We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing ambience and mouthwatering food”
Review of The Fez at Baghdad

The Fez at Baghdad
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in White River
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 October 2015

My husband and I had the absolute pleasure of having a long and lazy lunch at the Fez at Baghdad on Friday, 25 September 2015 during our stay in White River.

The restaurant boasts a very relaxing and charming ambience. The outside seating area is inviting and beautifully decorated.

The staff was beautifully dressed in Moroccan outfits which added to the charming ambience.

The menu is interesting and boasts a selection of starters, salads, pasta, seafood, steaks, burgers and chicken dishes. They also boast a sushi menu.

My husband ordered the Casablanca Baby Chicken with potato chips. The chicken was fall off the bone tender and perfectly spiced.

I ordered the lightly coated grilled calamari with potato chips. The calamari was grilled too perfection and also melt in the mouth tender. The tartar sauce that was served with the calamari was homemade and absolutely divine.

The menu is very well priced in comparison to the high quality of our meals. The wine list boasts a good selection of excellent wines and is also reasonably priced. We had a Stellenrust Kleine dry white wine which was excellent and well priced (R99.00).

We received excellent service from our waitress, Lulu. Her service was efficient, very friendly, hands on yet unobstrusive.

The owner, Derek interacted effortlessly with a smile with his guests and inquired if we enjoyed our meals. This gesture made our meal even more special.

We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing lunch at Fez and will definitely be back on our next visit to White River!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

So pleased you enjoyed the restaurant and thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderfull and extensive review it really is greatly appreciated. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2015

We are massive fans of good Mexican and along with Peron in Sandton this is the best Mexican we have had outside of the states. All the favourites served by great staff and awesome drinks to pair with. We enjoyed it so much we ate dinner there three nights in a row.

Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Many thanks for your kind and generous review which is greatly appreciated I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions.
Warmest regards Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

A wonderful place to stop between Hazyview and Nelspruit. Good food, large helpings, but can be noisy at times

1  Thank johnherm2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and so pleased you enjoyed it. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Under new management. Had really good evening at the restaurant with a group of friends. The waiters are very pleasant and provide a high standard of service. The menu provided a variety of choices which satisfied all the guests in the party. Ample parking outside the restaurant. Will return.

Thank sabieriverbushlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Thank you very much for your kind comments which are greatly appreciated, so pleased you enjoyed your evening and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fez.

Kind regards Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Our party of 6 was warmly welcomed at Fez on a cold night in July. Service was excellent and their menu was diverse - from countless sushi permutations to burgers, to ravioli filled with springbok. I settled for a prawn hand roll and salmon and avocado fashion sandwiches - I was impressed that such good sushi could be made inland and in such a small town. The wine list was small but good. We settled for a wine that none of us had heard of - Fez Mystical Corner Rainbows End Estate Red - we were more than satisfied with that. Fez is good food and service in a nice environment - we will definitely return on our next trip to White River

Thank Bongitole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2015

Many thanks for your kind review which is much appreciated and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the future;

Regards Derek
Owner The Fez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fez at Baghdad also viewed

White River, Mpumalanga
 
White River, Mpumalanga
White River, Mpumalanga
 
White River, Mpumalanga
 

Been to The Fez at Baghdad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing