We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not as excellent as our last visit”
Review of The Fez at Baghdad

The Fez at Baghdad
Ranked #14 of 32 Restaurants in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I gave 5 stars when we visited this restaurant last year when we were in the area. Unfortunately this visit was not as good. The staff were very smart and efficient. My husband had to send his steak back because it was cold and also the serving was meagre : just steak and chips - no accompanying veg or salad. My salmon was excellent and the veggies very tasty. The wasabi mash could have been creamier. Our companions both enjoyed their kingklip. The cinnamon paplova was definitely lacking the cinnamon: none of us could taste the spice.

Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Thank you for your review and apologies for a disappointing meal compared to your last visit My new chef starts on the 1st of November having lost a wonderful member of our team tragically in a car accident recently. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in the area to make amends and show our real worth. Thank you and regards Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Sushi and curries were very good. Service pleasant. Food took a bit long for a quick business lunch, not an issue for those not on business.

Thank stevea433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to reviiew my restaurant on Trip Advisor your comments are greatly appreciated. Regards Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We were a large group, 20 odd. They accommodated us in our own section of the restaurant but split us into two tables, not a problem.

The menu is fairly extensive with obvious leanings towards the spicy side.

Good food was had by all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeRalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at the Fez your comments are greatly appreciated and we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Best regards Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Visited the Fez for dinner while on business in White River. The restaurant is cozy with a warm fire (it wasn't cold outside at all). Lots on offer on the menu. I had the Moroccan Lamb served in a tagine but it was actually a lamb casserole. It tasted nice but I won't be rushing back here for this dish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Obru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for your review and your comments about the lamb are noted and appreciated it's nice but you are right we need to spice it up a bit. Hope to welcome you back. Best regards Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

So we went to the Fez at Bagdad just to have a drink, when we showed up we realized it is much more upper class than we expected, which is a good thing! The place has so many different vibes to it, when you sit outside you get a beach vibe, when you sit inside it is a very fancy dinner/cafe and when you sit at the bar you feel like an important business partner! Haha so there is something for everyone.
We were very happy with the sushi we ordered but the waiter had no communication skills and she did not know much about the menu. She also decided that it's much more important to chat on her phone around the corner than to serve the customers (we were the only ones there)

Thank Augusta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

My apologies that my initial reply did not register but may I thank you for your comments and my sincere apologies about one of my team being pre occupied with her cel phone I have taken the opportunity of using your review to highlight this issue which is unfortunately becoming more common but hopefully now not in my restaurant. Once again thank and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Best regards Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fez at Baghdad also viewed

White River, Mpumalanga
 

Been to The Fez at Baghdad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing