We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pretoriuskop Restcamp
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We made our booking online about 4 months before our trip. It was a very easy process, and everything went through smoothly.
We stayed for one night in a very nice bungalow with two single beds, bathroom with shower, and an outside dining and kitchen area. All very nice, clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable, which is pretty important after a day on the roads in the Park.
We had dinner at the camp restaurant, which was very nice. The food was good, as was the service. Very good value for money.
Out only complaint was that the lady at the check-in was really rude and off-hand; not just with my wife and I, but also with the couple that checked-in before us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Pretoriuskop Restcamp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the camp. We stayed in one of the basic rondevals (no electric sockets, shared kitchen/bathroom) and thought it was really good value at R240. It was also nice and social because all the rondevals were in a circle, so easy to get chatting to the neighbours. We did not use the restaurant, so have no comment - we came prepared with supplies for a braai and the camp shop was adequtely stocked for anything you may have forgotten. We saw some interesting game in the area (self-driving, not on a drive). I would recommend this camp if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank noone28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Entering the park trought Numbi Gate, Pretoriuskop is the closest camp, about 30minutes from the gate.
Is vaery basic, the food is not good, but you will not get any trouble to sleep and go for the next camp.
It's very easy to get there, especially if you carrying a GPS, the road is simple but good. In the reception recommend that you avoid the closing gate times, because get very crowd.
The bangalo is the best option, with freage, ar conditioner, hot water and every thing you need.
The best tip is, buy a wine and glasses before you enter the park, at night start a fire (they have place in front of your bangalo) and drink admiring ther stars.
The game drives are not the best thing to do, expend the day in your car driving trying to find animals crossing the road, is amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OutBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of the Virgin Holidays Kruger Safari package, which is managed in SA by Thompsons. We arrived early afternoon after a direct transfer from Hazy View and the Thompson driver showed us to our rondavels which were fine. We had ones with own shower and toilet (some were literally just beds) which looked out towards the pool area - with the impala and monkeys which the kids thought was fantastic!

We had a voucher for dinner which was all a bit confusing - not sure the staff actually knew what this meant as it seemed to apply differently on each night! First night we were told set meal only which was four courses - soup, salad, main of chicken leg and tough steak and then icecream or spongue. The camp itself was pretty full but the restaurant was deserted.... The second night we decided we'd choose from the menu and just pay if we had too - food was slighty better and actually they then allowed us to use the voucher too!

Our driver actually took us to a different camp (Skuku) for breakfast which was a full self service buffet and would definintely recommnd this if you get a choice.

Only other thing to add would be a torch is useful as it is pretty dark moving around camp at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Towersie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Stayed here in a hut (small rondavel) with two single beds, airco, sink and fridge for ZAR 355. Check-in was smooth and we payed the entrance/conservation fee of the Krugerpark, the accommodation and the sunset game drive at once. Allthough we had an overnight stay, they charged us only one day conservation fee. The hut was very basic buth clean. Also were the towels which were provided. The restcamp has an restaurant and we ordered the buffet, but in the end the dessert was not included. The food offered is nothing special. As we were on a game drive with only 5 people it was very nice and personal.

It is very quiet at night, but the matrasses were very poor being too thin and probably to old. The shared facilities were OK

For the price an overnight stay is recommendable. If you have to choose, go for Lower Sabie Restcamp.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnEastman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
30.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
0.0 km away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 175 in Kruger National Park
465 reviews
66.7 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tented Adventures Pretoriuskop
Tented Adventures Pretoriuskop
#99 of 175 in Kruger National Park
33 reviews
8.1 km away
Nkambeni Safari Camp
Nkambeni Safari Camp
#92 of 175 in Kruger National Park
393 reviews
30.3 km away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#35 of 175 in Kruger National Park
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pretoriuskop Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pretoriuskop Restcamp

Address: Voortrekker Road, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pretoriuskop Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing