We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
37
82
33
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
82
33
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews check in was quick and efficient kruger national park nice hotel breakfast buffet is restaurant staff reception staff shopping centre fresh fruit comfortable stay business or pleasure stayed for one night room was spacious friendly service enjoyed my stay kfc prokard mozambique
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2018

We checked into the hotel and went to our room 110, for 3 nights. It is a nice room with a nice large [king sized] bed.
The staff are all friendly and we were offered help with moving our cases to our room.

We thought that we had booked bed and breakfast, but we were surprised when we were presented with a bill after our first breakfast.

We ate dinner here one evening and we were in the restaurant at closing time. We saw that there was a lot of food in the buffet. Out of curiosity, we asked our server what was done with all the left over food. To our surprise, we were told that all the left over food was thrown away. Not a scrap of left over food or indeed any food is offered to the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPPEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Everything perfect. Thanks. Reception good, rooms clean, restaurant excellent, wifi working in the rooms. This is a perfect stopover for business or pleasure. If all Protea hotels are of this standard, a whole journey can be booked through them. Wish some of the others come and observe.

Room Tip: ground floors better
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear JohanBadie

Its our pleasure. The Team and I are delighted to hear that we met your every expectation and appreciate the positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. We miss you already.

Kind Regards

Garrick Grabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Marriott have certainly upped the standard of this Protea hotel. The staff were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spacious, clean and functional. The breakfast was good. The only niggle was that our rooms were situated just above the dining room and were therefore quite noisy in the morning. This didn't worry us too much as we had to get up early but would be an issue if you wanted to lie in - so ask for a room in one of the other wings.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms above the dining area
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rodney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

After a long day at work, this is the hotel in Nelspruit that gives you that relaxation. It’s peaceful and refreshing.

during check-in you are met with friendly staff, always making you feel like you are their only guest, the rooms are well maintained, clean and fully equipped.

Their buffet, whether dinner or breakfast you’re bound to get anything you can think of. I liked you lamb stew, I kept on topping up my plate and coming back for more.

Thank you for a lovely stay between 23-25 April.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank absalomm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

All of the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The service is impeccable. The room is spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet is a feast with a huge variety of foods. There is a small shopping center and fast food within walking distance. A cab downtown is a small fee. Car rental service is available in the lobby. The wifi signal is strong in the rooms but occasionally logs you off, it would be good to sort this out. I would also suggest is a fitness room for guests to get some exercise. But overall a nice place to stay and a good value.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68Barracuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Barracuda

The Team and I are glad that we met your every expectation. I have also made note of your suggestions. I am glad to announce the upgrade of our WiFi system in May. It will be faster and will not have the auto logoff problem.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Garrick Grabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews