxing to many types of activity in the immediate vicinity.

I'm so sorry we don't have availability for the Jazz Festival this year but hope to be able to welcome you back to Pembroke 403 in the not too distant future.

All the best for 2014.

Éilís
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing