We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to see hippo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I knew by looking at all tripadvisor advices that it wasn't the best place to stay at but it was booked by an agency...so I haven't been more disappointed but It confirms most of the reviews. 2 nights there were enough. We were in a chalet which could have been nice but a lots of insects had found it nice to live in the roof so we couldn't have the childs sleep above because of wasps. The shower wasn't the cleanest place and it definitively needs to be refreshed. Breakfast was alright but the evening buffet not. Nice thing about this place are the hippo which are just a few meters away from the patio.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 636 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

As part of a tour we stayed three nights at the hotel. The setting by the Sabie river with overlooking terrace and lawns down to the river where we were amazed to see hippos grazing while having meals on the terrace (where else in the World can you see this?). The hotel rooms are spread out over the site, in one or two storey blocks around swimming pools. Rooms were large and comfortable and it is only the absence of minor items such as ironing board and the like that gives this hotel a three star plus rating rather than four star; which it really deserves. While there was no A/C the ceiling fan kept the room reasonably comfortable. Food, both breakfast and dinner was of a good standard, staff were helpful and friendly.

While the hotel is in a rural situation it is within about 10 minutes walk from a small shopping centre with cafes and restaurants. The Kruger Park is convenient and the 'Elephant Whispers' experience, almost next door, is recommended. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this unique hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank portsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Just returned from a tour of South Africa with Riviera Travel ( highly recommend this company) and stayed at Hippo Hollow for three nights.

Lovely hotel with great staff and set in an idyllic location. The most memorable evening was sitting having dinner in the hotel whilst watching two hippos grazing on the banks of the river, awesome.

The restaurant at the hotel was wonderful, food beautiful and always service with a smile.

From the hotel we booked a trip to the Eden Chimp Sanctuary. It's about an hours drive away but what an experience. Some of the chimpanzees had been treated very badly before being rescued. To see them in this wonderful place was a privilege.

Hippo Hollow is not a luxury hotel but was beautifully clean and I will definitely be returning.

Thank you to all at the hotel who made our stay so great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bearchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

2 days was enough. It was a stop off point for my family, seeing the Hippos at night was cool. Really enjoyed the "Elephant Whispers" close by. We stayed in a Chalet which was comfortable but with no A/C and just 1 ceiling fan (was hot at night even with all the windows open) suggest putting fan in loft area. Was a little disappointed that we never were greeted by the manager at any point in time, compared to other places.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mca2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We have recently returned from a tour of South Africa with Riviera travel (who we can thoroughly recommend). We stayed 3 nights at Hippo Hollow and really enjoyed the experience. The hotel rooms themselves are pretty basic but clean and comfortable but it is the surrounding that really sell this hotel. The restaurant overlooks a river and every night the hippos come swimming by and get out of the river to graze on the nearby river bank. One night we saw 6 hippos, one of them a baby. There are also crocodiles in the river - we only saw one, lazing on the river bank, we kept our distance! The hotel is conveniently placed for visits to the Kruger national park (about 15 mins drive away) so it is a cheaper option than staying in the park. All in all a good choice at a good price.

Room Tip: The rooms surround the swimming pool and most are on 2 levels. On 2 sides there are rooms only on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank vse40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.7 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
384 reviews
4.0 km away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
6.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
886 reviews
36.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
2.2 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: $134 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotelopia so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing