We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveller rating
543
72
32
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
72
32
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showergame lodgecomplete privacylunch and dinnerfamily suitewonderful experiencehuge bedevery staff memberwent above and beyondstandard roomspa treatmentsrose petalsperfect stayonce in a lifetimehigh teasafari experiencebubble bath
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 669 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

The lodge is situated on a private concession within the reserve, which gives it a premium feel. Cole was our bush guide and he was exceptional in every way. The food was consistently very good, but not amazing.

The only negative was that some money was stolen from our room, and the assistant manager treated us like he didn't believe us and did not offer to help in any meaningful way. They offer a safe in the room, but we didn't feel this was necessary when we checked in due to the premium feel. We had some money hidden within our luggage, and at some point during our stay it was stolen. Someone would have had to go through most, if not all, of our belongings to get to the money. This invasion of privacy was bad enough, but was made worse by the assistant manager's refusal to believe us or offer to help in any meaningful way. This really soured an otherwise positive experience.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tafa_Manyowa, Deputy General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Russell G

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at Shepherds Tree, and at the same time apologise for the inconvenience caused as a result of this isolated incident.

As communicated to you on departure, when such incidents occur, we carry out a thorough investigative process in order to determine if our staff is involved or not. This is what is prescribed in law, as we simply cannot point fingers without any compelling evidence to that effect. The investigation yielded results which did not link or show involvement of our staff. As a precautionary measure, we always suggest to all our guests to use electronic safes provided in the rooms.

Once again, I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you, and I hope you will afford us another visit soon.

Kind regards
The Shepherds Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

This was our second trip to Shepherds Tree.. We were not disappointed. The lodge architecture is modern and stylish yet captures the bush lodge feel. The rooms are luxurious with big windows and doors. Both the room and the bathroom open up, giving you the outside inside-feeling. There is also nothing like the feeling of showering in the outside shower. The units were also fairly close to the camp fencing which allowed us to see elephants feeding on the trees around us in safety. The game rides were great, we got to see a leopard in the wild for the fist time and we have been to a number of reserves. The meal were outstanding, tasty and well presented. We did find the 3 x 3 course meals daily to much food, so we ended skipping lunch. Overall a great weekend break away.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gail123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tafa_Manyowa, Deputy General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Gail123456

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on this forum.

I’m absolutely thrilled to hear that you found everything to be superb. The staff will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything that you experienced during your stay, from the luxurious accommodation, to the amazing game drives and the delicious meals in the dining room.

As always, Shepherds Tree will never disappoint and I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.

Kind regards
The Shepherds Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Best gamedrive! The property has their private part of the parc and the elefants love that! Peter our ranger was king! Simba was on point. He even called us to see the elefant drinking in front of the Breakfastroom. Dinner and lunch are oké, but I think not to standard of this level. Looks amazing , taste is everage.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank logowesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tafa_Manyowa, Deputy General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear Logowesley
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know that you found our game drives to be the best. I will pass on the compliments to Peter and Simba as well as the rest of the team. Regarding the food, I have communicated your constructive feedback to our Executive Chef. I hope to see you soon when you visit us again.

Kind regards
The Shepherds Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge was amazing from start to finish. The amenities are beautiful, the staff are extremely welcoming and helpful and the safari tours themselves were incredible fun!
I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tafa_Manyowa, Deputy General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear Matthew M

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on this forum. We are delighted to know that we met all your expectations. I will pass on this to our talented and passionate team so that they know their efforts do not go unnoticed. I hope you will afford us another visit soon.

Kind regards
The Shepherds Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Finest food and best staff ever encountered world wide. Highly recommended I had a cripple person with me and the staff went out of their way to make her trip memorable. Game rangers were superb and really hunted down the big 5 for us.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keitha965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tafa_Manyowa, Deputy General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear Keitha965

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely experience at Shepherds on this forum. It is very rewarding to receive feedback such as yours, and we hope to see you soon when you visit us again.

Kind regards
The Shepherds Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews