We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply perfection.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oyster Cottages

Oyster Lodge (L) + Pearl Cottage (R)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oyster Lodge (L) + Pearl Cottage (R)
Shared Pool Area Oyster Lodge Veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Oyster Lodge (L) + Pearl Cottage (R)
Shared Pool Area
Oyster Lodge Veranda
Oyster Lodge Lounge
Oyster Lodge Dining
Oyster Lodge Kitchen 1
Oyster Lodge Kitchen 2
Oyster Lodge Master Bedroom
Oyster Lodge Main-en-Suite Bathroom
Oyster Lodge Bedroom 2
Oyster Lodge Bedroom 3
Pool Facilities
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Compass52...
1 review
“Simply perfection.”
Reviewed 8 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

My family have just returned after spending 2 weeks in Oyster Cottages. Perfectly located for restaurants, beach and other KZN attractions. Theresa the maid was wonderful and certainly helped to make our holiday special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
Hi

Thank you for staying with Oyster Cottages and so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to hear from you in the future for your vacation rentals.
Regards
Karyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boundary1...
wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“delightful cottage and well spec'd”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for three days and found the corrage a delight. Spacious, spotless and well equipped. The agents were excellent too. It is handily located for the Gateway Mall and several excllent bars and restaurants in Umlhangha Rocks. It is also just 3-5 mins drive from the lighthouse and seafront. If you have a party of 4-6 you wont be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Hi

Thank you for staying with us and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Oyster Cottages.
Hope to see you in the future.
Karyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davis94ad
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house with wonderful facilities”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Really nice house in secure little corner of Umhlanga. kitchen had everything you could possibly need and everything was very clean. Lovely outdoor seating area and small pool (very cold). There is some road noise from the main road which runs a short distance away but I had expected that from looking at it's location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Hi

Thank you for staying with us and glad that you enjoyed your vaction.
Hope to hear from you in the future.
Regards
Karyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southafri...
Leamington Spa UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dreamland”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This property is a little more than your average holiday home, set in a really quiet and safe area. Perfectly situated for shops, restaurants and the malls, 5 mins from the beach.

Looked after by our maid Teresa everyday except Sundays.

Gardens and a pool for children to play, lots of seating outside to relax.

This property has just about everything you could wish for and more, we spent a peaceful and relaxing 9 days here and would love to rent again when we come to South Africa.

Thank you to all concerned

Jo Mike Courts and Kanye from the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: When you book from a website properties are not always as they seem, this property far exceeded our expectations
Liked least: There was nothing we could dislike about this property or the service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Hi Mike,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at Oyster Cottages. We hope to be able to accommodate you again in the future and hope to hear from you soon.
Love to the family
Karyn Le Clezio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata O
Sandton, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Perfect Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, my 2 year old and I spent a week in the Pearl Cottage. The cottage was absolutely amazing, the decor is stunning, the kitchen is huge and has everything you need, the washing machine and tumble drier were absolute life savers! The bedroom is spacious with lovely linen and a very comfy bed, a camp cot was supplied with a mattress and linen for our son, the bathroom is big and modern with a big tub and lovely shower, the water pressure was great which is rare in holiday accommodation.The cottage was cleaned daily by Maria who was a great help. There is a lovely pool which is secured with a pool fence so we didn't need to worry about our toddler playing outside. We had terrible weather for the first few days of our holiday and we were more than happy to spend time in the cottage watching tv and playing the board games that were supplied.

The cottage is located about 5 minutes drive from the beach and main shopping area, you can walk too. It is very safe and secure with an alarm system and safe parking. There is also free wi-fi which was awesome

My only complaint is that the check-in procedure wasn't communicated to us so when we arrived so we had no idea where to get the keys from, luckily the guest who was staying in the other cottage on the premises told me to go 2 houses down the road to where the owners live, but this was just a small issue.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend this place to anyone looking to travel, especially with a small child.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The washing machine & tumble drier and the comfy bed
Liked least: The pool area looks directly into the lounge, but this can be fixed by just closing the curtains when other guests are at the pool.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Hi,

Thank you for staying at Pearl cottage and for the great review. So pleased you had a great vacation and hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Karyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing