We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
455
27
8
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
27
8
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tinga plunge pool sabie river game drives rooms are amazing tauck tour huge bathroom safari experience mini bar out of this world skukuza airport once in a lifetime our honeymoon off road land rover great guide memorable stay
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

This was an unrivaled experience that exceeded all expectations. The quality of service and accommodations along with the expertise of the guide and tracker were truly exceptional. We hope to come back and will recommend Lion Sands to all who ask.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wanderingafrica2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We stayed at Tinga Lodge, part of Lion Sands game reserve for 5 days. The game viewing was outstanding with numerous close up sightings of almost every animal in the reserve (no aardvark !), including Leopard and wild dogs which I understand are normally quite rare. While five days might be considered a long stay, every day had a highlight and something new.
The facilities, food and staff were outstanding.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the main building are probably better.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PhilipandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I came here for the first part of our honeymoon back in October we spent 5nights at Tinga lodge and we both say it was our best trip ever.
We met the lovely Lorraine, who made us laugh most days but all the staff there were so friendly and really couldn’t do enough for you. Food was great and so much of it, but my husband loved having 3course for breakfast lunch and dinner.
We was so lucky to have Jambulani as our driver and wanted as our look out they are so amazing and it wasn’t just us that said that other tourist around the lodge couldn’t believe what we got to see. They have been working together for a long time Wanted told me he grew up in the bush and Jambulani had been doing it for a time and it really showed.
We couldn’t believe what we was seeing and just when we thought our luck was out it got even better. Definitely recommend this holiday to everyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank clairecovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Having just stayed at Chitwa Chitwa and Tinga being more expensive, expectations were high. Chitwa was amazing, Tinga not so. Free laundry at Chitwa starts you off in the right mood when you arrive sweaty, Tinga first thing said after welcome is laundry is extra. It goes on...house wines at Tinga are average, food patchy vs Chitwa and superb wines and food, river viewing of game is non-existent in summer due to thick vegetation (compared to Chitwa's watering hole activity), gym at Chitwa no gym Tinga. Tinga is ok if you havent safaried before and the game is definitely more 'wild' when you find them vs Chitwa so that's a plus, and the trackers and guides in both are knowledgeable. We did have a good day on the final game drive as Mark our ranger asked for permission to access the Ivory/ River Lodge area - you DO NOT get access to this naturally which is not as you'd envisage as it looks as if you are all part of the same Lion Sands Group. Nadia and others tried to make up for the overall poor value for money, but it did feel that Lion Sands had acquired Tinga and were then 'optimising' the experience for efficiency rather than service. It felt as if tables were put close together at dining for the staff's convenience rather than for the guests. While the lodges were good, they didnt blow you away, for the price they should do. If you want a plunge pool ask for one that doesnt have trees overhanging it otherwise monkeys may make the pool not very inviting.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank SydneyLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Tinga Lodge is a place where magic happens. Great folks make you feel like family and the trackers and guides are fantastic. Good for couples and families alike. The food was super and canbe customized for special diets. All around a once-in-a-lifetime trip!

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the lodge if you don't want to walk too much. It's not a great distance but some folks prefer a shorter walk!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews