We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Villa Belle Ombre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Belle Ombre
Ranked #41 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2015

I have very mixed feelings about my stay at Villa Belle Ombre.

On the positive side. I probably had one of the best sleeps I've had in a hotel and guesthouse in a very long time. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room had ample space. Secure off street parking was available. Great location.

On the negative side. No coffee making facility in the room. No television in the room which is very disappointing for a guesthouse. The first morning there was no hot breakfast and the owners weren't there. I was attended to by a young man who showed me into the breakfast room and disappeared. No information sheets in the room and I had to eventually ask another guest if they knew what the wifi code was as there was no staff around. The safe in my bedroom cupboard wasn't screwed to the wall so I couldn't leave anything in it as somebody could just walk away with the safe.

Room Tip: Book one of the outside rooms by the pool and not those inside the house itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2015

We stayed in the biggest room in Villa Ombre and we loved the big room with a nice king size bed and a small terrace outside. Breakfast was nice and we could sit outside, it's calmer than having breakfast inside around the big table with other guests. We used the laundry service and we had the clesn laundry back the same day. Marco was nice and helpful and so was Damien. We used the pick up service from the airport which was convinient and paied 400 rand for it but on the way back we took a cab and paid 225 rand. Marco helped us booking a nice restaurant for our arrival night night, the black sheep, and it was a very good restaurant. The guest house is situated in a nice area and I would like to come back again. I recommend to use earplugs if you are a light sleeper and want to sleep in the morning because since the rooms are on the same floor as the kitchen and breakfast room it can be s bit noisy.

Room Tip: Have a look at the rooms and choose the big one if you want a lot of space and a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna65Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

I was expecting more from this establishment but found that it delivered below average. The only great thing about it is its central location in Tamboerskloof. The old house is very beautiful but the interior decor does not match.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting for location and sight seeing however we did book through booking.com and asked for 2 rooms and one of the rooms for 2 adults and a 10 year old child . When arriving the owner/manager had forgotten about the child and said we could have a different room for 2 of the days and then move back to a normal double room . He made no attempt to add a bed in the room for the child . Breakfast was ok . Have stayed in friendlier place .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Henley66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Marco and Vincent couldn't have been better hosts. From the most incredible breakfast to helpful tips, and activity planning our stay in CT was wonderful. The B&B is well located and an oasis where we could come back from our busy day and relax. Such a nice addition to our vacation that left us with the desire to return. Close to the center of town and easily accessible to all the activities, Villa Belle Ombre is a perfect vacation property. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandGem417sherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
509 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Bianca
Villa Bianca
#44 of 156 in Cape Town Central
55 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#47 of 156 in Cape Town Central
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#51 of 156 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
Wilton Manor Guest House
#40 of 156 in Cape Town Central
283 reviews
City Bowl
Radium Hall Guest House
Radium Hall Guest House
#59 of 156 in Cape Town Central
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Belle Ombre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Belle Ombre

Address: 16 Belle Ombre Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: AU$145 - AU$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Belle Ombre 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Belle Ombre is an old Victorian house (build in 1872!) Located in Tamboerskloof , within walking distance of the centre of Cape Town. The house has been meticulously renovated and has a warm and cosy ambiance, combined with modern comfort. There is a new building just beside including a flat perfect for families and the new bedroom 6. The villa has 5 bedrooms (all en suite), with comfortable new beds, a living room, a TV room to relax in and a dining room for breakfast. You can also relax , have breakfast, or enjoy a glass of excellent South African wine in our calm and charming garden, or around the swimming pool. La Villa Belle Ombre offers the charm of the tradition combined with modern comfort : Wi-Fi ADSL connection Secure parking is available. Advices and help to discover our lovely Cape Town. Swimming pool. You are welcome home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Belle Ombre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belle Ombre Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing