We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pafuri Camp(Kruger National Park)
USD 638
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 559
USD 437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Muweti Bush Lodge(Grietjie Nature Reserve)
USD 115
USD 111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
USD 682
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elandela Private Game Reserve(Kruger National Park)
USD 587
USD 570
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tintswalo Safari Lodge(Manyeleti Game Reserve)
USD 1,488
USD 1,251
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve(Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve)
USD 2,198
USD 2,092
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
USD 7,405
USD 6,815
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
USD 2,061
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
335
82
27
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
82
27
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivesplunge poolwatering holewater holedry river bedhoedspruit airportprivate concessionprivate deckthe riverother guestsoff roadholiday of a lifetimewild animalstravel agentkruger experienceper daymosquito net
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2018

We stayed at the Imbali Safari Lodge for 3 nights at the end of a 4 stop Safari tour.
The lodges are quite large and mainly overlooking the river at the back (dry at the time of our visit).
The rooms are quite large with a superb bathroom, they are very private at the rear and no one can see into the property, ideal for having a bath watching the wildlife, there is also a small whirlpool on the patio.
The food is fantastic and it has a full bar facility, although there is not actually a bar as such, the drinks are brought from the kitchen area.
There is a lovely veranda in the main building overlooking a man made waterhole, which is visited by all the wildlife, so spotting is easy.

The lodge is situated on a private estate within the Kruger National Park and the drives and viewing are superb.
We had the lovely Julie ( a young French lady) as our guide and she truly excelled, her knowledge of the wildlife is amazing and she knows where to find things in this vast expanse.
On our last morning drive, she actually managed to find and discretely follow 7 Hunting Dogs for a while, The one thing that never ceases to amaze me is that the wildlife do not play a blind bit of notice to the vehicles or the people in them, which is how it should be.
You should always avoid parks and reserves that have a flotilia of vehicle following or chasing the animals.
This reserve has the Big Five species as well as many others.
The staff are very friendly indeed and I would happily recommend it to anyone, absolutely no disrespect to any other of the rangers, but Julie would be hard to beat as a guide.
We had a fabulous time.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 and everyone in the riverside lodges loved them.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Michael F -
Thank you for taking the time to write your very detailed review of your stay at Imbali Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and especially your game drives. We're also honoured that you would recommend Imbali to future travellers - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

The Imbali Lodge has twelve guest houses with 2 persons per house which leads to a nice and personal atmosphere; definitely not crowded. The houses have huge bathrooms with a bathtub plus a shower with open view into pure nature. Each veranda has a private small pool.

The central area is wide and open and used for guest reception during the day, breakfast, lunch and dinner. It allows to sit ‚open air‘ or inside when it should rain. The view is amazing as on the opposite side of a small dried river bed animals meet at the artificially water place - so the central veranda is definitely an adorable place to relax and wait for the next game drive.

The staff is very much engaged by heart and rounding up the picture of an exciting place.

The game drives - each approx. 3 hours - start at 5:30 am and at 4 pm on modern and comfortable cars. A coffee break in the morning and a sundowner break with wine and snacks allow to safely move around outside but close to the car. Our guide has been tremendously engaged, experienced, knowledgeable and friendly.

The employees at Imbali really deserve respect for their great service they deliver - those have been unforgettable 6 days at Imbali!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank 8UnknownStuntmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear 8UnknownStuntmen -
THank you for taking the time to post your very detailed review of your stay at Imbali Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Imbal and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Imbali again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

The 3 plus hour trip from airport to the lodges took us a bit by surprise but in fact the journey was quite interesting. At Kruger gates we were met by the safari vehicles to be taken into the park as it was about to close. As we headed along we became aware from our ranger Julie that others had come across a pride of lions so off we went into the bush in the pitch black to watch the lions make their way. What a start, a pleasant dinner and a couple of drinks and it was off to bed before the 5am start the next day.
The experience with Julie was great, lots of interesting information and by the time we had finished our tours out we had seen everything we could have hoped for. Elephant, Cheetah, Leopard, Lions, Buffalo and right at the end three Rhinos.
The lodge was great and kept spotless, the food and service could not be faulted and the staff at the Imbali were a credit and we could not fault them.
One of the highlights is sitting across from the water hole and just watching animal after animal coming to visit. With a cold beer in hand and time to kill until the next outing.
Wonderful experience. We were in a group of 15 who had crossed paths following a cruise and we all ate together and had great conversation. Memorable indeed.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuchananPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear BuchananPlymouth -
Thank you for sharing your Imbali Safari Lodge experience, and for taking the time to write such a detailed response. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your Imbali adventures, both in the lodge and out on game drive. We very much hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Imbali in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

This was the most expensive of the private lodges we stayed in during our 6 night safari in the Kruger. It was certainly not bad and I can see how people can be enthousiastic about the Imbali, but for us it fell short on a few issues. The cottage was relatively small and with the 2 extra beds for our kids there was little space left for our suitcases. The plunge pool outside has a noisy skimmer system and though I asked reception to send someone to switch it off, this never happened so I had to do it myself. The ranger was not overly impressive, neither in knowledge nor spotting ability. Food was great but service remained a bit distant. So, not bad, but maybe a more involved management could unlock the undoubted potential of this place.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Andrew B -
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay at Imbali Safari Lodge. We're sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations in all areas, and we will certainly be using your constructive comments as part of our ongoing training and quality assurance programmes. We hope you will give Imbali a second chance - we're confident that we'll impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

See comments from the imbali review. An amazing game viewing experience with superb food each day. Excellent understanding of guest needs.
The game ranger is truly experienced with an above average understanding of the wild, fauna and flora within the Kruger region

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 586sarasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear 586sarasm -
Thank you for sharing your impressions of Imbali Safari Lodge. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of being an Imbali guest and the service, food and safaris in particular. We very much hope you will visit Imbali again, the next time that you come to the Kruger on safari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews