We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal”
Review of Ocean Basket

Ocean Basket
Ranked #28 of 101 Restaurants in Ballito
Description: The Mediterranean home of seafood! Ocean Basket Ballito is a beach-front seafood restaurant overlooking Ballito's picturesque Salmon Bay.
Restaurant details
Description: The Mediterranean home of seafood! Ocean Basket Ballito is a beach-front seafood restaurant overlooking Ballito's picturesque Salmon Bay.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had a family lunch , 3 children and 3 adults. The food was good and well presented. Only issue was the adult mains took a fair bit longer to be served. Rainbow roll sushi was good. Calamari always consistent . Great view , however the entrance is messy and should be cleaned up.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ernie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The food was great when it eventually arrived, and when it finally made it to our table (after waiting over an hour) it was not complete. You need to train your staff better.

Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelPowell, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Brendan, we would like to find out a bit more about your experience, since all of our managers and us owners have been on-site from open to close the past week, and we have not received a single valid complaint of waiting for an hour for food. Did you perhaps ask to speak to any of us at the time? We are able to easily track the timing of meals via our point of sale system, as well as our CCTV so it would have been no problem at all to fast-track your order and rectify any discrepancies. This past weekend was admittedly incredibly busy. We served around 700 meals on Sunday alone, and our staff were not able to take a break for 12 straight hours. Our staff have all received excellent training from Ocean Basket, and training is an ongoing process, but we do have 2 trainees who have joined our team of 44. However they are not serving tables. We are truly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. Please would you get in touch via email on oceanbasketballito@gmail.com to furnish us with more specific and helpful information. It is always far more constructive to contact the owners of a business to allow them the opportunity to deal with your query.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Supper with friend JACO, his wife Dalene and toddler Jeziel , food platters were excellent and the managers and staff fussed over the delightful Jeziel who captivated all of them.good food, friendly staff (no liquor licence when we are, but most welcome to bring own, no corkage charged

Thank HillDavid_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelPowell, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review! We so appreciate the feedback. We do have our approved conditional liquor licence, pending the building licence (as with half of Ballito!) We hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We couldn't have had a better experience at the new Ocean Basket in downtown Ballito. For such a magic coastline, there are surprisingly few places you can go for a good meal overlooking the sea. This place just nails it.

I felt like I was walking into my favourite Seafood restaurant in Cape Town - it has an international, authentic Mediterranean feel and you would never guess this is a chain restaurant. Apparently the South African chain itself is still run by the same Greek family who are incredibly hands-on (as are the owners of this Ballito restaurant) and you can tell.

The staff were amazing (especially with our kids). We never imagined the kids would be entertained and happy for two hours with no children's play area but the magic of the setting must have had its effect on them too. They were happy to sit under the table with their Ocean Basket colouring pages and had the occasional chat with the staff (and looking at the view from the deck upstairs).

We shared an assortment of platters, which were all great and good value for money. After hearing that the 90+ year-old Mama Liza still makes all the Baklava for all the chains, we had to try it for desert - and it did not disappoint. It was a struggle to choose though as the dessert selection sounds amazing - not your average options.

This was the first time in a while that we did not rush through a meal and really enjoyed a leisurely evening. I think our whole experience was aided by the fact that it was a beautiful evening and we could see all the way to Durban, and that we hadn't had a meal out for a while - BUT there's no denying the good ambience, food and service. I don't think I want to eat anywhere else, especially when in the mood for seafood - which was all cooked to perfection.

You can't beat eating seafood with a fresh sea-breeze and the smell of the ocean.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelPowell, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your incredible review Rebecca! I'm not sure why I did not receive a notification from TripAdvisor for your particular review, otherwise I would have responded earlier. You've just made our day, and I'll pass on your words to our staff and my partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Our meal experience here improved the longer we were there. Granted, this could have been because of the wine, but we left with a good impression. On arrival we thought the reception we received was rather cool and the server seemed a bit confused and bemused, and the food took a long time to come. However, when it came it was all EXCELLENT, fresh and delicious. There was a good wine selection at good prices and the location and view of this restaurant is second to none. We plan on a repeat visit today. If the service is a bit tighter, this place will be 5-star next time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JonoSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelPowell, Owner at Ocean Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

What a magic review! Thanks Jono. We are definitely focused on service and hopefully your next visit will show our constant efforts to improve. If not, please ask for our excellent management team to assist you. We as owners are also more often than not on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Ocean Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing