We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Elephant Plains Game Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
USD 563
USD 509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge(Kruger National Park)
USD 712
USD 526
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elandela Private Game Reserve(Kruger National Park)
USD 579
USD 511
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Muweti Bush Lodge(Grietjie Nature Reserve)
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 551
USD 430
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
USD 678
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 789/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pafuri Camp(Kruger National Park)
USD 642
USD 454
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sausage Tree Safari Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)
USD 477
USD 448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
USD 2,047
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
338
83
27
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
83
27
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivesplunge poolwatering holewater holedry river bedhoedspruit airportprivate concessionprivate deckthe riverother guestsoff roadholiday of a lifetimewild animalstravel agentkruger experienceper daymosquito net
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

The Imbali Lodge has twelve guest houses with 2 persons per house which leads to a nice and personal atmosphere; definitely not crowded. The houses have huge bathrooms with a bathtub plus a shower with open view into pure nature. Each veranda has a private small pool.

The central area is wide and open and used for guest reception during the day, breakfast, lunch and dinner. It allows to sit ‚open air‘ or inside when it should rain. The view is amazing as on the opposite side of a small dried river bed animals meet at the artificially water place - so the central veranda is definitely an adorable place to relax and wait for the next game drive.

The staff is very much engaged by heart and rounding up the picture of an exciting place.

The game drives - each approx. 3 hours - start at 5:30 am and at 4 pm on modern and comfortable cars. A coffee break in the morning and a sundowner break with wine and snacks allow to safely move around outside but close to the car. Our guide has been tremendously engaged, experienced, knowledgeable and friendly.

The employees at Imbali really deserve respect for their great service they deliver - those have been unforgettable 6 days at Imbali!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank 8UnknownStuntmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear 8UnknownStuntmen -
THank you for taking the time to post your very detailed review of your stay at Imbali Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Imbal and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Imbali again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

The 3 plus hour trip from airport to the lodges took us a bit by surprise but in fact the journey was quite interesting. At Kruger gates we were met by the safari vehicles to be taken into the park as it was about to close. As we headed along we became aware from our ranger Julie that others had come across a pride of lions so off we went into the bush in the pitch black to watch the lions make their way. What a start, a pleasant dinner and a couple of drinks and it was off to bed before the 5am start the next day.
The experience with Julie was great, lots of interesting information and by the time we had finished our tours out we had seen everything we could have hoped for. Elephant, Cheetah, Leopard, Lions, Buffalo and right at the end three Rhinos.
The lodge was great and kept spotless, the food and service could not be faulted and the staff at the Imbali were a credit and we could not fault them.
One of the highlights is sitting across from the water hole and just watching animal after animal coming to visit. With a cold beer in hand and time to kill until the next outing.
Wonderful experience. We were in a group of 15 who had crossed paths following a cruise and we all ate together and had great conversation. Memorable indeed.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuchananPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear BuchananPlymouth -
Thank you for sharing your Imbali Safari Lodge experience, and for taking the time to write such a detailed response. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your Imbali adventures, both in the lodge and out on game drive. We very much hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Imbali in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

This was the most expensive of the private lodges we stayed in during our 6 night safari in the Kruger. It was certainly not bad and I can see how people can be enthousiastic about the Imbali, but for us it fell short on a few issues. The cottage was relatively small and with the 2 extra beds for our kids there was little space left for our suitcases. The plunge pool outside has a noisy skimmer system and though I asked reception to send someone to switch it off, this never happened so I had to do it myself. The ranger was not overly impressive, neither in knowledge nor spotting ability. Food was great but service remained a bit distant. So, not bad, but maybe a more involved management could unlock the undoubted potential of this place.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AfromL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Andrew B -
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay at Imbali Safari Lodge. We're sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations in all areas, and we will certainly be using your constructive comments as part of our ongoing training and quality assurance programmes. We hope you will give Imbali a second chance - we're confident that we'll impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

See comments from the imbali review. An amazing game viewing experience with superb food each day. Excellent understanding of guest needs.
The game ranger is truly experienced with an above average understanding of the wild, fauna and flora within the Kruger region

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 586sarasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear 586sarasm -
Thank you for sharing your impressions of Imbali Safari Lodge. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of being an Imbali guest and the service, food and safaris in particular. We very much hope you will visit Imbali again, the next time that you come to the Kruger on safari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

How do i start..

The best word to describe this experience is UNBELIEVABLE, from the minute you are greeted at the airport and transported to Imabli to the minute you leave you are treated from head to toe in luxury.

We arrived and was welcomed by staff and cool towels to wash our faces as it was quite a long drive around 1hr and mins to the lodge, the temperature in November was about 30 degrees.

After check in and bag drop into our lodge, which had a huge bed , walk in bathroom with walk in shower separate bath, toilet, conditioning, rooms are sprayed everyday with Mosquito spray, then you open bi folding doors which led out to your own decking overlooking th watering hole and your OWN pluge pool which is great to chill in when back after morning safari as you have 3 hours of chill time.

we went straight out on safari THIS WAS INCREDIBLE! we stopped half way for drinks and watched the sun go down and carried on into the night where we got surrounded by 10 Lions!

We went on two safaris a day one at 6am and one at 3/4pm they last around 3-4 hours

we saw the BIG 6! only thing we did not see was a cheetah but to be honest we didn't mind because our ranger was AMAZING

Ranger- Mike also known as Daryl.. well well well he was a absolute STAR! so clued up and answered any questions you may have ( i had a lot). the concession of imbali safari lodge ,
was made up of three hotels meaning that in this area we was allowed to OFF ROAD! this was an experience in its self! we always sat at the back as rangers radio each other to talk and if they spot something HOLD ON TIGHT, Mike the Ranger like to do Ferrari Safari, its bumpy fast and exhilarating!

Food-
Breakfast after safari you have a wide variety and you are catered to a very high level, you choose your eggs and what bread you would like
high tea before afternoon safari you have tea and light snacks
lunch you have fresh fruit and lots of nibbles
Dinner you choose at high tea there are generally 3 choices starter main dessert with vegetarian option.
All around the food is great and cooked extremely well.

mike comes round after Dinner to each table to have a chat and see how you found the Safari that day and what you would like to see on the next, we hadn't seen giraffes up close yet so that was my ask,

The next day the FINAL MORNING so sad didn't want to leave. Mike got a sighting of giraffes off road so what did we do, we went off road and came up close to around 4 of them it was so lovely to see!

we stayed 3 nights and we want to go back already!

Please please if you want to go on safari then book HERE! Imabli safari Lodge is worth every PENNY!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ahem1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Ahem1993 -
THank you for posting your wonderful and very detailed review of Imbali Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us, especially the meals and the safaris. We're honoured that you would recommend Imbali to future travellers - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews