We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home (but more relaxing!)”
Review of Seringa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seringa Lodge
Ranked #7 of 36 White River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We stayed for two nights as a family (kids had a bunk in the smaller room). Most rooms are probably double with it's own little verandah. Cecilia and Roger are the perfect hosts, and Cecilia's cooking is excellent, so we would recommend preordering dinner. However, there are restaurants nearby, but nice to be able to drink wine and not worry about driving. Breakfast was also good. There were three dogs and a great big lawn for the kids to run around on. The ambiance both inside and out where great, and fabulous weather even in winter (cool nights but often sunny days in this area). The only downside was that the bed was harder than we like. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room seperate to the main lodge if you want with to be very quiet and/or romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2015

We recently stayed 5 nights at Seringa and perhaps our only complaint is that we could not stay longer. The rooms are tidy, simple and rustic. This is not an expensive and fancy resort, but a charming, comfortable lodge that makes you feel like you have entered someone's home and been made to feel very welcome. The meals were fantastic and we ate as many dinners there as possible. We took an evening safari (led by an outside guide) which was terrific and two day safaris with Roger. He made sure our every need was met and that we were able to see as much wildlife as possible. Our 9 and 10 year old loved every minute. Dogs were friendly, huge grass area for kids to play, pool was chilly but nice and clean. The patio out back was our favorite spot to relax and read and sip some wine. The employees were all friendly and helpful, esp Ms Nellie who taught our kids to play Juba. No dinner on Sundays so we suggest the Loose Mongoose which is not far to drive. Golf a round at White River if you have time. We rented a car from Johannesburg to drive to Seringa and were then able to take day trips to the Elephant Sanctuary, Shangana Cultural Village and the Jane Goodall Institute Chimp Eden.

THANK YOU for a wonderful stay Cecilia and Roger!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelingFamily2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Me and my family really fell in love with Seringa Lodge, with it's great hosts Cia and Roger, their helpful staff and of course the dogs ;)
Great food, location and guiding in the park by Roger - hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Felix L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Seringa Lodge. The rooms were big and light with great beds! Helpful and charming staff -great garden with pool. Nice to sit in the evening on the porsh and listen to the sound of night animals, taking a beer or a glass of wine from the bar.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna-Lena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2015

This is my favorite place to go for rest and lovely food outside Nelspruit. The kids also love it. A cosy lodge with fantastic service and great food and wine. Roger and Cecilie are just amazing and the atmosphere make you feel at home. They have dogs and my daughter who normally are afraid of dogs love to play with them. The garden is big enough for playing football or running around and they have a small pool. Roger is the perfect guide for a day trip to Kruger, he is so knowledgeable. I have done it twice and really enjoyed it.

Stayed: January 2015
2  Thank Kjerstilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
33.6 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.5 km away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 9 in White River
298 reviews
6.6 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 9 in White River
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 9 in White River
354 reviews
10.6 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in White River
198 reviews
3.9 km away
Near2Numbi
Near2Numbi
#7 of 20 in White River
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seringa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seringa Lodge

Address: 33 Yaverland Road, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seringa Lodge is situated on the outskirts of the quaint town of White River, in the province of Mpumalanga, South Africa. With its easy access to many places of interest, the lodge is the perfect home base for exploring the many attractions of the area such as the Kruger National Park, Panorama Route, Blyde River Canyon, Pilgrims Rest. The original thatched farmhouse, set in ten hectares of peaceful garden, has been converted into a lovely guesthouse with a magnificent view of the Legogote Mountain, “The Lion Head”. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing