We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large bedrooms (not just big in the pictures...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bayleaf Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Camps Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rossM7985...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Large bedrooms (not just big in the pictures) with a short (200 metre) walk to the beach. Excellent Host!”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our stay here was excellent. The rooms were large. The house was spotless. The host was wonderful. It really is up the street from the beach, the shops, the restaurant. I was returning to this suburb where I grew up and I could not have had a more perfect stay. Thank you, Shirley, for your wonderful hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley B
Ballyclare, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than home from home!”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just left Bayleaf House after a weeks stay with our 20something kids! They have gone back to Northern Ireland and myself and Hubby have gone to a very lovely Guest House for our second week. It's a beautiful guest house, however it is not a home as was bayleaf House! It was all we could have hoped for and more. Shirley was friendly , helpful and as if she was an old friend. I can't say enough wonderful things about the actual house, location , Virginia and Victoria who assisted with daily maintenance and laundry. Spacious is not the word, it's a Tardus, with so many rooms, we all had our own bathroom and large bedroom, my son and his girlfriend even had their own private apartment within the house.There is everything down to beach chairs, games for the beach and a kitchen equipped with more than my own. My only regret is that we didn't stay here longer, so we will just have to return, and we can't wait! Thanks again Shirley for a fabulous stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64margare...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“A fabulous base from which to explore Cape Town”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

10 of us, which included 6 family members from the UK, stayed at the Bayleaf for 7 days and without exception everyone of us would go back again. Apart from its ideal location the property is tastefully furnished and beautifully maintained. Shirley could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Victoria and Virginia also went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Would highly recommend the Bay Leaf to anyone wanting to have a beach holiday (Camps Bay is stunning) and explore Cape Town and its surrounds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helene r
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Amazing time with young children”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Thank you for such a nice time at the Bayleaf.. Already thinking to come back next year.. It is perfectly located, walking distance to the beach, supermarket, post, tennis court, cafés and restaurants... Nice family atmosphere.. Shirley answers all your requests in a matter of seconds... and even precedes your needs or wishes..
(We only rented out the two extra rooms downstairs which the small kitchen as a guesthouse).
You feel at ease and at home at the Bayleaf Villa...as simple as that!

Liked best: Home feeling
Liked least: the small american kitchen corner but still ok..
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen O
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Stunning Villa in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our family/friends, party of 7 adults chose ‘The Bayleaf ‘in Camps Bay for 9 days as our Base for our son’s wedding on the 28th February 2014 in the Western Cape.
The ‘Bay leaf’ Villa was the perfect location for our party, 5 bedrooms & 5 bathrooms. The bedrooms were very large, beautifully furnished. The kitchen bright and roomy with every conceivable utensil, a spacious dining and living room with emphasis on comfort and space, also a TV room which we did not use. A front garden with ‘Pool ‘and sun beds/chairs, together with secure parking for our Minibus. Virginia is the heart and soul of the Bayleaf, a lovely lady who took care of all our daily laundry, and cleaning. Virginia with her lovely smile had a ‘can do ‘attitude. One of the three ‘fridges developed a fault, Virginia called the proprietor, Shirley Engers, Shirley arrived with a technician within 20 minutes, problem solved. We asked Shirley how much we should pay for daily laundry, Shirley suggested we should pay Virginia 300/400 Rand (€20/27), can you believe it?.. for 9 days, 7 Persons
The ‘Bayleaf Villa ‘is 3 minutes from the beach/promenade, with superb restaurants/supermarket.
Camps Bay is the place to stay, the ‘Bayleaf ‘is the business. just book it, you will not be disappointed. We cannot wait to return to South Africa, a stunning country, with a genuine warm welcome, exceptional value and service. - Jerry O'Riordan & gang!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing