We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Brilliant house in a lovely little town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zulani Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zulani Guest House
Ranked #14 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Brilliant house in a lovely little town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

Zulani is great guest house and we were very well looked after by June during our stay. As there were 4 of us, we were given the adjoining house which had it's own pool, lounge, kitchen etc, even it's own double garage! We were fortunate enough to be there on a B&B basis and it was probably the best breakfast we had on our 3 week holiday! The bedrooms were very big with large ensuites and luckily air conditioned as St Lucia is a hot and humid holiday town. We loved staying here as it was so relaxed, unlike many places in SA we were able to walk around the town even after dark which makes a pleasant change and also meant we could walk down the restaurants in town, it only takes 5 minutes and there a plenty to choose from. It's definitely a place I'd go back to and I'd be very happy to stay at Zulani again.

  • Liked — Breakfast, great hospitality, our own pool
  • Disliked — The rain!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superstarhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    22
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

After reading the great reviews of Zulani on trip advisor, my husband and I decided to go ahead and book it. We returned from South Africa last weekend and spent 2 nights at Zulani during our trip. We really loved this place and loved St Lucia (very safe with lots to do) and the fact that everything was within easy reach. We could walk to the restaurants etc in 2 minutes. June was an excellent host and everything we needed was catered for, even down to our packed breakfast on both mornings of our stay, due to us having to leave early to join our excursions. Another great thing about Zulani is that they will book all your excursions for you. We took the hippo and crocodile boat trip (sunset tour) and a full day game drive which we were particularly impressed with and can highly recommend. The game drive was run by Jeff Asher-Wood of Euro Zulu tours. Jeff was a great, enthusiastic host and made our day very enjoyable and informative. There was nothing Jeff didn't know! When we set off Jeff asked if we anted to see any particular game. We wanted to see big cats and elephants but knew that this couldn't be promised. Jeff didn't disappoint and found us a Lion and an Elephant which topped off our day of great game viewing. He also managed to track down the extremely rare Black Rhino and some even rarer wild dogs. Add to that the array of White Rhino, Zebra, Giraffe, Baboons, Monkeys….the list goes on. Jeff provided a bush breakfast which we enjoyed whilst watching 2 male White Rhinos fight for supremacy! Lunch was also included which again was another great bonus to this day with a steak bbq (or Braille) in the middle of the game park! Most tour guides take the easy option of taking in yet another restaurant but we were treated to some real home cooking and an ice cold beer! This gave us a real taste of South African life. Jeff was a great host who can certainly talk about more than wildlife, be it sport, politics, business – you name it! We can definitely recommend both staying at Zulani and euro zulu tours (www.eurozulu.com) an absolute must if planning a trip to St Lucia. Even if you’re not a game drive fan, Jeff can take you fly fishing, snorkeling, birding or on a turtle tour!

  • Liked — Great host and organised your excursions for you which were highly recommendable
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

The Zulani guest house was a wonderful place to stay in St Lucia (which is also a wonderful place). June could not have been more helpful, arranging a number of tours and activities, all of which were excellent, and providing fabulous breakfasts both at the guest house and to take with us on game drives. Beach towels, cooler bags, flasks & guidebooks were all available to borrow as needed. The room was beautifully presented (ours was Rhino themed) and exceedingly comfortable. We very much hope to return one day!

  • Liked — So friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizerbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

We only stayed for 2 nights but wished that it was for longer.

June is a fantastic host and will organize anything.

This place is paradise!

Will have to go back!

  • Liked — Freindly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sajay52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

Its over eighteen months since we were on our honeymoon in SA.I really should have posted this review before now but i suppose better late than never.We flew into Durban airport got our hire car and drove the 3 hour(approx) trip to St. Lucia.We were very pleasantly surprised by the high quailty of the roads and the considerate driving of the SA people(far easier country to drive in than most european countries).When we got to St lucia we were both very tired and very hungry so we decided to stop for something to eat in one of the restaraunts on the main street where we got a lovely meal for a very resonable price,I can honestly say we never had a bad meal in our three weeks in SA.When we got to the Zulani guest house which was easy to find we met June who turned out to be an absolutely wonderful host,we stayed in the honeymoon suite which was beautiful and had choclates and champayne,June was unbelievably helpful during our stay organising all our trips as well as making packed lunches for us on the all day safari.I really cant speak highly enough of June who let us use her beautiful home and the things in it as if they where our own.I forget the name of the man who took us on the safari but he was brilliant as well, we got to see all of the big 5 which was amazing.
After we left St lucia we flew to PE drove the garden route over the course of 5 or 6 days,stayed in the winelands,camps bay and finally finshed up staying on the V&A waterfront for the last few days,it was all brilliant but i must say nowhere did we recieve as warm a welcome and enjoy ourselves as much as much as we did in Zulani and St Lucia (some of the other places we stayed in cost 5 times as much to stay in).
I have never had as good a time in any country as i had in SA everything was perfect,i was a bit worried before we went about the safety but we never had any problems.I cant reccomend June and the Zulani high enough and when we go back to SA we will defintly be staying there again.

Gary & Paula

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coalbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.9 km away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.5 km away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#1 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.9 km away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Igwalagwala Guest House
Igwalagwala Guest House
#9 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 km away
Santa Lucia Guesthouse
Santa Lucia Guesthouse
#6 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 km away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#2 of 33 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulani Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulani Guest House

Property: Zulani Guest House
Address: 75 Flamingo Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price range (per night): $86 - $94
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulani Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zulani Guest House. Exclusive home hospitality and quality 4 star B&B accommodation in South Africa St Lucia. The perfect spot for a magical escape, a retreat for the active, or for just simple feet-up relaxation. The owners, Gary & June, reside in an adjoining cottage, and are on hand to provide the "personal hospitality" which sets Zulani apart from larger establishments. A glittering gem in this malaria free World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Zulani Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing