We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maninghi Lodge

Enjoy a sunset drink on our lawns while watching elephants come down and drink,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a sunset drink on our lawns while watching elephants come down and drink,
Open starlight boma overlooking the Olifants River View of the lodge and our 2 sycomore treeswhich attract alot of birds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Enjoy a sunset drink on our lawns while watching elephants come down and drink,
Open starlight boma overlooking the Olifants River
View of the lodge and our 2 sycomore treeswhich attract alot of birds
View of the river from the splash pool
View of the Lapa from the Splash pool
Enjoy a fire in he boma while under the stars
In our Lapa area enjoy views of the river while braaing (BBQ) with views of the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Marlies H
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We only had a few days at maninghi and this was far too short. It's a very special place at the river. The service is perfect and we felt very welcome. Francois told us a lot about the animals around maninghi, but also about for example the stars. Very interesting! We simply had a great time. Only 1 advice, the road to Maninghi is a bit bumpy. Make sure you have a vehicle with high clearence. But it's absolutely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Dearest Marlies,

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback :) It always helps future travellers with the hints and tips here and there.

It was a great pleasure having the 2 of you stay with us!

We do hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Warmest,
Maninghi Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
engela397
Hoedspruit, South Africa
1 review
“Awesome big game river lodge”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in January 2017

It was a great experience with personal service, we can highly recommended it. Being so close to the river was really amazing, saw some good game and really enjoyed watching the hippos playing in the water, especially the little one rolling about was a first for all of us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Dearest Engela,

Thank you so much for your review :)

It was a great pleasure having you all with us and sharing our experiences.

We do hope to see you all again soon :)

Warmest,
Maninghi Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were invited by friends to join them for a two-day stay at Maninghi. Having not had the opportunity to study the amenities of the lodge beforehand we went into this experience "blind" and with no expectations.
We were absolutely impressed !! The wonderful river location and fully-stocked house made for an amazing stay. The hosts achieved the perfect balance of being there whenever needed but still afforded us all the privacy we wanted. We took the option to enjoy the catering offered and that turned out to be the best decision. On our safari trips during the day we kept on drooling over the cuisine of the previous evening.

Best value for money we have enjoyed in living memory !!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Dearest James and Friends,

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback on Maninghi Lodge, we really do appreciate it!
We are thrilled that you were thoroughly impressed with our lodge, cuisine and surroundings :)
We do hope to see you again soon!

Warmest,
Maninghi Lodge Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtkinsTra...
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge for a peaceful bush experience”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The lodge is around 14km off the main road along a game drive track so your experience starts as soon as you enter the Balule- Parsons gate. Paul and Francois came to meet us and drove us down to the lodge. The lodge itself is situated on the banks of the Olifants River. Surely that is enough to sell this place to you? Upon arrival we were greeted by Vicky who offered some cold, damp facecloths and a refreshing drink. Nice touch guys! The lodge is a rustic, family owned house, you get to learn about its history and can immediately see how much the place means to the owners. We were a group of four, and we found the house to be spacious enough for privacy, whilst cozy enough to really feel at home. Paul, Francois and Vicky were all professional in what they do, whilst also being friendly and relaxed hosts. We had fairly poor weather during our stay, yet the location and environment within which you are immersed in at the lodge, means that you are sure to enjoy your stay whatever the weather. I would have been quite happy to sit under the lapa all day, every day and enjoy watching the comings and goings of wildlife and birds. We did, however go for a guided walk and a game drive. Both of which were very enjoyable. Steven and Florence kept the house and its surrounds immaculate. All in all, Maninghe lodge lives up to its name. It really is a place of plenty. We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks guys!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Dearest AkinsTravel,

Thank you so much for your detailed review on Maninghi Lodge!
It was a great pleasure hosting you all :)
We do hope we get to see you again in the not too distant future!

Warmest,
The Maninghi Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rémi S
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awsome location - great welcome”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have been welcome by Paul and Francois for our one night staying.

The location is awesome in the middle of the game reserve, along the Olifants river where you'll have great chances to see animals in the evening or morning.

Paul and Francois cooked us a fantastic Braii (barbecue) for the dinner and we warmly recommend the walking tour!

Definitely worse it!

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Dearest Remi,

Thank you for taking the time to review Maninghi Lodge, it is greatly welcomed!
We are so glad you enjoyed your time spent with us!
We do hope we get to see you again in the not too distant future :)

Warmest,
Maninghi Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing