We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Vidal- our gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Vidal Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lucia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Vidal Camp
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vidal- our gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

I lived in Mtubatuba for many years and we were at Vidal every possible weekend, except Easter and December, then it is way too crowded, you must be at the gate by 05h00 if you want to get in etc, let the holiday makers enjoy those thrills, we have it to ourselves the rest of the year. There will always be negative comments, no matter where you go, please remember that this resort is run by EKZNW and funds are limited for certain projects, there is always a camp manager on duty to report negative things to, report and make it better for yourself. This is one of the few remaing destinations of its kind (NO BUS LOADS OF DRUNKS AND NOISEMAKERS)and a place that will be with me forever! One of a kind!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    32
    27
    15
    14
See reviews for
50
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We went at the end of September to Cape Vidal and stayed in the Log cabins.We previously camped a couple of years ago which I can also recommend.It was really a great experience. I was blown away again by the natural beauty of the place and the amount of wildlife present.Some people I see complain about the monkeys, but I found it better from when I was there previously.Just dont leave food out and take care.

If its nature, beach, snorkeling, fishing, game watching your after this is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jozitraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

I see a lot of negative comments about Cape Vidal and thought I should voice my opinion. I have been going to Vidal regularly for the past 30 years and not much has changed, including the ablutions and facilities in the campsite. I think this is part of what makes it special aside from its obvious natural beauty. I do agree the cabins could do with an upgrade but they are in no way uncomfortable. The camp and cabins are very rustic but if you are going to a place like this just for the accommodation then you are unfortunately not going for the right reasons. If however you are looking to get back to nature in a lush, beautiful and peaceful surrounding then this is paradise! I have traveled around the world and am yet to find a beach that can come close to it. Put your ear to the ground here and you can hear the pulse of Africa. About the monkeys, Cape Vidal is a game reserve, which protects wild animals, humans are entering their environment and should pay them the necessary respect, not complain when the animals are just doing what is necessary to survive. Just lock all food in you car or if you have a decent cooler with a lock on it then you'll be fine. Otherwise place something heavy on top of the cooler box and they wont be able to get in. In the cabins, just lock all the doors and windows when you go out or have an afternoon kip. Another fantastic point is there are plenty leopard here, and they are often spotted around the cabins. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DurbanDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Beautiful camp site that is well protected from the wind. The ablutions were clean but are in need of attention. We found it very odd that each camp site did not have a braai/fire area. PLEASE build more braai areas. Game viewing was great and nice to be able to get out and have a picnic in beautiful surrounds.
PLEASE sort out your monkey problem. One is raided at every oppertunity. Every container and food storage box is no problem for them. Very unpleasant!
Would love to return in warmer weather to do more snorkeling and walking. The area is absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank llevieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

people intending to camp at the beautiful Cape Vidal should be warned about the the terible monkey pestering. The go underneath your tents flysheet, tear the netting and gain access to the inside of your tent. They are even able to open the clips of crates and ammo crates. These monkeys eat anything even uncooked macaroni. We had to buy new groceries three timesin two weeks and not because we were negligent but because the monkeys stop at nothing even when you are in the tent and they get a glimps of foodor a smell, they come inside and grab what they want.
Other than this we had a wonderful holiday in beautiful surroundings, with lots of wild animals to be viewed and a lovely beach and sea.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Lucia
32.0 km away
Seasands Lodge and Conference Centre
18.6 km away
Makakatana Bay Lodge
Makakatana Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
31.7 km away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 33 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.1 km away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 33 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
31.8 km away
Igwalagwala Guest House
Igwalagwala Guest House
#8 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
31.5 km away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#1 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Vidal Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Vidal Camp

Property: Cape Vidal Camp
Address: St Lucia, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Speciality Lodging in St Lucia
Also Known As:
Cape Vidal Camp Hotel Saint Lucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing