We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Pilanesberg National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 104.24*
and up
Pilanesberg National Park Day Tour from Pretoria
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I was really disappointed that I spent 4 hours cruising around the park and saw only 3 animals. The reason was, that day was a heavy rainy day. We started before it rained but I suppose the animals sensed this and already went further uphill. A word of advice to those who wish to do the safari, if a rainy shower is predicted, do not do the safari. The park staff should also give out important information on this. After all, they should know this. It was a waste of time for me. I hope to do try it again the next time I visit South Africa.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank zainuddinsupian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"self drive"
in 68 reviews
"game viewing"
in 56 reviews
"the reserve"
in 57 reviews
"tar roads"
in 15 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 15 reviews
"white rhino"
in 25 reviews
"watering hole"
in 11 reviews
"wild animals"
in 31 reviews
"kwa maritane"
in 16 reviews
"safari experience"
in 14 reviews
"day trip"
in 38 reviews
"own vehicle"
in 17 reviews
"early morning"
in 27 reviews
"hour drive"
in 12 reviews
"south africa"
in 35 reviews
"great game"
in 13 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 18 reviews
Filter

133 - 137 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Enjoyed spending a few hours driving around this game park

To be honest we did not see lots of animals but there were enough to keep us interested - they were probably hiding from the heat of the mid day sun

What we did see kept us entertained and I would go again

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank travellingman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

we had a lovely game drive with family, the park is excellent, our driver/game ranger proved that he's an exceptional knowlegde of the park/animals withing the park. the scenery of the park, knowledge of our driver afforded us the opportunity to see as many animals, big cats on the park. we spotted the Rhinos, lions, antelops giraffes, springboks, hippos,blue buffalos, different kinds of birds. Although it was only for 3 hours in the morning, and also we were advised that it's a mating season for most of the animals, the males were really working hard, but a lot was spotted.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank fortunes957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Yet another amazing experience at the Park. The fact that it’s a day trip from Joburg makes it a must do for people who want to see the animals in the wild... as it was in the rainy season and the Bush was far from sparse, it was still a beautiful drive with the park’s own ranger. A must do for everyone. The only reason I can’t give this 5 stars is because I have done Kruger.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank 84lailah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This is a must visit place in Sun city. The trails are well laid out and the chances are very high that you will see what you have coming looking for. The animals in the bush are unpredictable but there is definitely a high possibility that you can catch a shot of them. The park offers some spectacular views of sunrise and sunsets. There is a clean rest area where you can grab a quick coffee. Overall a good experience in a good national park.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 319anandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pilanesberg National Park also viewed

Sun City, North-West Province
Sun City, North-West Province
 
Sun City, North-West Province
Sun City, North-West Province
 

Been to Pilanesberg National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing