We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best In Kruger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2010

The Hoyo Hoyo was unlike anything I have experienced and I have traveled to many countries. I think the best part of the Hoyo Hoyo was the staff. They are from a local tribe and they really offer you that South African experience. They are so nice and they work so hard to give you the best. The huts are adorable and cozy while still being luxurious. The beds are heavenly and there is nothing better than sitting out on your deck while watching the animals. When I tell people that I stayed here they seem to think I went to some zoo but there was literally an elephant outside the main lodge just eating the bushes like it was no big deal. It was awesome. The food at the Hoyo Hoyo is also incredible. I dream about the food all the time!! Since it is far away from cities and lights you can look up at the night sky and see stars everywhere. The two daily game drives are so much fun and seeing the animals never gets old. If you tell the driver what animals you want to see they will drive you to them. The Hoyo Hoyo left me with great memories and I wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Kruger! I miss this place soooo much and I cannot wait to go back to see the staff and be in heaven once again.

PS: Don't let anyone lead you to think that the staff is anything but excellent. I don't know what kind of person would not like the most welcoming staff on this planet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah1790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2009

So often the memories of a good previous visit are tarnished when you choose to return. Not so for us at Hoyo Hoyo. We were there in Feb 09 and had a wonderful safari experience. Back we came in November and everything was as we wished, except the weather! Rain for four days and four nights but even that did not detract from the expectations we had brought with us from the UK. The lodge rooms are more spacious than they appear from outside, they offer every comfort, the food is first class and our Ranger Dennis was excellent. We had enjoyed the company of Ranger Elvis previously but our disappointment on hearing that he had moved on was soon dispelled, Dennis's company and humour was a joy despite him suffering the worst of the weather on the front of the safari truck. Hoyo Hoyo offers the best of all worlds, you have the pleasure of an excellent private luxury lodge operating as they do within their private concession but in addition they can traverse all of the Kruger Park. We saw all the big five and virtually every other species that lived in the area of the park we chose as our location.
One criticism we would make is that some of the furnishing are becoming tired. ie Curtains, floor matts and cushions in the room, all need replacing to ensure standards are upheld.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalmesburyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We began our 2 week trip to Southern Africa with 4 nights at Hoyo-Hoyo and decided at the end of the trip that it was the best part of our trip!! The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. The game drives were more than we expected and our guide, Nicholas was knowledgeable and had great sightings, even in the dark! I hope to someday be able to return to Kruger and I'll be sure to stay at Hoyo-Hoyo!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdybry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Overall Hoyo Hoyo was not worth the money we paid for it. The location and experience is really something, but the local staff (they're from a local tribe) do just not know what we want. Some examples: when you go on game drive, you get a free drink on the jeep. When you decide to stay in all of a sudden you pay for that drink?! When the rest returns to the lobby where we also happened to be after the game drive, the get a free welcome drink and we are standing there empty handed! Their room information promises you a free bottle of water every day and then they just never provide it and charge the water you order! The food is ok, but not great. It has the same sauce on every dish! If we were to go again, we would definately not come back here.
Good things? Waterhole at the location where you see many animals, great ranger (Oscar).

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank liekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We stayed at Hoyo Hoyo for two nights...when we left, I told my husband that if someone said to me that we had to go home now (meaning 30 hours of flying), I would have have left totally fulfilled. It was that amazing.

We had a wonderful time - the lodge is gorgeous and had an African vibe. The food was great. The staff was attentive but not overbearing (we respectfully disagree with the previous poster). The game drives were tremendous. Elvis was our guide and mixed excellent sightings with great humor. It rained for one day while we were there but Elvis found us hyena tearing up a kudu, lions feasting on an impala, eagle owls, giraffe, buffalo, and monkeys - all when it was pouring. On the sunnier day we saw 2 cheetah, rhino, elephant, lots of birds, snakes, wild cats, etc.

We split our time between Hoyo Hoyo and a private game reserve. There is a different feel - Elvis drove us all over Kruger and for most of the the time we were on the dirt roads. We got a sense for the vastness and the diversity within the park. We didn't stalk the animals like the private reserve and there weren't as many people on radios but we still had great sightings. My husband was thrilled to see so much eating going on. When we talked to guests at the private game reserve who did self drive safaris and compared our pictures, we think we did much better under Elvis's care. We also felt wrapped in luxary the entire time.

Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
2  Thank buffaloali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
3.3 km away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#44 of 175 in Kruger National Park
324 reviews
3.3 km away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#58 of 175 in Kruger National Park
405 reviews
14.9 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
371 reviews
24.1 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
450 reviews
28.7 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Address: PO Box 196, Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $752 - $984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Mluwati River, in the Kruger National Park, this unique lodge boasts a breath-taking blend of ethnic luxury, encompassing both warmth and style. Hoyo Yoyo Safari Lodge offers an intimate atmosphere with only six luxury African suites, each with king sized bed, en-suite stone bathrooms, outdoor shower and private game viewing decks.All 6 traditional African suites are air-conditioned and have en-suite bathrooms with antique baths and outside shower. Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room.Welcome drinks on arrival, butler service, spa treatments in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park, guided safari walks by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per stay.Rates indicated are per person sharing per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyo-Hoyo Tsonga Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing