We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“THE PLACE TO STAY IN KRUGER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Singita Lebombo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Singita Lebombo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“THE PLACE TO STAY IN KRUGER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Singita Lebombo was simply fantastic. The setting is awesome, with incredible views from the rooms as well as the main lodge. The style, however, is modern, with the structures built from steel and glass which may not be to everyone's liking. The food and service were top notch. The wine cellar is very well equipped with an extensive selection of South African wines. Our guide and tracker were also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
134
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Accommodation: Excellent air-conditioned lodgings as described by all the previous reviewers.
Food: Excellent table service. Good selection in the menu, and if you weren't happy you can ask the chef to cook whatever you like. Drinks and alcohol are free. Well stocked mini-bar in case you get hungry at night.
WiFi: Free in the rooms
Laundry: Free
Actually nothing is free, you have already paid for it in the room rates, but it is nice to say that this & that is free.
Game Drive: In open top Land Rovers sitting up to 6. We found that it was cooler to have the top on in the blazing African sun. That way we were able to survive out in the heat longer waiting for the animals to do something. Game viewing can vary considerably from day to day. On 2 days we saw the big 5 all in one morning. On other days we searched all day with scant results. Having an experienced ranger in Ian and a trekker like Daniel helps.
Service: Very good service from all the staff. They were always cheerful and helpful. A lot of places forget that at the end of the day, they are a Service Industry and guests appreciate good freindly and cheerful service, not just
Luxurious accommodation.
Comment: Singita Lebombo is an upmarket camp catering for those who love good food, luxurious accommodation in an outback African setting with Game drive. Far superior to Ngorongoro Crater Lodge in Tanzania which does not even come close both in luxury & price!
If you can afford it, then this is a great place to stay on your 2nd or 3rd safari. If this is your first stop then everywhere else will be disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikelima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

An amazing experience! The entire staff at Singita Lebombo was thoughtful, warm and courteous to perfection. Our guide and tracker were tremendously knowledgeable and did a phenomenal job showing us incredible wildlife. Our tour of a local community was an unforgettable experience and worth the drive. From the freshly baked muffins in the morning to the afternoon tea pastries and elegant dinners, all was superb! My 10 year-old made friends with most of the staff and cried when we left! I will go back again soon! Absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: request a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgoddess75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We are home from Africa and cannot stop talking about Singita Lebombo. The warmth and genuine love from the entire staff just overwhelmed us. We thought wishes and they were fulfilled. Coleen and Sully our guide and tracker felt like family after a few days.
Lauren, was a brilliant manager/host and the entire team without exception was brilliant. The food is perfection and the wine options heavenly. We tried another property in South Africa and it just does not compare. Its the beauty and warmth of the people. DONT miss a village trip, it was one of the richest experiences of my life. Kruger national park is fantastic and the point of view of conservation is excellent. Dont be pressured to see anything but trust your guide to give you the experience of three lifetimes. Cocktails in the bush with homemade apps, wow. The bird and animal sightings, thrilling. The outdoor boma and singing and dancing....beautiful. Take an outdoor shower and consider yourself a very lucky person, we did! We will go back.

Room Tip: Any but next time I would stay closer to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freedatravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
253 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Despite all the fantastic reviews of Singita Lebombo and the nice pictures on the internet, I was initially quite hesitant as the price is definitely steep and I wondered whether it was worth the splurge of good money for a few days. Well I am most certainly glad that the travel consultant convinced me to go with Singita Lebombo. All the good reviews of Singita Lebombo that you read here are accurate - I must say that after so many years of travel around the world on business and pleasure including staying in 5 star hotels, this is one place that I would rate as the top !

Firstly, the lodge is beautiful and sits on a beautiful location overlooking the Singita river and the Lebombo ridge. The rooms are spacious and is like a mini studio apartment with glass from ceiling to floor for fantastic views of nature. There is a large bathtub and 2 shower areas - one inside and one outdoor. Looking across the verandah of your room, you can even see elephants, giraffes, hippos, baboons and the sound of impalas. It is certainly luxury in the middle of nature.

Secondly, they feed you 7 times a day and all food and drinks include spirits, wine, champagne and snacks are part of the package ! (1) There is a dawn pre-drive meal at 5.30 a.m., then (2) tea / coffee / snacks in the middle of your morning game drive. Then back to the lodge for (3) breakfast. A few hours of rest including (4) lunch at the lodge and then before your afternoon game drive, (5) a mid-afternoon tea / snack at 3.30p.m. (6) Drinks and snack in the middle of the afternoon game drive while watching the sun set and then back to the lodge for (7) dinner at night. Food during lunch and dinner is fantastic and of high quality and one night, they even prepare a Boma (barbecue around a fire) for the guests.

Thirdly, the animals. The area that Singita Lebombo sits in is rich with animals and they are famous for the existence of a Pride of 21 Lions. We saw all Big 5 (Lions, Leopards, Rhinos, Elephants, Buffalos) within the first 2 days and on many occasions saw groups of these animals over and over again (e.g. 10 Rhinos in one day !). Spotting the 5 Uglies (Hyena, Gnu, Baboon, Warthog, Marabou Stork) and all other animals such as Cheetah, Hippos, Zebras, etc. is also very possible within your stay here. If you only spend a few days on safari, you would want to stay in a place where you are able to spot as many animals as you want and see them interacting with each other including how these animals hunt, which we were lucky enough to witness a Leopard hunting a fowl.

Fourthly, the staff and the service are out of this world and it is amazing how passionate they are about doing a great job - making all the guests enjoy their time and putting in the efforts for the finer details such as setting out a surprise bubble bath on your last night or setting up an outdoor sleeping bed on the verandah, etc. etc. Special mention to the guides and trackers who make each game drive interesting and exciting - we had a very good team in our guide Clement and tracker Sydwell who made each game drive fun and we learnt a lot about the animals. Both of them made extra efforts to track the animals that we wanted to see and on many occasions were the first to find some of the animals such as Lions and Cheetahs.

There is only small minus here - internet, blackberry and mobile phone service is not that great because you are in the middle of the Bush and there is hardly any service available. There is are 3 computers at the Lodge which you can still use to access the internet. Then again, it is a good excuse not to be too worried about work for a few days.

This is truly an amazing place to do a safari and it is quite an experience; an experience that I will always remember. If there is one place you should visit as a treat to yourself or a loved one, Singita Lebombo is truly that place.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeCool_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanalynF, Guest Relations Manager at Singita Lebombo Lodge, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
We loved reading your review and are extremely grateful for your support. Thank you for the terrific feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Singita Game Reserves one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
71.6 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
6.1 km away
Singita Sweni Lodge
Singita Sweni Lodge
#99 of 167 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
82.8 km away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#13 of 167 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 km away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#49 of 167 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
39.0 km away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#52 of 167 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
242.0 km away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#41 of 167 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Lebombo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Lebombo Lodge

Property: Singita Lebombo Lodge
Address: Private Concession | Eastern South Central, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kruger National Park, north-east of Johannesburg, boasts a truly unique lodge. Guests stay in scarcely visible lofts perched like eagle nests on stilts built into the top of basalt cliffs. The rooms with floor-to-ceiling glass walls look onto breathtaking scenery and a setting renowned for its concentration of game. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Singita Lebombo Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing