We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
612
74
33
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
74
33
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower game lodge golf cart lunch and dinner family suite wonderful experience high tea the reserve rooms are beautiful standard room his knowledge once in a lifetime bubble bath food is excellent top class field guide bush experience
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 742 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The experience was greater than I ever imagined. The service was up & above by all employees. Food was excellent and the Safari guides passion was displayed in every safari trip. I highly recommend this trip to everyone.

Room tip: Great room display... clean & well thought out...
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N4619GZnancyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear N4619nancyl

Thank you so much for your positive review on this forum and being willing to recommend us to fellow travelers. Me and my team appreciates this and we hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards
The Shepherds Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Accommodation, Food and Game viewing of the highest order. Chalets are just perfect - love the outdoor shower ! Food presentation is picture perfect and SO delicious. Game drives were amazing and the ranger is very knowledgeable about nature - no bird or animal too small to stop and photograph. Enjoy every moment.............

Room tip: All lodges excellent
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drreg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Drreg2017

Thank you for this review and letting other travellers know what to expect when visiting us. We are happy to know you think Shepherds is "something very special" and you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The Shepherds Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Pilansberg was more than we expected, the staff and rangers could not be more helpful and the lodges are fantastic. The food was also superb, an overall extent experience and will gladly recommend to all my friends. Wow what a place.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wallst2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear wallst2017

Thank you for your review and being willing to recommend us to others. We are glad to know you found our staff, food and accommodation to your liking, and we hope you visit again soon.

Kind Regards
The Shepherds Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This is an excellent property with great accommodations, good meals and incredible game drives. The property right in Pilanesberg National Park. The units stretch up a hillside from the main lobby and dining room, The accommodations are spacious and comfortable. The meals were very good and there was also coffee and light snacks available before the early morning game drive. We had Adolph as our game drive ranger and he did an good job in locating and describing the wildlife. The property is entirely fenced so the wildlife doesn't roam in, but it is hardly noticeable except when you arrive and depart the property.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank SeattleKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear SeattleKarl

Thank you so much for this detailed review of your recent stay at Shepherds Tree. Me and my team find feedback like yours very rewarding and it makes us happy that our guests leave with great memories. I'll share your feedback with guide Adolph as well, and we hope you visit us again some time in future.

Kind Regards
The Shepherds Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Absolutely beautiful lodge with fantastic helpful staff. Our game ranger Was amazing and we saw everything we hoped for and more.He was also very informative.Loved our stay and would recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barbaratL3768YF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear barbaratL3768YF

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you loved your stay with us and would be willing to share this experience with other travelers. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The Shepherds Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews