We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date Night”
Review of Coral Tree

Coral Tree
Ranked #36 of 96 Restaurants in Ballito
Price range: USD 20 - USD 25
Description: Coral Tree Restaurant is renowned for its attractive cuisine and daily buffets. The extensive covered terrace offers guests breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean and the natural beauty of the area. Coral Tree offers elegant dining in a relaxed setting, making it the ideal venue for families, couples and large groups alike. The bounteous breakfast buffet will ensure you get a great start to your day. For the health conscious the fresh juice and smoothie bar is a must. Or spoil yourself with a full continental breakfast followed by some delicious waffles. The dinner buffet brings together the culinary imagination of four different countries and cultures – South African, Indian, Oriental and Italian. Features include a sushi bar, South African carvery, Mama’s Italian pasta bar, stir fry station and chocolate fountain. Live action stations allow you to customize your meal and engage with our culinary team.
Restaurant details
Description: Coral Tree Restaurant is renowned for its attractive cuisine and daily buffets. The extensive covered terrace offers guests breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean and the natural beauty of the area. Coral Tree offers elegant dining in a relaxed setting, making it the ideal venue for families, couples and large groups alike. The bounteous breakfast buffet will ensure you get a great start to your day. For the health conscious the fresh juice and smoothie bar is a must. Or spoil yourself with a full continental breakfast followed by some delicious waffles. The dinner buffet brings together the culinary imagination of four different countries and cultures – South African, Indian, Oriental and Italian. Features include a sushi bar, South African carvery, Mama’s Italian pasta bar, stir fry station and chocolate fountain. Live action stations allow you to customize your meal and engage with our culinary team.
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Our boyfriends surprised us by telling us to get ready and we had no clue where we were headed. Having a nut allergy I am nervous about eating at places when I haven’t checked their menu - so was not too excited about this surprise initially!

We got there and there was a massive spread of food. My boyfriend spoke to the head chef who walked us through the buffet options telling me what he would advise I stay away from. This was a first for me! Very impressed! There was the option of the chefs making up stir fry and pasta in front of you with your ingredients of choice. And what an amazing pasta that was! Wow!

An enjoyable evening was had by all.

Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Kelly S

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely surprise evening at our hotel, compliments to your boyfriend. We are pleased to know that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your evening with a variety of food choices, despite your nut allergy. It is our joy to turn moments into memories for our guests and we are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is part of the Zimbali 5 star resort. The resort itself is very nice and luxury but sadly enough their restaurants don't live up to their overall standards. Service is nice and on the ball - but the variety of food offered isn't what we expected. The coral tree offers a buffet for dinner - which is actually a nice idea - just the quality of the certain dishes could really improve.
We would stay there again but maybe go to the village of Ballito next time (the resort is offering a shuttle) to have some food that lives up to the expectations of that resort.

Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Tina P

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are saddened to hear that our restaurant did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you sharing your feedback allowing our team to constructively use your comments to better our product offering.

We hope that you will dine with us again allowing us another opportunity to provide you with a memorable experience.

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

First a summary: food is not bad, taking in mind that is a buffet. But this restaurant have worse service I've experienced in Ballito. Taking in mind that this venue is inside fairmont, so deception was huge.

Then, if you are reading this and want my opinion: don't loose your time!! Go and find other options, hints in my other reviews! :-(

Drinks are also terrible. We ordered one manhantan and one pina colada. Both disgusting like done by someone who never tried and got recipe from web.

Again, don't endorse this place

Thank CORTE777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear CORTE777

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We are disheartened to hear that our restaurant did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you sharing your feedback allowing our team to constructively use your comments to better our service offering.

We hope that you will dine with us again allowing us another opportunity to provide you with a memorable experience.

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

so i decide to surprise my fiance and take him for the buffet, given his more adventurous with foods then i am.
I was told our table will be decorated with petals etc, as we arrived there was no such things on our table as this ''amazing estate'' ran out of flowers.
the food was OKAY, i will not return and my adventurous other half will not either as we felt that there was nothing out of the ordinary to offer.

the view and the building is gorgeous.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RiSan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear RiSan03

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining review with us.

We are disheartened to hear that you left our restaurant feeling disappointed with your overall experience. We are sorry for the miscommunication regarding the availability of the petals and we hope that you will visit us again allowing us another opportunity to provide you with a memorable experience with us. We are glad to know that the beauty of our hotel and the views made an impression on you.

Kind Regards
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Kind Regards
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We had breakfast and dinner here during our stay at the resort. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially with regards to our 9-month old. The selection at breakfast and dinner was large and varied. The food was tasty and fresh. Amazing fresh fruit and honeycomb with breakfast! The curries could do with a little more spice / heat. The smoothie bar is also a nice touch!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shaun_Stell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear Shaun_Stell

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your experience at the Coral Tree Restaurant! We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating with your 9-month old in particular. Thank you for sharing your experience with us; we are delighted to hear that you found our breakfast and dinner selection to be tasty and fresh and that the smoothie bar made an impression on you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coral Tree also viewed

Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Coral Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing