We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveller rating
906
121
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
121
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbo kaapboutique hotelopen showercolorful housescall to prayerno elevatorlong streetsavoy cabbagestay in cape townlovely boutiquegreat hostsour room was spaciousbreakfast was delicioussignal hillwalking distancesouth africafantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We had the pleasure of staying at Rouge on Rose for 5 nights during our stay in Cape Town, and I am so glad we did! The rooms are large, each with a sitting area with couch and two comfy chairs. Our room also had a stove, small fridge, sink and coffee maker, along with all the things you would need to make something if you didn't want to go out to eat. The sleeping area has a comfortable bed with the nicest linens! After 12 days "glamping" on Safari, sleeping in a quiet room, with no bugs, and no wild animals making noise near by, this bed was absolute heaven! And did I mention the breakfast?

Rouge on Rose has a small breakfast room that serves the most amazing breakfasts. There is a menu with a selection of options; over the time we were there, we tried almost everything on the menu, and enjoyed every bite! The best thing was the oven baked omlet, with goat cheese in the center and crispy bacon criss crossed on top, served with what I think was home made bread (we woke each morning to the smell of bread baking, which is how I came to this conclusion!). They also offer an egg breakfast, wonderful french toast, a healthy breakfast with yogurt, fruit and muesli, and more. One morning I was trying to be simple and healthy and asked for the egg breakfast with some changes, and they were more than willing to accomodate me.

Ursula and Michel, who own Rouge, are as welcoming as family! I had corresponded with Ursula via email with lots of questions so by the time we actually made it to Cape Town I felt I had known her forever!

Rouge is located walking distance from lots of great restaurants and a lot of the tourist attractions. We walked just about everywhere during the day, and for those places you can't walk to, Uber and taxi's are readily available. Rouge is located in the Bo Kaap neighborhood, an ethnic neighborhood known for its colorful homes (and they are definitely bright and colorful!).

Some day I'll go back to Cape Town and stay again a my home away from home...Rouge on Rose!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dragonflydebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel B, Owner at Rouge on Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Wow Debbi...thank you for that comprehensive review.....we are so glad that you enjoyed all the little quirky things we have to offer....and most definately do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Rouge on Rose is a beautiful boutique hotel that was a perfect home-base for us in Cape Town. Friends had advised staying by the Waterfront, but we opted for Bo Kaap and choosing Rouge on Rose was the best decision we made. The rooms are all small apartments and very comfortable, super-clean, offers great breakfasts, and the location is perfect. We loved that it's family-run; even the housekeeper is the family's former nanny! Ursula was on-site all the time and provided us with some fantastic ideas of activities and restaurants.

A few tips: Ursula recommended we eat dinner at Marco's African Place next door, and we loved it. Stay on after the tourists leave and the locals begin to let loose! Also, the nearby Mainstreetwalks are fantastic, and it's a short uber drive to the base of Table Mountain.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jae1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougeonRose, Manager at Rouge on Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Soooo glad that you opted for the Bo-Kaap for your stay in Cape Town....it is a truly authentic experience with all the colourful houses.
We are also blessed with having some of the best restaurants within a block of ROR.....they cater for everyone's needs.

With kind wishes

U

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We startet our journey in South Africa in Cape Town in the Hotel Rouge on Rose. They have nice rooms, delicious breakfast and nice Stuff. If you're new in town, ask the Management of the Hotel, they are proposing you the best possibly trip in town, taking care of what you want to see and what wheater, traffic or other possible conditions allow. I highly recommand this Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougeonRose, Owner at Rouge on Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you Tom....glad you found our hotel to your satisfaction....it was a pleasure helping you put all your 'to do' list together....

With kind wishes

Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Located in the colorful Bo-Kaap district of Cape Town, away from the tourist traps, yet at walking distance from the city centre and Waterfront area, one can find a gem called Rouge on Rose. Ursula, Michel and their amazing staff make sure that you feel at home right from the very first moment you enter this wonderful boutique hotel. Spacious rooms, an excellent breakfast, which is always served with a smile, as well as answers and advise to any question make sure that your stay is one to be remembered for a long long time.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mustajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougeonRose, Manager at Rouge on Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you soooooooo much for that wonderful review....we are so happy that you found everything special.

With kind wishes


Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed with Ursula and Michel for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Located in the Bo-Kaap District the small hotel with large rooms is central to everything. Both Ursula and Michel (son) were the ultimate hosts. They provided tips on booking tours, where to visit and a booked us a private tour of the Cape with Madeep that exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was excellent every morning.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel B, Owner at Rouge on Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hi there Edward and Tracy......it was such a pleasure welcoming you here....so glad that you had a great time in Cape Town.

With kind wishes

Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews