We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bayleaf Villa was the perfect location in Camps...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bayleaf Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Camps Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Connie S
Strathmore, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Bayleaf Villa was the perfect location in Camps Bay!”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Our family of 6, including our 18 month grandson enjoyed 3 wonderful weeks at the Bayleaf Villa in November. The villa is located one block from a beautiful beach, numerous restaurants, and the single grocery store. Also there is a park for kids half a block away. Each bedroom was spacish and had its own bathroom, which was a bonus. The small garden was beautiful, with views of Lions Head and Table Mountain. We even hosted a bridal shower in the garden, and there were more than enough platters, dishes, tables and chairs, etc to accommodate. Shirley, the owner and Virginia the housekeeper both went above and beyond to ensure our stay in Cape Town was comfortable and memorable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruceron
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfectly situated home away from home”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed here for five days for a family reunion and Bayleaf Villa was perfect for the occasion. There may be better views in Camps Bay, but the location was absolutely perfect for us being so close to all amenities - shopping Mall, beach, restaurants etc Each couple had their own bathroom and the house was large enough to give everyone their own space. On the second night we hosted a barbecue for family and friends in the Cape Town region and the house was so well stocked with cutlery, crockery etc. that we had no problem catering for everyone who came. Virginia was a great help ensuring we could enjoy our holiday without doing the housework. Booking was easy and Shirley was very helpful without being obtrusive. All in all a wonderful place to spend a holiday!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable "home from home" in an ideal location in Camps Bay”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in the main house (there are 2 rentable rooms at the back of the property) for 18 nights in the period leading up to Christmas 2015. The main house is well presented with four large en suite bedrooms and ample living areas all kept impecably clean by the wonderful Virginia who works every day cleaning house and doing whatever laundry is necessary.

Pros are -
Location (1 road back from the popular Camps Bay strip and wonderful beach). Just a short walk to Clifton and other great beaches and restaurants
Views - amazing views of Lions Head and Table Mountain from the main bedroom and garden
Room sizes - very spacious with comfortable beds and all with well equiped en suite bathrooms
Virginia - keeps house immaculate and does daily laundry
Kitchen - sufficiently equiped to cook a family meal
Pool - kept clean and great for a dip after a day on the beach
Garden - small and well maintained
Owner - Shirley your friendly and efficient hostess who makes the check in and out completely painless and can provide advice if required
Beach equipment - a large collection of towels, games, chairs and umbrellas is available in the villa

Cons -
Off street parking is limited (house is on a busy road)
House is a little cluttered - it is a family home out of season
Shopping is limited to a single cruddy Pick and Pay in Camps Bay - there are decent shops in nearby Seapoint and Hout Bay

In summary - we had a great holiday at the Bayleaf Villa and will defnitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and room sizes
Liked least: Noisey (at times)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldings
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Ideal hub for business meetings”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We rented The Bayleaf for a week in connection with a launch of a new magazine which we had been preparing for 5 months. Apart from the actual launch at the World Economic Forum in Cape Town we held a number of meetings with current and future staff and the Bayleaf also served as our Commando Center for all activities going on that week. Apart from the 6-7 people staying at the villa we had 4-5 additional people coming to the house for meetings and talks and the house turned out to be ideal for this use. The central living room could hold 2 meetings at a time and was big enough for 10-15 people.The internet worked very well (although not in the rooms) and the kitchen was centrally located adjacent to the living room so that informal self-catering was convenient. Supermarket and broad choice of restaurants just around the corner. It was cold and windy during the first days of our stay so the gas-fireplace was a welcome feature and Shirley was quick to get us replacement canisters when we ran out of gas. The homy feeling of the house certainly added to creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere enhancing productivity and creativity. Our launch and planning of the future had not been this successful without this beautifully located base in Camps Bay, conveniently located only 20 minutes drive from the Cape Town convention center. If we get the opportunity we would certainly rent the Bayleaf again for a business gathering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central living room with fireplace
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossM7985...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Large bedrooms (not just big in the pictures) with a short (200 metre) walk to the beach. Excellent Host!”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our stay here was excellent. The rooms were large. The house was spotless. The host was wonderful. It really is up the street from the beach, the shops, the restaurant. I was returning to this suburb where I grew up and I could not have had a more perfect stay. Thank you, Shirley, for your wonderful hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing