We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ambience is great but food is not so”

Bukhara CBD Cape Town
Ranked #200 of 1,245 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: USD 10 - USD 80
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Had a chance to eat lunch here.

The ambience was just great. But the food is very average.

Not like a proper Indian food. If you have to have indian and you are in CBD then go for it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ramhkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 April 2018

Hi there Ramhkg,

Thank you for taking the time to send your constructive feedback. We do appreciate it.

If you would like to discuss this further. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com with a copy of your review.

Kind regards,
Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

If you like to have an authentic indian dinner, the Bukhara is the place to be. We visit this restaurant since 20 years (!) and it is everytime great to have dinner there. Great food and nice people !

Thank Tom12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 March 2018

Dear Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and your continious support of our Bukhara Cape Town. At Bukhara we strive for excellence in Indian cuisine, we are delighted you experience just that.

We look forward to having you dine with us again, soon.

Kind regards,
Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We didn’t go to the one in central Cape Town but the one at the Grand West Casino complex.

It’s typical of most Indian restaurants these days that everything is extra.

The setting and decor is lovely inside and you wouldn’t know you were in a mall type area.

Service got better after we asked our waitress to keep an eye on her tables.

Food was very good but quite pricey compared to similar places around town. Portions are average size. You get 200gm of meat for example at R199 plus you buy rice, poppadums, nan or roti breads as extras which all adds up to around R250+ per person before you add anything to drink. They have no explanation of dishes on the menu as to ingredients or strength of hot. I suppose one could ask but I prefer basic ingredients to be on the menu.

We enjoyed the food but would not be in a hurry to go back and spend R250+ each on a plate of food for a casual lunch out. Maybe for a special dinner.

Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 March 2018

Hi there Marion,

Thank you for taking the time to send your constructive feedback. We do appreciate it.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Kind regards,
Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Excellent venue for that special occasion. Top quality service, food, wine and ambiance. a must be at restaurant no to be missed.

Thank FrankFredericks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 March 2018

Dear FrankFredericks,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. At Bukhara we strive for excellence in Indian cuisine, we are delighted you experienced just that.

We look forward to having you dine with us again, soon.

Kind regards,
Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

I am not a big fan of indian food and Bukhara did not change my mind! But i had twice dinner during my 2-days stop in Cape Town.
I have particularly been impressed from Julien, the best waiter ever! He suggested me on food and wine, meeting successfully my taste. Very friendly and funny, he made the stay at Bukhara very pleasant..
I would go back there any time!

Thank Simona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bukhara CBD Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bukhara CBD Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing