We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and vibe”

Rick's Cafe Americain
Ranked #62 of 1,299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 12
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Description: Walking into Rick's Cafe has the same feeling as walking into a friend's home for dinner. The ambiance is comfortable to say the least with decor reminiscent of the movie classic "Casablanca" with its stylish colonial Moroccan tones accompanied by lounge music filtering through the 100 year old Victorian building,Immerse yourself in warm ambiance and eclectic decor in our 80 seater restaurant with its 3 fireplaces and bar, or enjoy the relaxed, vibey loft lounge and cocktail bar spilling out onto a roof deck with breathtaking views of the mountains.Our award winning selection of wines is sure to suit all tastes and features a wide selection by the carafe, we also offer a wide variety of local and imported Beers (now over 40!), Mexican and local Tequilas, Vodkas,Single Malts, Bourbons and Liquors. The menu presents a seasonal selection of Global tapas and a wide variety of dishesranging from mouth watering salads, Gourmet burgers, fresh seafood, matured Steaks and Moroccan and Mediterranean specialties - "we serve Comfort food" So come relax and enjoy yourself with either lunching on the veranda, sipping sundownerson the roof deck or enjoy a delicious meal inside this historical cottage, and we will guarantee you'll want to "play it again" We all look for that place to recommend as being "my favourite place", well in this case you might just have found it."So... Here is looking at you kid."
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

An excellent meal. We had lamb and chicken tagines which were very tasty and full of vegetables and tender meat. Others had salads which they enjoyed. The portions were very generous and delicious. A very buzzy restaurant with great service

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Jondarand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Jondarand
Thank you for choosing our Restaurant, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Rick’s Cafe. We try very hard to provide a truly unique Casablanca/North African dining experience to our guests, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. Your comments about the service and the lunch special will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again at Rick’s Cafe in the near future.
Per & Rick's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

We had some late night beers and food at Rick's Café in Cape Town Central. We have tried the Rick's Café whilst we were in Casablanca, and the Moroccan food here was rather fresh, tasty with natural Moroccan flavours. For me the highlight were the fantastic beers, which were of the highest quality. I just couldn't get enough of the superb beers and probably had too much as I was a bit drunk for my liking or rather my wife's and daughter's liking, who by the way had some great non-alcoholic drinks. I got a bit of a telling off by the dear wife but you only live once so sometimes it's not a problem. This was a great drinking great beers experience for me, while the wife and daughter thoroughly enjoyed their food and non-alcoholic drinks.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 811michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear 811machael
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this rather light-hearted review on TripAdvisor.
I will share your great review with the service as well with the kitchen staff.
Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you soon again.
kind regards
Per & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We came across Rick’s when walking from our hotel and looking for something to eat. What a great find!

The ambience was exactly what we were looking for, the selection of drinks outstanding (the Duchess non-alcoholic gin and tonic was particularly appreciated by my non-drinking wife) while the service and food could not be faulted. As an added bonus it very good value for money.

I enjoyed a burger while my wife thought the butternut squash and halloumi salad was one of the best things she has eaten all holiday.

We only have a few days left in Cape Town, but will certainly be calling in again.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Graham
Thank you for choosing our Restaurant, and for taking the time to write this great review!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Rick’s Cafe.
We try very hard to provide a truly unique Casablanca dining experience to our guests, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.
kind regards Per & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We were seated upstairs on the open smoking balcony and was pleasantly surprise that the smoke did not disturb us.
The menu is wide and varied with some interesting options.
We were a table of 9 so expected some delay but we waited over 30min for our 1st drinks order. Our Waiter just didn’t seem committed to speeding up the service and just kept telling us to relax.
Food was finally served and tasted great with big portions.
By the end of the evening we counted up our bill and double checked and even added on some more tip for the waiter who didn’t actually deserve it.
On our way out in the street in front of other customers we got shouted down by another waiter claiming we paid short on the bill!
We made him count it out in front of all and was quick to apologize when realizing we paid the bill and more than the 10% tip. Very embarrassing for us all and just left a ugly taste. So sorry won’t be back and all thanks to that 1 waiter.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank elmarieg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Elmarie
Thank you for taking the time writing to Trip adviser. We appreciate constructive criticism from our customers as it helps us to improve the “Rick’s” experience for everybody. We are very happy that you and your party enjoyed the food and drinks.
But I was rather shocked to hear about your disappointing service experience and have to apologize for it.
We pride ourselves of our good service and continuous good food standards but your experience at my restaurant was apparently more like “faulty Towers” then a real Rick’s Café Experience.
The waiters behavior and sloppiness (relax) while serving you is unacceptable. We have already disciplined the waiter in question and we are putting extra focus on the mentioned shortcomings during our weekly training sessions.
The waiter was himself extremely embarrassed about the whole situation as another waiter apparently took the cash from your table and told him that it was short paid, he than without checking the cash did run after you.. just to find out that he made a fool out of himself. Please accept our apology and visit us soon again to experience the real Rick's Cafe.
kind regards
Per & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

A large group of us had dinner here last week and were very happy! The service was a bit slow but the waiter was very friendly. Several of us had tajines and they were all very tasty. The margaritas were not very good and tasted very watered down. We will definitely return!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ducktrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear ducktrio
Thank you for taking the time writing to Trip adviser. It makes us very happy that you enjoyed the Food and the ambiance at Rick’s.
We always appreciate constructive criticism from our customers as it helps us to improve the “Rick’s” experience for everybody.

Let me apologize for the Margaritas, we actually well known for our pure Margaritas made without any syrups and only with fresh squeezed lemon juice, Orange liqueur (triple Sec) and a double tot of El Jimador Reposado Tequila as it should be made.

We pride ourselves of our continuous good cocktail and food standards. We don’t often get complaints and when we get one, we react immediately to make sure any shortcomings are rectified to the total satisfaction of our customers. Unfortunately, you did not mention it to your waiter nor the manager as we would have exchanged your "faulty" Margaritas immediately.

I hope we can welcome you soon again and that you have the chance to try our Margaritas again, I can promise you that you will be not disappointed.
With friendly greetings Per & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick's Cafe Americain also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Rick's Cafe Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing