We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
USD 182*
USD 149*
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
USD 343*
USD 256*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
USD 151*
USD 117*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
USD 246*
USD 234*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
USD 173*
USD 154*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
USD 973*
USD 670*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
USD 244*
USD 136*
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
USD 134*
USD 122*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
USD 864*
USD 771*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 204*
USD 115*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveller rating
240
477
133
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
477
133
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetpedestrian mallhi expressst georges mallcentral locationper daybudget hotelgreen market squaregreenmarket squarecompany gardenswalking distancestayed at this hotel for nightsreception staffdouble bednight lifethe breakfast areatable mountain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 879 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town

The positives for this hotel far out way the negatives and it would be a hotel we shall visit again.

On the plus side is the location, right in the middle of downtown. I had, at first, worried that this would make the place noisy and disruptive of a decent nights sleep, but I had no need to be concerned. Our room faced the main street which is now mostly a pedestrianised walkway. The only vehicles are those entering and exiting the hotel and the occasional service vehicle. The street itself is transformed into a market place through the day selling tourist type goods and souvenirs. This market is taken down every afternoon at about five o'clock and the street then becomes a very pleasant promenade.

There are many different types of restaurant within a five minute stroll of the hotel and particularly in the square some 120 metres from the hotel. There was plenty of diverse street entertainment from dancing to singing to enjoy as well as reasonable food and a variety of shops and street market stalls. We ate mostly during the early evening and felt very safe in this area. Security personel were obvious to see on most streets in the area.

As the hotel is situated in a pedestrianised zone it is not too easy to find if you are approaching by car, even with the aid of GPS. However, a quick enquiry from a helpful passer-by soon had us back on track. First impressions always count highly when entering a hotel and the helpful doorman soon took care of the car and our luggage.

Reception is on the first floor in a light and spacious area. The hotel was very busy when we arrived taking in guest for the annual cycle race round the peninsular. We were processed efficiently and allocated our room with the minimum of time delay.

This is where we came upon the first, and really, only major concern with this hotel. The room we had been allocated was on the 7th floor and although a little on the small side was quite adequate, after all this is a Holiday Inn Express not an Intercontinental. We started to settle into the room when we were disturbed by what sounded like someone dragging heavy furniture across the floor of the room above. The noise went away after a minute and we relaxed. No sooner had we thought that this was a one off when this peculiar sound started again. I went straight to reception who immediately changed our room. The second room was no better but at least we found the source of the noise which was coming from the elevator shaft. One of the elevators needed a service as the pulley equipment was very noisy when it moved. Eventually the hotel transferred us to a room as far away from the elevator shaft as possible and the noise became much more subdued and bearable. My recommendation therefore would be to ask for a room on the front of the hotel as far away from the elevator shaft as possible.

Our room was not huge but quite adequate. All the usual facilities were present and all worked well. Plenty of space for suitcases and the usual trappings of travel. The dining area, on the 2nd floor, was open all day and served breakfast (included in the room rate) and dinner should you wish plus drinks from the bar area. There was a balcony attached to the dining area which overlooked the street market and was most enjoyable. The only downside to this was it was an area smokers used which we found not to our liking.

The hotel staff, though very pressed for time as the hotel was full, we're all helpful and we found that a smile and a sympathetic nod went a long way in illiciting a good level of service.
One other niggle was the cost of the wi fi connection. We did find on our travels round South Africa that, in general, wi fi quality was poor and intermittent with a very slow speed and a large cost attached. I still fail to realise why the Holiday Inn Group (and a lot of other hotel chains for that matter) want to charge for a service that is now an essential part of everyday life, both for the business community and the leisure traveller What happened to the good old days of added value?

All in all our three day stay was a reasonable experience and at a lower cost than most of the nearby hotels. We felt safe and comfortable here and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel well away from the elevators
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gallimaufry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. I realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and I sincerely appreciate your business.

I am always very happy when a guest comments about the wonderful service they have received from my staff. I will ensure the entire hotel staff knows what a great job they have done and will also ensure they are recognized for their efforts.

Thank you again for your kind words. I hope to have you as a guest in my hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Friendly prompt reception.

Room was adequate and very clean. I like the blue bathroom light which can be left on at night to aid navigation.

There is the usual HIEx 30Mb free internet allowance, adequate but not generous.

Breakfast was okay but can get a bit crowded at peak times. The solitary coffee machine generates quite a queue.

The hotels location feels relatively (for SA) safe and there are several restaurants and many shops within walking distance.

The staff generally are more friendly and efficient than at the other HIEx's I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Good day

I want to thank you for the kind words you said about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. Your thoughts are important to us, but we're especially pleased when the feedback is positive. I'll be sure to share it with my whole team.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel is located in the center of town only a block away from Long Street which is nice. If one was to stay in the center of town this is a great location.

The staff was super helpful on all points. They helped with excursion planning and reservations. They definitely made an average visit to above average.

Overall, the hotel was a bit pricey but that may just be Cape Town. A tip - the staff pointed us to a place a km down the road to do laundry much cheaper, by the kg.

We were disappointed at the internet situation where you get something like 50MB per day. For what the hotel costs its should be free.

Overall, a good stay and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Grateful thanks for your very positive review of our hotel during your recent stay.

Location and the proximity to many convenient shopping and tourist related opportunities is what our guests find most appealing about our hotel.

Thank you also for the great compliment about our team and facilities.
We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Hotel extremely well situated in Cape Town (non business trip). Staff very helpful. Room was good other than bed size - trust that beds are not 140 cms but 110 cms instead.... Some noise from the street (was in 601) - better get a room on the other side as I believe these may be much quieter. The best HI Express breakfast buffet ever - combines hot and cold food very far awy from the coffe- bread-cereals you may still get at some other Holiday inn Express places today, buffet being constantly replenished. Restaurant layout a bit odd as there are no apparent paths to the buffet leading to guests navigating their way randomly .

Had a small problem with my car that was scratched by Valet Parking (I was told upfront). Hotel management backed off and told me I had to deal with valet parking company directly. When discussing with hotel's manager 2 days later she then realised that I was not asked to sign the form stating respective roles and responsibilities when checking my car in. Still managed to find a decent agreement after long talks although I would have welcomed a little help from the hotel! Also told Manager that they should get information modified on the ICHG web site as current info on Valet parking is very misleading.

Would definitely welcome another stay sthere - but this time with a larger bed opposite to the 601 side.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephDGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. Our location is superb for the international traveller who does not require their own transport as the access to shops, stalls, restaurants and bars are close to the hotel.

Being in a major international city, there is regretably some minor traffic noise at peak times, however rooms on the opposite side of the hotel, do afford a quieter experience. We have two bed options available for guests, rooms with one double bed in the room or rooms with two 3/4 beds. Our guests often opt for the two 3/4 beds as their preferred bed configuration.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our team, who will always ensure guest comfort and satisfaction during their stay.

Please accept my apologies again for the incident of the damage to your car by the outsourced Parking Assist company, we have taken the necesssary steps to prevent a recurrence of this lapse in service. Thank you very much for your feedback and suggestions regarding this service provider.

We look forward to being of service to you, when next in Cape Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews