We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
124
169
57
28
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
169
57
28
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant sanctuary spanish feel spanish village private garden the hotel manager the hotel offers nice pool area hotel grounds kruger park beds were very comfortable an upgrade beautiful grounds breakfast pack breakfast and dinner out of this world enjoyed our stay minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Stayed Easter weekend 2015 (3 – 6 April) - in a suite

Reception assisted us in booking a game drive. Price was R940. The tour operator collected us as well as other couples from Sabie and Hippo hotel (about 4kms from Casa do Sol). We chatted to the other couples and they were charged R700 each for the game drive which included the foreign tourist supplement that the Kruger National Park charges (SA residents pay R65 and Foreign tourists pay R265 as an entrance fee). Effectively we paid R900 each whilst the other hotels charged R500 each. We questioned the tour operator as to why there is a difference to which he stated that the hotel we stay at sets the prices.
So I challenge the hotel to explain why we paid R800 more than other tourists in the area? What was Casa Do Sols “cut” for arranging the tour? Are we involved in some sort of price fixing? It would be hard to believe that the 4kms extra distance warrants an extra R800 charge?
Chairs at the pool need serious replacing.
Guests are allowed to swim in the pool with Jeans and T-shirts
Dinners were not worth the charge of R180 each – except for 1 night where the chef made an excellent lamb curry.
Room was neat and clean, linen was good.
Staff are friendly and courteous however the language barrier was a bit of a problem.
Staff faffed over foreign guests however SA guests didn’t even get tablecloths or even a full set of cutlery at the table on all nights stayed.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Shivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

This hotel fell far below my expectations and is definitely not 4star quality. The rooms have plumbing problems, mildew in the showers, broken beds and are so outdated. The spa is even worse. Equipment is dated and uncomfortable and therapists are not properly trained. Cleaning staff do not clean well. However the check in staff, duty managers, restaurant staff and most of all the general manager went out of their way for us. They tried hard to make up for the short comings and the GM assured us that he has plans in place to give the whole place a total refurb and face lift as well as fix all the problems the guests have encountered. He seems passionate to restore this hotel to its former glory. Watch this space!!!

Room tip: Check that everything works properly. Bed, shower, cupboards. Check for mildew in the shower. The beds were clean and comfortable.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rhona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

From the moment you arrive you can't help to just relax and hand yourself over to the very professional and caring team that will take care of your every need. The accommodation was superb with the most comfortable bed with clean crisp linen. The meals were excellent. We made use of the SPA on-site and that was absolutely heaven. The ladies were very professional and just knew how to get rid of all the tension and stress. Although various tourist groups used the hotel as a stay over for their trips to the Kruger National Park and surrounding areas I would highly recommend Casa Do Sol for a few days of relaxation. With all the attractions in the area it will be ideal to use as a base whilst enjoying all the activities the area has to offer.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75lala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at aha Casa do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Thank you for your review for your recent stay at Casa Do Sol. It is truly wonderful to recieve reviews like this. It makes it all worth while that we are providing a great product to you our guest.
I have passed on your comments to my Team.

We look forward to welcom,ing you back to Casa Do Sol Hotel & Resort in the future

Once again, huge thanks from myself & my team at Casa

Regards
Dean Pitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We stayed for a week. Very friendly staff. The room was big and clean, but a bit outdated. Very nice Pool area but sun chairs needs to be changed. All of them were broken and horrible. The breakfast menu was great. Lunch and dinner was also good. Overall a very good experience.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dunkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at aha Casa do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Good day, thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay at Casa Do Sol Hotel & Resort.

Just a short note to give you feedback on the few issues you encountered. We are busy addressing the pool lounger issue and will purchase new loungers to ensure that area is back to it;s former glory. As far as the rooms are concerned, this is something that is continuous and we are constantly looking at improving on.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Casa Do Sol in the future

Kind regards
Dean Pitt
General Manager
Cas Do Sol Hotel & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

The hotel is lovely with the cobble stone pathways and water fountains. The Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and neatly presented. We stayed in a large room with a sitting room and balcony, Rooms are comfortable and clean, but the linen needs urgent updating, it didn't have a crisp clean and fresh feel to it. Otherwise a nice and comfortable stay. Reception staff very friendly.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yolandidutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews