We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“briliant place”
Review of Francolin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Francolin Lodge
Ranked #3 of 77 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“briliant place”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I've been in many places all over the world, but Francolin Lodge is absolutely outstanding place to stay. Excellent rooms, marvellous view from restaurant terrace and the best personel I've ever met.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanisGercans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    40
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
48
7
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

After a disaterous experience at La Roca my wife and I checked into Francolin Lodge. What a fabulous location, comfy bed, brilliant shower and value for money.

The owners and staff are most helpful and friendly and there is a great restaurant on site. The breakfast was also excellent. A brilliant overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macdoof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I Was so disapointed in this lodge, we only decided to go because of the great reviews.when we arrived there it was a normal welcome nothing special. we had the executive suit which looked like a normal room.my husband asked for roses and champaigne to be waiting in the room (which he paid for) only thing the roses where already dried up.the t.v was extremely small very few channels but what really upsetted me and my husband was the cold showers and when we called to ask them why they said we finished the hot water. the front gate you will have to get out off your car and open because the security guard was only there once. they do not clean bedsheets every day as a results it smells.when we phoned to book a table at the restuarant they where closeing early so ofcoarse no food. the day we where leaving they told us to leave on time which was 10:30am because they needed the room. they never even asked if we enjoyed our stay. i will never return and i will never recommend to anyone only if you want to destroy your holiday then book at this horrible unfriendly place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmenpillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancolinNelspruit, Owner at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
After all the positive reviews we have had, what a pity that one negative response can spoil such a great rating. We urge all future guests to visit our Lodge and jusge for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We couldn't get into Francolin Lodge in March this year on our annual trip to the Kruger Park as we'd left booking a bit late. However, we've stayed there twice before and the most recent was in August 2010. It's the perfect place for a family stopover. Nicely decorated in a contemporary manner, the units we have stayed in have comprised a large downstairs room with a King size double bed. Upstairs, there's another bed, reached by an internal staircase and balcony. This bed is queen size I think. There's a sort of open-plan bathroom with fluffy towels and a great bath and shower set up. These rooms also have a sink, microwave, fridge and crockery and cutlery. There's a restaurant on the property (a bit disappointing on our last visit) and great breakfasts are served in the dining/terrace area. There's a large Great Dane on the property who is quite inquisitive so if you are afraid of dogs it's probably not the best place for you! I highly recommend this spot, and my teenage daughter rates it highly which is high praise indeed!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighbelle-Jozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Based on other peoples reviews, we chose to stay at Francolin lodge.
The rooms are well appointed and luxurious with large comfortable beds, lovely bath products, spotless, well maintained in a secure beautifully managed estate.
It was truly a wonderful experience. Our hostess, Simonet, was warm, welcoming, efficient and friendly.
Her staff were also wonderful and our every need was catered to.
We have never experienced such top class service… not 5 star, but 10 star… efficient and professional.
Well done, both to you Simonet and to your staff.
I asked about the generously large shower caps and if I could purchase some. I returned to my room to find a whole of these next to the bed....complimentary.
We have no hesitation in highly recommending Francolin Lodge and are dreaming of another visit.
Overal, a memorable experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moongis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancolinNelspruit, General Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Good Afternoon

I do thank you for your wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure accommodating you at Loerie's Call & Francolin Lodge.

We would love to see you return in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Simonet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
3.6 km away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
241 reviews
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
0.0 km away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 77 in Nelspruit
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
296 reviews
1.3 km away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 77 in Nelspruit
329 reviews
0.9 km away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#9 of 77 in Nelspruit
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francolin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francolin Lodge

Property: Francolin Lodge
Address: 4 Du Preez Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price range (per night): $181 - $208
Hotel Class:5 star — Francolin Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Francolin Lodge is a luxury guest house and boutique hotel situated centrally in Nelspruit. It offers 5 star accommodation and hospitality, with a new, modern design and elegant décor. Francolin Lodge is proud of its own on-site, A La Carte restaurant which also boasts conferencing facilities. This bed and breakfast lodge is the perfect base for both the corporate traveller and families looking to explore the Mpumalanga Lowveld. Being in the hart of Mpumalanga, the leisure traveller has easy access to the Kruger National Park, the Blyde River Canyon, Maputo and Swaziland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Francolin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing