We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
28
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Great hospitality, friendly & professional staff. Game drive very informative. Beautiful fully furnished rooms. Spectacular views. Massages are awesome, it feels like you're in another world. Sundowner

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kediflatela76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Mattanu offers so much more than just another Game Park. Game viewing by vehicle or game drives on Quads. Accommodation in either luxury Tents or large Cottages offers you a range of options including fantastic cuisine in the lodge or self catering or barbecue. Get to see a working Game tagging / catching operation at work. Family operated by the Kriek family with a great personal touch and ready to plan your visit on a "personal preference of what you would to do" basis. And for the adventurous jump onto Kriek helicopters for a range of options including fly-fishing on the Vaal or Orange rivers. Hopefully this return visit will not be my last.

Room Tip: Luxury Tents are best for couples while Cottages are best for families.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Con J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques K, Owner at Mattanu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Hi Con,

Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoyed your visit and company and hope to see you again soon! You really did make the most of your visit with the helicopter trip, fly fishing, game drives, quad bikes and massages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Me and my husband had the most lovely stay at Mattanu..! We enjoyed every second of it and especially the game capture safari! It was so exciting, learningful and rewarding to participate and help with the different animals..! We were taught a lot about the animals, and it was "hand on"..! :) So unique to feel, smell and work with the animals..! The Kriek family was very hospitable and sincere with us. As well lovely food and accommandations..! The trip just made our honey moon even more special.

Room Tip: Participate in the game capture safari - it's worth it!!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques K, Owner at Mattanu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

It was a great privilege to have you guys visiting Mattanu all the way from Denmark to experience our hands on wildlife experience. Hope to see you and the rest of your Danish friends soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Great weekend spent at this Northern Cape private game farm, specialising in breeding projects. Warm hospitality by owners, Kriek family. Personal attention from knowledgeable game rangers. Good accommodation and meals. Inclusive of game drives. You can also enjoy quad biking with the rangers or bush dinner under the stars with an option of fly in.

Room Tip: Tents are great, but we stayed in the log cabin. All accommodation very private.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Poeksie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques K, Owner at Mattanu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit. What a full house experience. Will definitely give through to the guides that you found them very knowledgeable. Let us know if there is anything else that we can do to make your next visit even more memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Great place to get away from the noise and hustle and bustle. Comfortable lodging including luxury tents. Beautiful wildlife including magnificent exotic game. Very friendly staff. Great food and better wine.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques K, Owner at Mattanu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Thanks for the kind response. You must see our new wine list Chris!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews