We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingslyn Boutique Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
USD 230*
USD 214*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
USD 170*
USD 144*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
USD 158*
USD 154*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
USD 852*
USD 774*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
USD 165*
USD 151*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
USD 123*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
USD 240*
USD 135*
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
USD 240*
USD 228*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
USD 179*
USD 174*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
USD 350*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
187
49
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
49
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsun roomb bguest houseexcellent bedgreen point parknice staymini fridgeprivate parkingwelcome drinkbreakfast was deliciousrooms are spaciouspersonal attentionshort staywalking distancehonesty barfelt like home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2015

This was our first trip to Cape Town and it won't be the last!
We can highly recommend the Kingslyn Guesthouse.
Our room was very spacious and clean and we liked the tea and coffee making facilities in the morning very much.
Breakfast left no wishes open.
There are restaurants and bars quite close, where you feel safe to go alone after dark.
You can also walk to the Waterfront; but it takes about 15 to 20 minutes.
Birgit was helpful in any way and always had several suggestions for spending the limited time we had in Cape Town.
The trip around the Cape Peninsula was gorgeous! Normally we drive around on our own to be able to stop and do whatever we want to. This time however we didn't want to take a car and so Birgit drove us around.
This trip could not have been better! Birgit knows all the interesting spots and shared her knowledge about country, people and nature with us. The offered airport transfer we liked a lot as it was stress-free for us and we learned quite a few things about the city because Birgit pointed out the important areas or buildings during the drive and told us a lot of facts about Cape Town.
We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SchwabenRasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Absolutely wonderful stay at the Kingslyn! Stayed for 5 nights the first week of August with 5 others. As soon as we walked in we were welcomed by Rati who made us feel right at home. She took us right to our room and explained everything to us. She also makes an amazing breakfast every morning with a made-to-order omelet, yogurt, cereal, cheeses, an assortment of bread, and fruit. The rooms were beautiful, inviting, and very clean! In addition, the area was very safe and the guesthouse is gated.

They were also very accommodating when it came to setting up excursions for our group. Khalid was an awesome tour guide as he took us around the peninsula and on the wine tour. I highly recommend booking these two excursions through the guesthouse and their partner Atlantic Backpackers. It was worth every penny.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Cape Town, look no further! I highly recommend booking a stay at the Kinsglyn.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James_Conlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Kingslyn is a great B&B in central Cape Town. Please note that a car is advised as it's not exactly walking distance to your main sights like the V&A Waterfront or Long Street.

I love the architecture of the house and the fact that so much thought has gone into the decorations. They’ve also got a lovely sitting room with plenty of books and information about Cape Town, as well as a nice courtyard out in the front which is perfect for having a beer from their fridge. (You just take whatever you want, write it down and pay at check-out)

The room was absolutely perfect; quiet and spacious, with a great bed and good bathroom. I think the rate you pay to stay at Kingslyn is perfectly reasonable and I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zebracat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We would have given a better rating had it not been for our last night (a Sunday) that was spoilt by fellow visitors making such a noise after 23h00 that we had to report it to the booking agency. We also reported to manager who explained that six backpackers occupied two first floor rooms above our ground floor room. With all due respect, backpackers do not seem to belong in a four star establishment. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PJduP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

The location is great. Its very well maintained.

My only suggestion to the management is that they should invest in proper stable internet. Internet connection never stayed on for more than a few minutes. It almost always disconnected.

Typical usage: sending emails.

BREAKFAST: excellent one.

Menu: coffee / tea, fresh juices, cold water, Healthy multi grain toast or white bread, muesli, cornflakes, fresh cut fruit, Home made jams, honey, flavoured yoghurt. Omelet of choice.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tammireddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews