We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
118
82
33
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
82
33
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages dirt road indigenous forest walking trails access road self catering samango monkeys pilgrims rest gas braai picnic basket hot water bottles trout dam off the beaten track south africa lovely setting roaring fire swimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

My husband and I recently stayed here for 3 nights during our travels around South Africa. We stayed in a cottage which was fantastic! Excellent facilities - everything we needed - including a lovely big bath :) We enjoyed walking in the rain forest around the grounds - my husband being a keen birdwatcher was particularly happy! We also enjoyed dinner in the restaurant one night. Great place to stay - would highly recommend it!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Overall a very good experience st the resort, the only negatives being mostly out of the resorts control. 1) a little too far away from the Kruger park, makes the sunrise and sunset tours inconvenient. 2) Roads in Machadodorp/ Mashishing poor. And unpaved road to resort. 3) We ate at Hackett restaurant once, while menu items looked good, the food wasn't delivered didn't natch the expectation.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Logan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Mount Sheba is a wonderfull place for anyone who enjoys nature. The hiking trails where absolutely breathtaking and the birdlife was mind blowing. I cant wait to get out there again and enjoy the last remaining indigenous forest left in this country.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joubertjacoranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Everything about mount Sheba was fantastic, amazing! The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and beautiful, the service was outstanding! I can't wait to go back. Me and my family were treated like royalty and were spoiled rotten. The food was amazing, compliments to the chef! The walking trails are beautiful. The grounds are well maintained.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank theresaklopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Tranquil place to relax and get away from it all. A little remote for a one night stay. Excellent facilities ! Food was excellent, dinner was really superbly prepared. The only drawback was distance from paved road.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carlos U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews