We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
111
6
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home away from home beach promenade long lost friends nice furniture restaurant suggestions perfect hosts our room was spacious one night bars and restaurants south africa nothing is too much perfect location walking distance attention to detail business trip honesty bar swimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I only needed to stay one night in Umhlanga and found Sandals-which was perfect in every way . The décor is stylish in a Provence meets Africa kind of way, and the welcome was warm and genuine. Nothing was too much trouble to make sure we had a comfortable stay.... a huge comfortable bed in a large room with fresh fruit and beautifully cooked breakfast to see us on our way. Highly recommended -just a 10 minute stroll from the bars and restaurants of the village and a 25 min drive to King Shaka airport. Perfect !!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tkirke375841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Sandals Guest House for one night en route to the Drakensberg Mountains. What a find and a shame we couldn't stay longer. Gavin and Malinda were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble- restaurant recommendations, somewhere to stop on our trip, and when the hire car didn't arrive Gavin fixed that too! We had a great room with a very comfortable bed overlooking the pool with a private sitting area. Breakfast was lovely. The experience was altogether relaxing and homely. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We stayed at Sandals for three marvellous nights.The feeling of good taste and excellence surround you the minute you walk in the door. This is continued in the bedrooms, the swimming pool area and the garden. The breakfasts were superb, offering a 'special' each day.Sandals is ideally situated, the shops, restaurants and beach are all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mrushe845912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

My son and I had the pleasure of staying at Sandals Guest House for 3 gloriously relaxing days. The property is stylishly furnished and meticulously maintained. The swimming pool leads into the bar with an open plan lounge, dining room and entrance hall. Hosts Malinda and Gavin and their very competent staff were gracious, caring, attentive, kind and helpful throughout our stay. Gavin picked us up fom the airport and we soon met the vivacious, warm and energetic Malinda. The warmth and hospitality experienced exceeded all expectations. Breakfast was freshly prepared with excellent cappuccinos. Our room was spacious with a fully stocked fridge, hospitality tray with snacks, luxury linen, towels and toiletries as well as very comfortable beds and seating area. Sandals is a short stroll to the beach and promenade; the ocean is in full view during the walk. We walked at sunrise along the beach promenade and strolled to the nearby restaurants for dinner at sunset. Gavin took care of our transport needs, driving through unexpected pouring rain and mist to our sporting events. Malinda is an asset to Sandals with her down-to-earth, heart-warming, hands-on approach. Very personalised service and highly recommended for business, family or couples.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, quiet and luxurious
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

All kudos goes to the employees of the Sandals Guest House, absolutely warm and service oriented. I found them warm and accessible. They sure made me feel at home. I also met the owners of the establishment and they are definitely leading by example as they as just as accessible & warm. I plan to use the facility again when I have an opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mankwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews