We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay with a difference”
Review of Mariu Guest House

Mariu Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariu Guest House
Ranked #19 of 79 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2014

I have stayed at Mariu guest house for 1 Night during a short business trip. The communication with Rolph was amazing and the booking was prompt. When I arrived I was treated very professional not to mention the amazing warm hospitality of both the relaxed atmosphere of the place as well as the owner. The rooms are of a by high standard: Air conditioning, full TV programs, Free WiFi internet access (very reasonable speed) and new facilities over all. The price is very reasonable and you certainly get more of the value for your spending.
I would definitely go back there again when traveling to Nelspruit !!!

Thank you Nir

Room Tip: Looks to me like any room there would be majestic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Astronir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2014

A convenient overnight stop en route to Kruger. Well located, great garden and pool, good food, lots of restaurants nearby and, especially, run by professional who are friendly, helpful and very efficient! i recommen this place.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patdewil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Went to Nelspruit on business and was booked into this place for 2 nights. What can I say! Excellent service from the host Ralph and the beautiful Charlene. Very friendly, "behulpsaam" (helpful, it just sounds better in Afrikaans!). Very clean grounds, the sparkling blue pool looked very inviting. I took my bike along and was once again kindly assisted by Ralph in finding some storage place since bikes are not allowed in the rooms.
My room was very tastefully decorated with a green theme (the colour, not the ecological obsession), a large comfortable bed, a little patio and a shower, large enough actually for a couple!
Things I did not like were the small breakfasts and the odd parking. Property is located on a steep incline so cars are parked randomly with no clear demarkation. Luckily the parking lot was quite empty during my stay which reduced the risk of someone bumping my car. O, and the name of the B&B is nowhere to be found on the wall surrounding the property...it just says EIGHT.
All in all, I loved it and when I come back to Nelspruit, this is my stay. A little hidden gem. Pity about the name not on the wall..

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mecheng89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

We stayed at Mariu for 6 nights. On arrival we were offered to upgrade our room to a wonderful room with balcony. Location is great and safe, ideal for visiting the Kruger Nationalpark. Room was very clean and tidy. Ralph amd Charlene were wonderful hosts, always helping out with ideas! We loved this place!

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanny89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Ralph and Charlene are excellent hosts and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
Great view
Excellent facilities
Recomend this guest house for business trips and romantic get aways
This is now my favourite place to stay in Nelspruit

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hanneke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
48 reviews
1.2 km away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#13 of 70 in Nelspruit
146 reviews
2 km away
35 Kelkiewyn B&B
35 Kelkiewyn B&B
#14 of 79 in Nelspruit
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
4.2 km away
Columbus Guest House
Columbus Guest House
#20 of 79 in Nelspruit
27 reviews
1 km away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#3 of 18 in Nelspruit
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariu Guest House

Address: 8 Augusta St | Sonheuwel, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range: $80 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariu Guesthouse is situated in Mpumalanga Nelspruit. The guesthouse is nestled on a hill surrounded by indigenous flora with stunning views of breathtaking countryside. The lodge is only minutes away from the excitement that Nelspruit has to offer and center to the many Lowveld attractions, ie the Kruger National Park and scenery routes. We offer 9 luxurious double en-suite rooms with private entrance/balconies and or patios. We invite you to come and relax in your luxurious room, or cool down in our pool while enjoying the splendid garden. Meals if selected will be served to your room so no time is wasted on your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mariu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing