We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, amazing breakfast, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value, amazing breakfast, friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights to explore the city. I had done extensive searching on Trip Advisor to get a good, safe affordable hotel in Cape Town, and I feel that we made a good choice. Airport pickup was easily arranged through the hotel by email, which eased my concerns a lot. The day of departure we were able to leave our bags in a locked room in the lobby until we were ready to pick them up. The location is centrally located. The rooms are very modern and uniquely decorated, and very comfortable and clean.
And the breakfast included every morning....WOW. Best breakfast I have ever had at a hotel. It was simply amazing. I could have spent all day eating breakfast there. Croissants, yogurt, ,cheese, eggs, fruits, coffee...
Staff was friendly and helpful to us when we had questions about the area.
It was a reasonably priced stay, but more expensive than budget, I would say it was worth the money. I also stayed at another hotel just about a mile away that was the same price that was older and not as nice, so I'd definitely recommend the Holiday Inn over any older ones. Would definitely stay again!!
The location is good, just be careful walking around the city at night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniglobetrekkergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Your comments about our hotel are much appreciated and we thank you for the positive remarks regarding our location and facilities offered.

I was pleased to learn of the compliments regarding our Food and Beverage offering and that you found your stay to be comfortable.
We hope to see you in our hotel upon your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    416
    114
    23
    3
See reviews for
94
288
89
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town

The positives for this hotel far out way the negatives and it would be a hotel we shall visit again.

On the plus side is the location, right in the middle of downtown. I had, at first, worried that this would make the place noisy and disruptive of a decent nights sleep, but I had no need to be concerned. Our room faced the main street which is now mostly a pedestrianised walkway. The only vehicles are those entering and exiting the hotel and the occasional service vehicle. The street itself is transformed into a market place through the day selling tourist type goods and souvenirs. This market is taken down every afternoon at about five o'clock and the street then becomes a very pleasant promenade.

There are many different types of restaurant within a five minute stroll of the hotel and particularly in the square some 120 metres from the hotel. There was plenty of diverse street entertainment from dancing to singing to enjoy as well as reasonable food and a variety of shops and street market stalls. We ate mostly during the early evening and felt very safe in this area. Security personel were obvious to see on most streets in the area.

As the hotel is situated in a pedestrianised zone it is not too easy to find if you are approaching by car, even with the aid of GPS. However, a quick enquiry from a helpful passer-by soon had us back on track. First impressions always count highly when entering a hotel and the helpful doorman soon took care of the car and our luggage.

Reception is on the first floor in a light and spacious area. The hotel was very busy when we arrived taking in guest for the annual cycle race round the peninsular. We were processed efficiently and allocated our room with the minimum of time delay.

This is where we came upon the first, and really, only major concern with this hotel. The room we had been allocated was on the 7th floor and although a little on the small side was quite adequate, after all this is a Holiday Inn Express not an Intercontinental. We started to settle into the room when we were disturbed by what sounded like someone dragging heavy furniture across the floor of the room above. The noise went away after a minute and we relaxed. No sooner had we thought that this was a one off when this peculiar sound started again. I went straight to reception who immediately changed our room. The second room was no better but at least we found the source of the noise which was coming from the elevator shaft. One of the elevators needed a service as the pulley equipment was very noisy when it moved. Eventually the hotel transferred us to a room as far away from the elevator shaft as possible and the noise became much more subdued and bearable. My recommendation therefore would be to ask for a room on the front of the hotel as far away from the elevator shaft as possible.

Our room was not huge but quite adequate. All the usual facilities were present and all worked well. Plenty of space for suitcases and the usual trappings of travel. The dining area, on the 2nd floor, was open all day and served breakfast (included in the room rate) and dinner should you wish plus drinks from the bar area. There was a balcony attached to the dining area which overlooked the street market and was most enjoyable. The only downside to this was it was an area smokers used which we found not to our liking.

The hotel staff, though very pressed for time as the hotel was full, we're all helpful and we found that a smile and a sympathetic nod went a long way in illiciting a good level of service.
One other niggle was the cost of the wi fi connection. We did find on our travels round South Africa that, in general, wi fi quality was poor and intermittent with a very slow speed and a large cost attached. I still fail to realise why the Holiday Inn Group (and a lot of other hotel chains for that matter) want to charge for a service that is now an essential part of everyday life, both for the business community and the leisure traveller What happened to the good old days of added value?

All in all our three day stay was a reasonable experience and at a lower cost than most of the nearby hotels. We felt safe and comfortable here and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel well away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gallimaufry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. I realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and I sincerely appreciate your business.

I am always very happy when a guest comments about the wonderful service they have received from my staff. I will ensure the entire hotel staff knows what a great job they have done and will also ensure they are recognized for their efforts.

Thank you again for your kind words. I hope to have you as a guest in my hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Friendly prompt reception.

Room was adequate and very clean. I like the blue bathroom light which can be left on at night to aid navigation.

There is the usual HIEx 30Mb free internet allowance, adequate but not generous.

Breakfast was okay but can get a bit crowded at peak times. The solitary coffee machine generates quite a queue.

The hotels location feels relatively (for SA) safe and there are several restaurants and many shops within walking distance.

The staff generally are more friendly and efficient than at the other HIEx's I've stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Good day

I want to thank you for the kind words you said about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. Your thoughts are important to us, but we're especially pleased when the feedback is positive. I'll be sure to share it with my whole team.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel is located in the center of town only a block away from Long Street which is nice. If one was to stay in the center of town this is a great location.

The staff was super helpful on all points. They helped with excursion planning and reservations. They definitely made an average visit to above average.

Overall, the hotel was a bit pricey but that may just be Cape Town. A tip - the staff pointed us to a place a km down the road to do laundry much cheaper, by the kg.

We were disappointed at the internet situation where you get something like 50MB per day. For what the hotel costs its should be free.

Overall, a good stay and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Grateful thanks for your very positive review of our hotel during your recent stay.

Location and the proximity to many convenient shopping and tourist related opportunities is what our guests find most appealing about our hotel.

Thank you also for the great compliment about our team and facilities.
We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Hotel extremely well situated in Cape Town (non business trip). Staff very helpful. Room was good other than bed size - trust that beds are not 140 cms but 110 cms instead.... Some noise from the street (was in 601) - better get a room on the other side as I believe these may be much quieter. The best HI Express breakfast buffet ever - combines hot and cold food very far awy from the coffe- bread-cereals you may still get at some other Holiday inn Express places today, buffet being constantly replenished. Restaurant layout a bit odd as there are no apparent paths to the buffet leading to guests navigating their way randomly .

Had a small problem with my car that was scratched by Valet Parking (I was told upfront). Hotel management backed off and told me I had to deal with valet parking company directly. When discussing with hotel's manager 2 days later she then realised that I was not asked to sign the form stating respective roles and responsibilities when checking my car in. Still managed to find a decent agreement after long talks although I would have welcomed a little help from the hotel! Also told Manager that they should get information modified on the ICHG web site as current info on Valet parking is very misleading.

Would definitely welcome another stay sthere - but this time with a larger bed opposite to the 601 side.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephDGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. Our location is superb for the international traveller who does not require their own transport as the access to shops, stalls, restaurants and bars are close to the hotel.

Being in a major international city, there is regretably some minor traffic noise at peak times, however rooms on the opposite side of the hotel, do afford a quieter experience. We have two bed options available for guests, rooms with one double bed in the room or rooms with two 3/4 beds. Our guests often opt for the two 3/4 beds as their preferred bed configuration.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our team, who will always ensure guest comfort and satisfaction during their stay.

Please accept my apologies again for the incident of the damage to your car by the outsourced Parking Assist company, we have taken the necesssary steps to prevent a recurrence of this lapse in service. Thank you very much for your feedback and suggestions regarding this service provider.

We look forward to being of service to you, when next in Cape Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#65 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#39 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): $87 - $199
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing