We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful villa with spectacular views”
other travellers have booked this property
View from  bedroom balcony where you can enjoy a sundowner and take in the view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from  bedroom balcony where you can enjoy a sundowner and take in the view.
Bedroom spacious and comfortable Bathroom with shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
View from  bedroom balcony where you can enjoy a sundowner and take in the view.
Bedroom spacious and comfortable
Bathroom with shower
Spiral staircase leading from lounge to bedroom
Pool and fabulous view of the sea which extends to the lions head - this area is for you!
View of pool as seen from the bar which is lovely and cool to have lunch in
The pool is for your private use it is not shared it is on your private level!
Fully equipped kitchen
Kitchen and  lounge leads onto the to the pool through sliding doors
Lounge
Panoramic view from lounge
At the pool
Tanning on the terrace
View of apartment from the road Table Mountain  behind and 12 Apostles also visible
The Lions Head is a prominent feature from all areas of the apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Camps Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Mrs Barb...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful villa with spectacular views”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We have just returned home after 2 memorable weeks at the beautiful villa Barbara.
The apartment was perfect for 2 people.Bright airy, very comfortable and with everything one could wish for to make a perfect holiday .And the view wow!!
Watching the sun move around the bay when lying in bed in the morning and then sitting out in the evening watching it go down.Amazing !
Helen and Seamus were always very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed their company.
Missing it all and very sad to leave.
Please can we come back ?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2018
What a pleasure it was to have you two here. Please return anytime after the rain!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbjoce1
Hampshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“What a great location.....”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Villa Barbara sits high above Camps Bay and offers wonderful views of the bay and Lions Head and views to Table Mountain at the rear. The apartment has very large windows that certainly make the most of the views. The apartment itself was clean, comfortable, pleasantly furnished and well equipped. It was a great base for exploring the area and we loved to come back to the apartment later in the day to enjoy the view. The owners were friendly and helpful without being obtrusive.I would love to return to Villa Barbara although, for me, it had too many steps. It has a funicular lift which is a great help when moving cases etc to the apartment. I had not realised that there were 24 steps to climb before I got to it. Anyone with joint problems would need to be aware of this. Also, the lighting in the kitchen area was very dull if you wanted to cook there in the evening. We certainly enjoyed our time at the apartment, enjoying the views and cooling off in the afternoon in the small pool. I would certainly recommend this as a place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2018
Thank you for your review we will change the Led lighting it is a valid point. Love to see you again,
Regards Helen and Seumas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie300...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Quirky dated property with spectacular views, fabulous location.”
Reviewed 24 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

I assume that it is the fantastic views that account for the 5 bubble reviews and the luxury label for this property. Inside the property is certainly not luxury as we know it. There is no getting away from the fact that the property is very dated. It reminded me of something you may have seen in an Avengers episode in the 70's. However it is comfortable if quirky but could benefit from some TLC. Helen met us on arrival and was friendly and helpful with suggestions of what to do and see in the area. It would have been nice to have been warned in advance about the men arriving quite so early in the morning (8ish) to measure the windows! Also, the property really needs more lighting at night. The tiled stairs up to the villa are steep and in the dark can be dangerous especially if it has been raining. Needless to say, this apartment it not suitable for the very elderly or anyone with mobility issues. If you are looking for stunning views of both the coast and table mountain and not too bothered about comfort then you could do no better. This is a great location for exploring both the coast and the city. However if you want some comfort in your surroundings, then perhaps this isn't the place for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review I will take your views into consideration!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKDunn51
Innerleithen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Villa Barbara”
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The villa is located in Upper Camps Bay which offers spectacular views of Camps Bay and Table Mountain. Villa Barbara is tastefully decorated and furnished to a high level. The villa has a good pool with a brai/bar area ,with fridge, sun loungers etc. The villa is more suitable for a active couple as there are some steep steps from the entrance up to the apartment, however, there is a lift to help with the cases and those unable to climb the steps. Helen and Seumas were excellent hosts and we would like to thank them for making our stay more enjoyable. A maid ,Georgina , cleans the apartment twice a week. There is a washing machine for those wishing to wash their own clothes.
I would definitely stay at villa Barbara again and would heartily recommend it. The villa is a short drive of 20mins from the centre of Cape Town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2018
Really loved meeting you as We are so fond of dear Scotland. It was a real pleasure to have you spend Hogmany in the Cape and at our home!
Regards Helen and Seumas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJLMY
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Nice villa with spectacular views of the ocean and lions head. Location is great with easy access to table mountain. Helen was really nice and friendly. Made sure we have everything we need

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Great to have you all the way from Singapore you were such a special couple. Thank you so much for choosing us. Hope you enjoyed Stellenbosch.
Lots of good luck to you both for the new Year.
Regards Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing