We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tastefully furnished apartment in great location”
The Living Area leading out to the Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Area leading out to the Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
The Living Area leading out to the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WippyAnn
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tastefully furnished apartment in great location”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Very well furnished and very comfortable - exactly like the pictures and description (although it seems more than 100 metres to beach!). Friendly owners and efficient room service. Because it is close to the road to the beach (uphill on the way back!) and the centre of Umhlanga, you don't need to use the car. Secure, gated environment with guard.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review with regards to your recent stay at 14 Te Shades. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the accuracy of the pictures and description on the listing. We do always try to show a true reflection of the apartment, as the apartments beauty speaks for itself.

We do hope that you are able to come and see us again, you are always welcome at 14 The Shades.

Kind regards,
Jono, Hermann and the team at 14 The Shades
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fikile11
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay was amazing. The apartment has beautiful decor, it's clean and it's situated in a great area. Jono and Hermann were incredible from the point where we had enquired about the apartment to the end of our stay. I wish we could've stayed longer, but we will definitely be staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Wow! you have made us blush! Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write this review. We always love hearing back from our guests!

We are so delighted that you enjoyed our service. Customer service comes naturally to us as we are genuinely proud of our apartment and love welcoming guests into it!

Thank you for your comments regarding the decor and cleanliness. We only source high end furnishings and appliances for our apartments as only the best will do! I have passed your comments on to the housekeeper, and you made her day as she also takes a huge amount of pride in her work.

We love that you loved the location. It's a stone's throw away from everything you need. A few minutes stroll to the main swimming beach in Umhlanga, or to the many popular bars, restaurants and supermarkets in the famous Umhlanga Village.

We definitely look forward to seeing you again on your next trip! Don't stay away too long!

Kind regards,
Jono, Hermann and the team at 14 The Shades
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This place is situated in a great area, you can walk where needed restaurants are close. The people are very friendly and helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: Small toilet space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you for this fantastic review, and for choosing 14 The Shades for your Umhlanga holiday. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the apartment and it's location. All of the popular restaurants, bars and supermarkets are within walking distance, so no need to use your car at all! We hope you are able to come see us again. We would love to have you stay with us at 14 The Shades. Kind regards, Jono, Hermann and the team at 14 The Shades.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaraboKga...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“It was perfect!”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The decor, furniture, setting and appliances are exactly the way they're seen online. The apartment was absolutely lovely- so elegant. Everything right at our doorstep. My partner and I together with our friends have agreed to definitely come back. Our stay at The Shades was remarkable and really made it worthwhile. We received such a warm welcome!
We've made so many wonderful memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The sea view from the dining area.
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so very much for this wonderful review!

It makes us so happy to hear that your stay at 14 The Shades was perfect! We are very proud of the apartment, and we are so pleased that you noticed all the attention to detail. Its these attentions to detail that sets us apart from the rest.

As you rightly say, everything is on your doorstep. Only a few minutes walk to Umhlanga Village for all the supermarkets, restaurants and bars. Also only a few minutes walk to the beach! If walking doesn't do it for you, there is an inexpensive taxi service that can be arranged.

It was such a pleasure to meet you when you checked in. We are so glad to hear that you've already decided to come back to stay with us. It would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,
Jonathan, Hermann and the team at 14 The Shades
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing